We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Douglas House is an excellent choice.”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douglas House
Ranked #28 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We found the Douglas house while scouring google maps as we planned a getaway in the keys for my wife's birthday. Looking at the photos and rates we decided to go for it, and book online. The mamager, Douglas called to verify, and go over the details and policies. We arrived a couple of hours early, and were allowed to check in, offered assistance with our bags, given a tour of the property, and had all of our questioned by Douglas, and you couldn't ask for more hospitality. Our room, Sugar Palm, was so inviting after the drive down, and so clean and quiet. The furniture and beds were very comfortable, the bathroom is huge, and the a/c and fans kept everything cool. The location is right by Duval at the roughly 2/3 way point on the north side, so it was only a leisurely 15 minute walk, including photo ops, and chasing chickens to Mallory Square, and to the Marina and shops. The property is immaculately kept, the small pool is nice, and there is coffee by the pool all the time. Our rates were very comfortable too, and for this sort of accomodation, extremely fair. All the staff were courteous, informative, and fun. We want to say a special thanks to Douglas for our time spent being great. He's a great host, and it was a pleasure meeting you and your lovely wife..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CWP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 418 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We had a group of 16! This was mine & my husbands third trip to Key West. We were VERY impressed with the Douglas House! The place was very clean and the people who worked there were very helpful. We loved Douglas and his kilt! Don't know why it's #55 on Trip Advisor it should be higher. We will definitely be back to the Douglas House!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbrda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have stayed at many little bed and breakfasts in Key West and always like to try some place new each time. We stumbled upon the Douglas House online before heading down on a last minute trip. When we arrived, Floyd greeted us with his amazing smile and was extremeley gracious and informative. he gave us a tour of the grounds which was picture perfect and tranquil, like we like it and then we were excorted to our room. #6, at the front of the Douglas House, with it's private little alcove and entrance. The room was set up very tropical and looked lovely and clean. Now, here's the "almost pefect" part. Time for bed and the mattress was hard as a rock...like one of those fake mattresses that you would find in a bedding store to model the comforter sets. The windows have white blinds which does not block any of the lights from the street or the security lights that are just outside the windows. So needless to say, we were never able to sleep off the party from the night before, had back pain and neck aches through the remainder of the weekend and made for a very uncomfortable stay at the Douglas house overall. I did mention it to the woman at the front desk at checkout and she said that they had never heard these complaints before. So, what do you do with that information but not stay there again. I only hope that the other rooms are much more comfortable and accomodating, but I highly recommend when you reserve a room, request NOT to stay in room #6.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, DO NOT stay in room #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swalker1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We stay at the Douglas House every year and never disappointed. The staff is always friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is great. Upon arrival Douglas gave us all the updated info on was new and happening around town. The location is perfect. One block off duval but just far enough to be very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bp-Kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Over the years, we have stayed at lots of places in Key West. Some are much better than others. One night at Douglas House, however, was enough for us to start planning our next visit to Key West for when we can stay longer. First of all, the staff is pleasant and helpful. Douglas (unrelated to the owner) greeted us when we got in and took us on a tour of the property and showed us to our room. Later in the day, when my niece left her wallet at the pool he noticed it and brought it to our room.

The bathroom was the largest I have seen in any Key West hotel. The beds were comfortable, and we liked the fact that the bedroom was separate from the sitting room. The AC kept the room comfortable and both bedroom and sitting room featured ceiling fans. Our second floor room opened onto a spacious patio with a table and chairs and a chaise lounge.

The beautiful tropical grounds are manicured and the pool was clean. There is a water garden and a coffee bar and lots of places to sit in the shade. Oh yes, the coffee bar...the coffee is truly on all day. Some places say that they have coffee, but it's usually just a pot or two in the morning and it is usually drained when you go for your second cup. At Douglas House the coffee is always out!

Located on quiet Ameila St., just a block off of Duval, Douglas House is a quiet refuge from the party going on further uptown, but close enough to it that you can walk to everything. We walked to Mallory Square for sunset, hit the Duval St. nightlife and walked easily back to Douglas House. All of the rooms are located behind a gate that locks -- a security feature we liked coming in at 1:30 am.

Douglas House also has a parking lot large enough to accommodate SUV sized vehicles. It is located a half a block south of the hotel. If you don't know why I am mentioning this, then you haven't driven to Key West. Parking is an issue, especially if you are driving a larger size vehicle.

This place has spoiled us. We are ready to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in room 9. That room I can say is excellent, but I think they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wepatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
521 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#19 of 77 in Key West
873 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,113 reviews
0.4 km away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.3 km away
Truman Hotel
Truman Hotel
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $286 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing