We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly renovated but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galleon Resort And Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poorly renovated but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

You pay for location but there are really no amenaties. We would have expected more resources available within the room (ie coffee for coffee pot). We woul have expected more service from front desk staff, no concierge no pool staff poor food and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomonkeybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    137
    44
    30
    38
See reviews for
116
178
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Galleon Resort for 3 nights in February and had a wonderful time. The staff was extremely helpful and the property was beautiful. We stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bath unit...it was very spacious with a great kitchen, master bed/bath and balcony. Probably the two best things about the Galleon was it's location and pool/boardwalk area. It's located just off Duval near Mallory Square...also, right next to the Boardwalk with amazing restuarants. The resort itself was very quiet and relaxing, but in a perfect location to walk to bars, restaurants, entertainment, etc. Also, the pool, tiki area and boardwalk was awesome...we spent most of our days relaxing in lounge chairs along the boardwalk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kclarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at the Galleon for one night in a B Unit, their smallest unit. The room was small, dark and smelled musty. The kitchenette is literally the hallway outside of the bathroom. Ugh! The bathroom door on the inside looked as if there had been a leak from the toilet as the wood was coming off the bottom. Ironically, the closet was large. Our room had only one window, no balcony or other source of light. Unfortunately we had to keep the blinds closed as the view we had was the garbage. That's right, in the E building where we were, literally right outside your door are the recycling bins for paper, plastic and bottles. And right outside your window is a large garbage bin. Anytime someone tosses in their garbage or bottles, you can hear it - at 3:00 a.m. Check out is at 10:00 a.m., we left at 8:00 a.m. Couldn't wait to get out of there. Manager was useless. When we complained about the room, the only thing he could do for us was to offer us a more expensive room. Believe me, this room was $275 +, double the price of the fantastic hotel Pegasus International on Duval. Yup, that's what you get at the Galleon for $275 - tiny, dark room with no view in a timeshare that is not kept up. I will never go there again. I keep wondering if all these great reviews are from people who own timeshares!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sunmom46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
172 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This 'condo' style resort is a short couple of blocks from the action of Duval Street yet located on the water overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and Key West's largest Marina. Our two bedroom 'condo' had a full kitchen and wonderfully comfortable master bedroom suite. The second bedroom was a little like a cave, but still comfortable. With all of the marina activity passing your balcony, there is little need for the TV's in every room. The deck and tiki hut are convenient and some rooms even have sunset views. Walk to many restaurants and/or bars. We would definitely come back to this place again and again. The beach is tiny but the pool makes up for it. The comfort, convenience and view are hard to beat.

Room Tip: 'B' or 'C' Buildings for a front row seat to watch sunset and boats. The closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was our first trip to Key West, trading within RCI for the week at the Galleon. We do have to agree with the other reviews that are here that the location is the best part of the resort. A short walk to the north end of Duval, around the marina to the multiple day cruises, or to the best part Mallory Square for the sunset. The checkin process was easy with the very helpful front desk staff. The female employee that checked us in gave us a map of the area and pointed out some recommendations for places to eat. Parking is a bit tight if you have a larger car, but it is an island where there is not a lot of space to park in general. The options for places to catch some sun were nice. It was nice to have the deck area off the tiki bar if you didn't want to sit by the pool where there were more kids and families playing or the midweek games of bingo were taking place. The Tiki bar is a good stop to grab a quick drink and on site food options were adequate. The unit was clean on checkin, the furniture a bit dated, but the bathroom update was a nice treat. We had a unit with a marina view (E building) and noise from the marina was never a problem. There were many nights after we had worn out our legs walking Duval that we rested on the deck and could enjoy the music from the local places on the marina that never went too late. If you didn't want to venture to Mallory Square with the crowds for the sunset, the observation deck was a nice option. The other residents up there were even nice enough to exchange picture taking responsibilites to get a couple's picture. There were many options of activities leaving from the marina in the area of the Galleon. Rent a waverunner, go parasailing, charter a fishing boat, day cruises, sunset cruises, etc all you had to do is take a short walk to find it. A nice option for the sight-seeing is the city trolley tours that left from just in front of the custom's house. They take you by all the major spots and you can jump on and off all day. The Galleon definitely qualifies as a resort destination that we'd be happy to return to on future vacations.

Room Tip: Marina view was nice, easy access to all there is to do in Key West
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 km away
The Southernmost House Hotel
1.8 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#10 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
0.3 km away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#16 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Property: The Galleon Resort And Marina
Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): $449 - $995
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing