We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in history”
Review of Rod and Gun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rod and Gun Club
Reviewed 15 July 2017

This is a must see in the area. It is very old, steeped in history with adequate rooms and good but not inexpensive. You can come by car or they have a seawall for mooring your boat. It is the history throughout the building that is displayed on the walls that makes it a great place to go.the food was good, nothing great, and due to it being off season there were a lot of menu items that were just not available that day? kind of disappointing. they did serve a good bloody mary.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

The six of us were surprised and impressed with the service, food quality and comfort on the porch of the Rod and Gun Club. The gator appetizer was the best alligator any of us had ever experienced, the grouper was tasty and the Oyster Caesar had plump, perfectly cooked, large oysters. The key lime pie was so good it was still the topic of conversation the following day. Our service was friendly and attentive. The porch was cool despite the hot, muggy temperatures outdoors. Can't wait for a return trip!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lise2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Stayed here for one night-dog friendly so very few choices in the area. This place is quite interesting and we would have loved to have really experienced it. Lots of history and the restaurant and lobby reeked of history. We stayed in one of the 'cabins' and quite nice. Very clean and comfortable-a coffee maker would have been fabulous! Cash only and when I made the reservation, I was told that restaurant stayed open until 8pm. However at check-in, we were told that restaurant closed at 5 pm and we noticed that the place was closed at 4:45pm. I think we were the only people trying there. If you are reading this and thinking about coming to this area in the next few weeks, we would like to caution you that they have a HUGE mosquito problem so call and inquire first.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

The food was meager especially considering the price. Service was also less than average. The view is nice on the porch, and the taxidermy is nice if you are in to that stuff. I would not recommend this place as somewhere to eat.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Solly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Easter lunch was delightful. Great food - we can recommend the grouper Reuben. Our server, Billy, was personable and supplied prompt and attentive service. The setting is gorgeous olde Florida and the porch was a beautiful place to eat a leisurely lunch.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Janell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
16.7 km away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
5.4 km away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
34.8 km away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
655 reviews
0.5 km away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
1 km away
Ivey House
Ivey House
#1 of 5 in Everglades City
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rod and Gun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rod and Gun Club

Address: 200 Riverside Dr, Everglades City, FL 34139-0190
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Everglades City
Price Range: $99 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rod and Gun Club 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rod and Gun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rod And Gun Club Hotel Everglades City
Rod And Gun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing