We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Happy Hour”

Canyon Southwest Cafe
Ranked #9 of 1,414 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Description: An oasis of inspired Southwestern fusion, Canyon consistently serves an innovative and surprising array of American artisanal cuisine with Asian, South and Central American undertones. Chipotle, wasabi, ginger, cilantro, lemongrass, basil, jalapeño, mango and red chilies accent the freshest seafood and wild game available. Seductive lighting and a constantly evolving mix of music enhances your dining experience and keeps the intimate space filled with a captivating and energized clientele every night. Immerse yourself in the ambiance as you savor one of Canyon's notorious Prickly Pear Margaritas.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Their happy hour at the bar was AMAZING. We went on a Tuesday and were pleasantly surprised to get right in and get a seat at the bar. I highly recommend the shrimp and grits, roasted poblano, and Mac and cheese. The prickly pear margaritas are also wonderful and 1/2 off for ladies during happy hour. We look forward to returning on our next vacation.

Thank cschoch778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Southwest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thanks for the 5 star review, we appreciate it! The bar is a great spot to enjoy Happy Hour and try all of our small plates + a few Prickly Pear Margaritas... you did it right! If you enjoy Tequila don't miss Tequila Tuesdays where all of our premium tequilas are available at 1/2 off. If you're a wine drinker visit us for Wine Down Sundays when our standard list is available at 50% off! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

I have been going to he Canyon for at least 20 years.Always take my visitors as a treat
Prickly pear margaritas are a must. they also will serve freshly squeezed orange on request.Staff are great .Last night our Bar tender Casandra was charming and made us welcome. I always have the salmon tostada (and I am not a big salmon fan)
The bread pudding is the best ever.Tend to pop in after the movies(from next door) usually the bar area is packed but we were fortunate to get the last 2 seats at the bar
one of my favorite restuarants

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shabali14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Southwest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

We appreciate you making us a favorite for the past 20 years! Prickly Pears + Bread Pudding are standards which everyone should try. We're glad you enjoyed your most recent visit and look forward to seeing you again. If you enjoy Tequila stop in on a Tuesday evening when our entire selection is available at 1/2 off or dine with us on Sundays when our standard wine list is available at 1/2 off (special selections excluded). Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This is an odd little spot that doesn't necessarily feel welcoming or look intriguing, but they have some good dishes and our service was excellent. It feels, decor wise, a little like it's frozen in the 90's. The Prickly Pear Margarita is very good and it is your only mixed drink choice. I suggest sharing several small plates. The beef tacos are divine, the shrimp & grits are good but too salty. The Ahi poke is good~delish sauce on the side. the highlight is the Bread Pudding which is H U G E. Massive and you might explode, but it is truly amazing. I feel like it was a good dinner but it wasn't awesome. I'd rather spend the $$$ at a place with better feel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ttimeatharrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The exterior of the Canyon Southwest Cafe is somewhat forbidding, and the interior decor of black, red and white adds to one’s misgivings. Fortunately, service is all hands-on-deck friendliness, and the simple menu of ten or so ‘small plates’ and a few ‘large plates’ whets the tastebuds in anticipation of a good tapas-style experience. It was also a Sunday evening and the half-price offer on bottles of wine was a bonus. We chose five small plates for the two of us. Smoked salmon tostadas were good, with really crisp tostada. A salad of beetroot, apple, caramelised pecans and apple was workmanlike. Calamari were ruined by salt and sugar. Mac and cheese was an unpleasantly pink interpretation of the real thing. Where was the crusty, bubbling cheese crust? A palapeno pepper stuffed with goats cheese and black beans was way too rich. Overall, we felt let down given all the positive reviews, but perhaps we’d left our appetite for diner-style on the other side of The Pond.

Thank DGEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We were visiting from Montreal (we come down every year) and consulted Trip Advisor on where to enjoy an incredible meal in Fort Lauderdale. Canyon was one of the top-rated places in Fort Lauderdale...and it did not disappoint! The food was incredible and Cleuber (GM) treated us like family. For those who are looking for a great dinner/movie spot, there is a small theatre right next door...the perfect date night outing. Regardless of the hundreds of restaurants in Fort Lauderdale we will definitely be returning there the next time we are down! If you're looking for great food (with just the right amount of spice ) and a lively ambiance, Canyon is a must-go for locals and visitors.

Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Southwest Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks for selecting Canyon for your 'incredible' meal in Fort Lauderdale! We're so glad you enjoyed our food, service and atmosphere and we look forward to seeing you again soon. If you enjoy wine don't miss Wine Down Sundays where our entire list is available at 1/2 off (special selections excluded).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyon Southwest Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Canyon Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing