We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$297
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$383
US$335
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$206
US$197
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$459
US$237
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NYAH Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
US$294
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$273
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Key Resort & Spa(Key West)
US$625
US$609
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
443
245
79
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
245
79
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm roomduval streetcuban clubpool areasmall poolfull kitchensouthernmost pointliving roomquiet endtrip to key westoff street parkingprivate porchfront porchceiling fanbed and breakfastcoffee makerthe room was nice
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We had a group of 16! This was mine & my husbands third trip to Key West. We were VERY impressed with the Douglas House! The place was very clean and the people who worked there were very helpful. We loved Douglas and his kilt! Don't know why it's #55 on Trip Advisor it should be higher. We will definitely be back to the Douglas House!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbrda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have stayed at many little bed and breakfasts in Key West and always like to try some place new each time. We stumbled upon the Douglas House online before heading down on a last minute trip. When we arrived, Floyd greeted us with his amazing smile and was extremeley gracious and informative. he gave us a tour of the grounds which was picture perfect and tranquil, like we like it and then we were excorted to our room. #6, at the front of the Douglas House, with it's private little alcove and entrance. The room was set up very tropical and looked lovely and clean. Now, here's the "almost pefect" part. Time for bed and the mattress was hard as a rock...like one of those fake mattresses that you would find in a bedding store to model the comforter sets. The windows have white blinds which does not block any of the lights from the street or the security lights that are just outside the windows. So needless to say, we were never able to sleep off the party from the night before, had back pain and neck aches through the remainder of the weekend and made for a very uncomfortable stay at the Douglas house overall. I did mention it to the woman at the front desk at checkout and she said that they had never heard these complaints before. So, what do you do with that information but not stay there again. I only hope that the other rooms are much more comfortable and accomodating, but I highly recommend when you reserve a room, request NOT to stay in room #6.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, DO NOT stay in room #6.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swalker1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We stay at the Douglas House every year and never disappointed. The staff is always friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is great. Upon arrival Douglas gave us all the updated info on was new and happening around town. The location is perfect. One block off duval but just far enough to be very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bp-Kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Over the years, we have stayed at lots of places in Key West. Some are much better than others. One night at Douglas House, however, was enough for us to start planning our next visit to Key West for when we can stay longer. First of all, the staff is pleasant and helpful. Douglas (unrelated to the owner) greeted us when we got in and took us on a tour of the property and showed us to our room. Later in the day, when my niece left her wallet at the pool he noticed it and brought it to our room.

The bathroom was the largest I have seen in any Key West hotel. The beds were comfortable, and we liked the fact that the bedroom was separate from the sitting room. The AC kept the room comfortable and both bedroom and sitting room featured ceiling fans. Our second floor room opened onto a spacious patio with a table and chairs and a chaise lounge.

The beautiful tropical grounds are manicured and the pool was clean. There is a water garden and a coffee bar and lots of places to sit in the shade. Oh yes, the coffee bar...the coffee is truly on all day. Some places say that they have coffee, but it's usually just a pot or two in the morning and it is usually drained when you go for your second cup. At Douglas House the coffee is always out!

Located on quiet Ameila St., just a block off of Duval, Douglas House is a quiet refuge from the party going on further uptown, but close enough to it that you can walk to everything. We walked to Mallory Square for sunset, hit the Duval St. nightlife and walked easily back to Douglas House. All of the rooms are located behind a gate that locks -- a security feature we liked coming in at 1:30 am.

Douglas House also has a parking lot large enough to accommodate SUV sized vehicles. It is located a half a block south of the hotel. If you don't know why I am mentioning this, then you haven't driven to Key West. Parking is an issue, especially if you are driving a larger size vehicle.

This place has spoiled us. We are ready to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in room 9. That room I can say is excellent, but I think they are all very good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wepatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Douglas House is such an iconic Key West property, it looks like a little house, but once you are behind the garden gates, it opens up into several properties adjoining in the back. There is a beautiful tropical garden with a splashing watergarden, pool, coffee bar, lounge chairs in sun and in shade. Friendly staff, friendly guests - some were repeat visitors, and a very busy maintenance guy always keeping an eye on things. Douglas and Floyd were our hosts when we arrived on Friday afternoon for a long weekend. So charming and welcoming. We stayed in the Travelers Palm, a spacious 1-bedroom condo with sleeper sofa, full kitchen table, mini-kitchen, very private entrance and very quiet location. Lovely bakery right down Duval (Moka Cafe) serving addictive Almond Croissants. The pool area was a friendly "neighborhood" gathering spot any time of day or nite, very refreshing water temp when we were there in early October. Very well-managed property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews