We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think beachfront ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ranked #64 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Reading the reviews I was nervous booking this hotel but our parents were staying here so we opted to join them instead of having to walk from another property to visit. Here's my take on it:

Positives:

The pool area and beachfront is Fantastic! Never felt crowded, set up with lots of lounges, option to rent cabanas, good size pool and hot tub and direct access to beach. HELLO.

Pool washroom was clean, looked updated, had Toto toilets!

Lobby area updated and clean, little shop wasn't outrageously priced when I picked up sunscreen

This hotel has fragrance on point...lobby area is divine, soap in public wash rooms really nice and toiletries in room are a really nice spicy citrus fragrance

Did not use restaurant at all, so no opinion on it to give- looked quiet though

Staff I personally encountered were friendly and helpful including front desk, valets, shop staff, towel lady, cabana rental staff, housekeeping

They went out of their way to accommodate us with our requests

Room was clean, looked like it had new furniture, and had a fridge and microwave

A balcony was a bonus and luckily we were on the side opposite to the parking lot so we had a decent view

McDonalds was across the street and a liquor store, pizza joint, beach shop and a Grocery store close by

Negatives:

Room was smaller than were used to with double beds, not queen in the family size room

Closet doors old and did not run on track

Bathroom was tiny and besides a new sink top it was outdated and some tiles damaged

Didn't have a strong musty odor but the room lacked a certain freshness

Possibly because the bathroom fan didn't move air very quickly, although my husband did get up with a tissue and verify that it was working

Housekeeping did not freshen our room during our stay or change our towels- ok for our short stay but our parents needed to ask for towels and for the room to be vaccuumed- to me the problem didn't seem like laziness but more like being understaffed

My husband didn't like the $18 parking fee but it wasn't a surprise and comparable to prices we have paid at other beachfront hotels here

Lots of handicap parking stalls

The beach access elevator was temporarily out of order during our stay but it would be a positive when it's back up and running...they had re-tiled the floor and it needed a few days to set

Also the pool heater was tempoarily out of order but luckily we had 80 degree weather and it was refreshing

Overall, the beachfront helped balance out the disappointment in the room
but I would caution that there is disparity between the public areas and the guest rooms in terms of quality and overall experience.

A few suggestions to hotel management:

Add some housekeeping staff, please

Liven up your tiki bar area with music, and maybe some servers to look after the sunbathers in loungers

I realize room updates are in progress but the rooms are your biggest drawback and need refreshing



Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank comefromaway1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

You made many excellent points in the review. Thank you for your many kind words. We are working on many aspects of the rooms themselves and you are correct in saying that the furniture is brand new. But we are also addressing many small details that need rectifying in the room.

We hope to see you again soon.
Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

Awful reviews of this place cracks me up. 5 start luxury hotel? Absolutely not, but it was fine for what it was - We didnt expect much. Just wanted a place to sleep right on the beach. The bathroom light broke our first day. Balcony wasnt very private. Everything was dated but the beds were comfy enough and there is a grocery store across the street you can buy your own food and drinks for the duration of your stay to save money. Walking distance to nice bar/shopping area. Chairs on the beach cost 10 each. Extra 5 for a cushion if you feel you need it. The high rises block the sun on the beach around 330pm. Found this place on a sale rate, probably wouldnt go back if it cost more than the $140 a night we paid. They dont tell you there is a $25 night security deposit charge. That is still on hold on my card, I returned home yesterday, not sure when it will be lifted.

Room Tip: best for low maintenance money savers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The staff were very nice, rooms were clean but a bit weathered, view from baloney was nice but not very private.
The pool area and beach area are very nice.
Disappointed that there is no self park and it was $18 for valet but all good other than that.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Janevanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

FYI- do not trust the pictures. Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, it wasn't what we expected. We had a room on the 7th floor. Room itself was ok, beds pretty comfortable, I like that all of the rooms have balconies. However, the whole place is very outdated, the walls, carpets, furniture... but worst of all was our bathroom. I had to wipe toilet seat as it was dirty, the shower was bad with cracked walls, half functioning shower head and an old floor. There is nowhere to store your toiletries in the bathroom, there is a cabinet behind the mirror but has no shelves in it so really, it's useless. Balcony was more or less good with partial ocean view (read: roof view) but i enjoyed it every morning and night. The room had a small fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker. Only used the fridge and it worked well. Big plus was a TV with good channel selection and a great wi-fi that was excellent even on the beach. Pool area was nice, and so was jaccuzzi. Hotel restaurant was Ok, but overpriced. It is great that this hotel is located right on the beach. Chairs on the beach were not free, 2 chairs + umbrella=$40. Staff was overall good. The hotel is OK but in need of a major facelift.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

We are currently bringing in brand new furniture and carpets will be done in the very near future. We just renovated many of the public areas as well. Thank you for the nice words and come see us again in the near future to see many of our changes.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed for 4 nights in room 317. This was part of a cruise package. The hotel is tired & especially our room. We did not have a sink plug. We did not have a mirror in the room. My wife had to use the bathroom mirror. The cleanliness was appalling. The room was not hoovered once & the bathroom floor still had the same sand on it that we brought in on our kit from the beach. The sides were not dusted as we dropped a few coffee granules the first night & they were still there when we checked out. The air conditioning constantly cut in & out all the time, making it hard to sleep. The balcony door did not open. The bathroom light would not stay on. The coffee machine kept turning itself off. When my wife mentioned this at check out, the first response was why did we not mention this before. My answer is that the housekeeper should have already reported the missing plug, the light, coffee machine & that the balcony door did not open. Also the housekeeper should be doing the job correctly anyway. Would I recommend this hotel....NEVER!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KevWhyte1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanskyhotel, General Manager at Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

We are sorry not to have met your expectations. We are currently bringing in brand new furniture. We just remodeled our restaurant inside and outside and continue to renovate on an ongoing basis. Perhaps you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Paul Cahaly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#24 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,191 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
4,158 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#33 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,943 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#47 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
219 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#89 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

Address: 4060 Galt Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6501
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $174 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is perfectly situated minutes away from major attractions, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, hair-dryers, in room safes and coffee-makers. All standard rooms have a side-ocean view and open air balcony. Oceanfront view, 1 bedroom suites are also available. Our large pool deck features an oversized jacuzzi, heated pool, tiki bar and water sports. The resort also has an indoor/outdoor restaurant, fitness center, gift shop and mini golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sky Hotel And Resort
Ocean Sky Resort
Ocean Sky Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing