We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful place to stay in Key West! Highly Recommend it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Key West! Highly Recommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Southern Most on the Beach and we had a wonderful stay! Let me start with the hotel grounds. They are beautiful! the courtyards between the buildings are all very well manicured and maintained, as well as the lawns surrounding the buildings. The fact that the hotel has it's own private beach, and it right next to a small public beach make it a great place to be if you are looking for beach time. If you are a pool person, there are definitely enough pools on the grounds to choose from. If you want a fun lively pool with a pool bar, they have it. If you want a more quiet pool for adults only, they have it, and all are extremely clean and well maintained. Although we spent our entire days out and about on the island, we did take advantage of the hammocks right by the beach at night when we got back to the hotel and really had a relaxing time by the beach with the great breezes.

The hotel is in a great location. It is a convenient walk to the Hemingway House and to a number of restaurants. It is at the opposite end of Duval Street, away from the majority of the bars, so it is in a very quiet part of the island. Granted, it is a bit of a walk to get to Mallory Square or to the pier, but it's not a bad walk at all, and walking Duval Street is a very fun experience, in fact walking all over the island is a great experience. We had thought about renting an electric car or a scooter, but we never did and both of us were glad we didn't because walking the island really gives you a great flavor and adds to the experience of Key West. If you are not into walking, don't worry because therer are plenty of places to rent bikes, carts, scooters, etc, all in very close proximity to the hotel.

The staff at the hotel was superb! They were all very nice and helpful, and all very genuine. We never once felt like they were forced to be nice because of tourism. The folks that work there really do seem to enjoy working there, and it shows in all they do. We were always greeted with a hello, good morning, good afternoon, etc, by every one we came in contact with. I would like to call special attention to the concierge staff, especially Bernice. She was so nice and so helpful in giving us ideas, answering questions and making dinner reservations for us. Definitely check out Hot Tin Roof and Cafe Sole. Both were excellent for dinner, and recommendations from Bernice.

Our room was very spacious and beautiful. We had a partial ocean view, with a great balcony. The room was very clean and the bed was so very comfortable. After spending a full day out and about, it was so nice to come back to the room for a great night sleep.

One of the days we were there, we decided to go to the Southernmost Cafe for Happy Hour. It's right on the beach and it's a great tiki type bar. The happy hour is really good for drinks, although the appetizers on the happy hour menu were just ok. The next time we are there, I would just opt for drinks during happy hour and not get any food. I would definitely recommend it for a fun place to have some drinks and people watch. You will see a lot of different people there and it makes it a fun place to hang out.

I can't comment on the food at the restaurants, other than just the appetizers at happy hour, which I mentioned above. We were up early and went out for breakfast (check out Pepe's, across from A&B Marina. Don't let the looks fool you. The food is great!) and we spent most of the days out around the island, so we didn't partake of any food at Southernmost.

In closing, I would highly recommend Southernmost on the Beach. It's not cheap, but then again the majority of the lodging options in Key West are not cheap, but Southernmost is definitely worth the price! It's a piece of paradise and you will enjoy it very much!

To all the staff at Southernmost on the Beach, we thank you for a wonderful stay! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank estrnmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,461
    948
    272
    105
    58
See reviews for
912
2,904
62
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

After numerous visits to Key West over the past few years, we recently settled on the La Mer Hotel as our destination of choice to stay when in Key West. The main reasons are excellent and friendly staff, ocean side location (immediately adjacent to Southernmost Beach) at the quiet end of Duval Street and a range of facilities and/or activities available to Southernmost Property quests. Guests have use of three different swimming pools. Morning breakfasts and afternoon tea were served buffet style on the common area terrace overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We have already rebooked for another stay at the La Mer next year.

Room Tip: In our opinion the many suites overlooking the beach and ocean in the La Mar are worth the extra cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drake8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel is fantastic! Te activities director, Boomer, makes every day fun an different- he's the man!! I highly recommend this entire experience we've had here. We will most definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katypears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

It is the perfect location at the beach, walking distance to the Hemingway house and with good restaurant options around the corner (ambrosia sushi, bad boy burritos). The rooms are spacious, with a very chique bathroom, wooden floors and balconies overlooking the sea. There is a coin laundry with dryers, a spa where they offer manicures and pedicures and a nice pool with a good pool bar.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goiabinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The SMOTB is one of the best resorts I have ever stayed at. The staff is unbelievable. I read the reviews before I went and thought how good could it be but they were all true.
Tyler and Heather at the Pool were amazing they kept us supplied with drinks and beach chairs and so friendly. The Concierge was awesome. The front desk amazing. The place clean, clean, clean, I will never stay anywhere else.. A must stay in Key West! Looking forward to going back next year

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lrod325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.0 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
5.1 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.9 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.8 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): $412 - $1,124
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing