We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Winterset Hotel
Ranked #71 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This cute little resort located just blocks away from the beach is an ideal place to stay.
The staff is very friendly and accomodating, the place is clean and you just couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ines D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Ines D,
The Winterset is here to warm you up whenever it gets too cold in New York! Thanks so much for your review. We always love hearing from our guests. Hope to see you again soon. NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    111
    63
    30
    20
See reviews for
84
133
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed in a 1 bedroom ground-floor suite with a small separate kitchen.

Bed for our toddler was there as promised and brand new.

Rooms have some rough edges, but everything was clean and functional.

Staff were uniformly cheerful and eager to help plan visits to local attractions and transport.

Two pools in good order. One of them heated. Need to be mindful of children as the pools are not fenced.

Easy walking distance to the beach, convenient bus route, and water taxi. Fifteen minute walk to shops and restaurants of the beachfront.

Not luxury, but good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Mike A,
Thanks for staying with us. You're right, the Winterset is a great place, especially considering the great rates and the fact that it's just a short walk to the beach! North Beach Village strives to deliver excellent service and we're so happy that you found the staff to be helpful and happy. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the Winterset. The room was clean and roomy. The hotel was only a couple blocks from the beach. All of workers we met were very friendly and helpful. Although, when we checked in we weren;t told that the OTHER pool was heated or that there was another pool! But that's fine, we just went to the beach. One complaint was that the door adjoining our room (i think 207?) to another room had about an inch of space under it so we could hear everything clearly. They didnt stay up too late thank goodness. Depending on the room, you may get a door that light comes through so bring an eye mask or request a room with painted windows. (you'll see what I mean). I would definitley recommend the Winterset and will stay there again if we return to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annyong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
annyoung1,
Thanks for recommending the Winterset, and we are looking forward to your next visit. North Beach Village strives to make it a friendly environment, and we are happy to hear that you experienced this with the workers. We will take a look into the items you mentioned, thanks for pointing them out. Thanks for your review, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed from the 20th to the 25th of December 2011 after being absent since last season, and my experience generally agreed with the positive reviews here, but the Winterset is a work in progress. The new owners have refurnished the suites, as the images on the website show, and the colorful character of the old decor has been replaced by a bland but relaxing modern color scheme. The carpet is gone too, and there is now some noise from chairs hitting and sliding over the bare floors.

They are aware of the problem and also of one of the inexpensive solutions I have used myself: "Fuzzy" chair glides, like giant thumbtacks with a bit of carpet surface on the flat part, let chairs slide quietly across a bare floor. (Footsteps weren't the problem here this time that they were when I stayed in another nearby motel with bare floors .)

Two little problems with my kitchen were promptly fixed. In general the staff seem determined to make The Winterset a nice place again.

New windows and blinds are welcome improvements. The Wi-Fi worked fine except when I tried to download some large files. But it's free.

And the place is as beautifully landscaped as ever, just like the web site shows. While The Winterset is not so quiet, which was one of the reasons I preferred it in the neighborhood, I'm going back again.

Room Tip: Discuss what you like with the staff! They'll help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Jack R,
Thanks so much for staying with us. We always welcome feedback from our guests. Thanks for mentioning the website and it's accurate portrayal of the hotel, with it's modern decor and beautiful landscaping. We want our guests to get exactly what they see, with no surprises. The chair glides are an easy fix to that noise problem, and we will make sure to resolve it right away. Hope to see you soon! NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Staying at the Winterset was the best decision I made. The warm feeling upon my late arrival and making sure my room was perfect was great. The hotel was located to all my destination. I met new nice friendly people I could talk to. The staff are friendly and hard working, Especially the day there was no water in the area, there was a pleasant lady working on Christmas Eve making sure all her guest was aware of the situation and water supplies were available for everyone. Watching her get the task done and talking to everyone shows how much the staff cares about their guest. I came late every night and to see the office is always open is very a secure feeling. The rooms are clean and the view I had was amazing by the pool. The hotel has a tropical feeling of Florida. My housekeeper Erica did a great job cleaning. I will stay here again when I come see another opera.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Jck22,
What a wonderful review, thank you so much. We appreciate you recognizing how much we care about our guests. Our guests are the number one priorty! On Christmas Eve, most of the county was without water. As you mentioned, what could have become a nightmare was handled very well, thanks so such an accomodating staff. We hope you visit us again soon. You are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Beach Gardens
#61 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#33 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Central Beach
Cocobelle Resort
Cocobelle Resort
#70 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#49 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Tropi Rock Resort
#89 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Central Beach
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#72 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Property: Winterset Hotel
Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): $125 - $265
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing