We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn Florida City(Florida City)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairway Inn Florida City(Florida City)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Gateway To The Keys(Florida City)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$114
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hoosville Hostel(Florida City)
US$66
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
141
51
21
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
51
21
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary roompancake breakfastfull day tourunique atmospherehammockstreehousevolunteerswaterfallevergladeshippiekeys
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I really want to recommend this hostel for people who want to go to the Everglades. It is really a nice hostel where you can stay in dorm rooms, but you can also book a private room with private bathroom (which we did). The garden is really beautiful with the waterfall and the nice houses, shared kitchen and plants. We also did a day tour and it was really great with a wet walk and canoe tour. Our guide Alex told us everything about the Everglades and it was very interesting. We had a pleasant time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Based on a recommendation by friends we stayed at the Hostel for one night on our way to Key West and we did not regret it. The staff is great, the grounds are paradise for kids and our private (Wind) room came with 3 sets of bunk beds for our family of four. The atmosphere is casual and if you don't want to cook your own meal, there is a Starbucks around the corner and a Mexican restaurant just opposite. We went on the evening tour with a small group which was a fantastic introduction to the Everglades night life. All in all a great stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank GlobetrotterKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family group in The Library room. It was clean and quiet and had a moving library ladder! What is more interesting are the grounds. As far as we could tell Florida City is fairly ordinary but a good starting point for the Everglades. However the backyard was extraordinary with a treehouse and hammock...a natural spring / plunge pond and several lounge areas. This was fairly surreal and a great adventure for the kids. The staff were really friendly and it felt like we had droppped into a house party rather than a hostel. The kayak tour was expertly guided and we saw Gators and crocodiles close up. If we had known how cool this place and the Everglades were we would have stayed longer. If like us you are not "hostel" people fear not. The rooms are good clean and aircon..though you can crash or stay in a dorm if you prefer. Just note you make your own pancakes and tidy up after yourself here....this isn't South Beach...but that's no big deal. A real gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveldadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

On our Roadtrip from New York to Key West, we followed the Lonely Plant Guide to this amazing place! So what makes a place/hostel amazing: Very positive and relaxed atmosphere, great people and interesting characters (not weird characters, just interesting!), very clean rooms and beds, a backyard with tree houses, hammocks, a fresh-water waterfall to swim in (no kidding!), tents with pillows and blankets, bonfire places and a big fully equipped kitchen! It was so great that we decided to stay one more night, not because of the Everglades, because of this Oasis!
AND: The full day Everglades Tour! I am normally against Tours because they are expensive and you want to experience the nature by yourself, BUT this tour was the most well spended 100$ on the whole Roadtrip!
The Tourguide, his name is Alex, was exactly the kind of Guide we wanted on the Tour through the Everglades. Just imagine Crocodile Dundee, with the brain of a biologist and the physical ability to kill every Alligator on the way (he couldn't but he would at least try it;-))- this is Alex. At first we went on a trail, where Alex made a quick introduction to all the plants, fishes and of course the animals. No highly academic talks, just short and interesting stories about all the species we saw on the trail (we saw 36 Alligators piled up at one spot!). After that we went on a Swamp Tour through a cypress forest- great scenery for great pictures! And then came the Highlight: the Kajak Tour through the mangroves! My heart was just beating when we passed those calm and relaxed looking alligators! This was by far the closest I will ever get to such amazing animals! So like the last 3 reviews said before: If you are in Florida, go to the Everglades Hostel and do the tour!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wind room- that was great!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xaverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a haven surounded by the hustle and bustle of excessive consumption and strip mall america. The owners have managed to provide a tropical setting that sometimes makes you forget the outside world. That in itself is a feat.
It is unique in the services it provides and relatively affordable adventure tours. Bus service a short walk away on highway one. Good kitchen and a surprising variety of buildings to relax in. Not pricy so don't expect new ikea furniture.
I slept in my vw van but i undestand that the rooms are ok, perhaps a bit warm but you can sleep outide in tents and other buildings if need be. Good outside shower.

Room Tip: In a hostel you take a chance everytime you decide to sleep in a multi bed dorm. I have always been more prone to sleep in a co-ed dorm, it keeps the boys more civilised.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews