We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool atmosphere and great sushi!”

Salt Life Food Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Salt Life Food Shack was developed with the commitment to provide a community driven restaurant that compliments the brand where “living the Salt Life” is a part of everyday life. We offer a carefully crafted eclectic menu to cater to all tastes and personalities. Salt Life Food Shack of Jacksonville Beach is the perfect locale for beach goers to enjoy great dishes, cool drinks and the opportunity to catch up with family and friends. We are located just three blocks off the beach and our casual yet trendy open-air space will accommodate all types – from the avid seaman to land lovers looking for a taste of the Salt Life... Eat, Drink. And be Salty.
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

The place had a fun atmosphere with lots of local pictures and information. Large monitors with videos of ocean or "salt" life! I just had sushi which was excellent, but the folks I was there with loved everything, except the nachos.

Thank chochrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Public Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere, brand, food. Thank you for the glowing review and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 444 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2016

The poke bowl is delicious and ample. The TV monitors show the visual equivalent of elevator music. I would much prefer either real programming or no monitor.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank burnier2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Public Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Thank you for the compliments on our Poke Bowls and we appreciate your feedback. We wish for you to always enjoy the entire experience at our restaurant. In the future; if you would like a different channel on the television in your dining area; please ask for a manager. We will be happy to make an adjustment. We appreciate your business and hope you come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We initially got in just to get a sticker for one of our cars, but we saw that they have a bar at the deck. We're not really hungry so we asked for appetizer menu. Their bar tenders are really nice, let us know their best sellers and made drinks as we asked.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank johnnyvegas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Public Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

We're happy to hear that you stayed and dined with us. We're glad our bartenders took great care of you. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us and we look forward to your return to Salt Life Food Shack in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Great restaurant, one of my favorites in Jax Beach. Love the poke bowl and the bloody marys are excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Kasparavicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Public Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

We're proud to hear that we are one of your favorites in Jax Beach! Thank you for the glowing review and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

This place just feels like flip flops, shorts and a T-shirt. The beach is so close and the decor adds to it. The giant salt water aquarium with large colorful fish all add to the experience. My wife and I both had the rice bowls, here with bacon wrapped shrimp, mine with Ahi tuna. The fresh flavor is incredible. If you life seafood and special dishes this is a fun place. If not, there's a great burger and hot fries that are one of the best at the beach. Service is great but parking can be a challenge on weekends, day or night. Especially if there is anything going on at the beach. We will return to this fun spot with inside and outside seating.

Thank jaxman1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Life F, Public Relations Manager at Salt Life Food Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Wow! You get it. Thank you for sharing your interpretation of the Salt Life Food Shack's culture and food. We are grateful for your feedback and time taken to write this review. Thank you for the compliments on our food, atmosphere, and service. We agree; parking can be a challenge and we offer complimentary valet 7 days a week. We appreciate your business and glowing review. We hope that you come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Life Food Shack also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Salt Life Food Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing