We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 20 Year anniversery.”
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
New Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 20 Year anniversery.”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked our trip to Key West for our 20 year anniversary. based on tripadvior, we were not disappointed. Probably one of the most peaceful times we have had in...maybe 20 years. First, they really should put rubber bumpers on the doors, that is really the only complaint I have. We named the couple next door the "slammer" family, due to the fact that they would open the door all the way and let it go...wow that's loud, but it doesn't have to be really too disturbing, we had to kinda laugh about it. Actually, common courtesy should prevail here, not a problem of the resort. Most of the rooms have palms and several other local trees and shrubs in front of the balconies, so the privacy is perfect, yet we could see the pool and the fountains. There is music from the bushes all day and night, (low volume at night, perfect for a stroll, or in our case a stumble..) The place is almost "Disney-esc". the crew cleaned the walkways and pool area every morning before most people got up. the lighting on the local plants is beautiful. As usual the pictures on the website are deceiving, the rooms are a little small, but hey, I don't wanna play tennis in there. There's a bed and a bathroom and a TV, all clean and used for one purpose. Its very modern and architecturally beautiful. We noticed on the balcony how nice and clean the glass was and the ceiling, very white and no cobwebs, it looked new. Oh, and it seems there is a power outlet every 3 feet on every wall. even on the balcony. The Kitchen was out of a Martha Stewart magazine. Sub-zero freezer and Fridge, all the plates, glasses and coffee mugs you'll need, dishwasher, laundry room, stove, microwave, coffee pot, Probably a $15 thousand dollar kitchen. We had WiFi, so one evening after a leisure stroll down to Duval and the party area. I hooked up the laptop to the HDMI port on the living room TV and logged into netflix and watched a couple of our shows.. Speaking of Duval, It's spring break here and the party's are wild,But not at the Santa Maria, I think they price it so that crazy Kids don't party here all night. We walked from Santa Maria all the way to the Cruise ships and Malory square easily..This place seems perfectly located to all you'll want to see here in Key West. You could throw a rock and hit the southernmost Buoy. I'll admit it, I'm lazy and still walked the Duval Gauntlet. it was fun, hit almost every bar, The beach is around the corner and quite a sight. A big Thank you to NordI at the front desk and Derek at the tiki bar for there help in picking all the restaurants and other things we asked. The big muffins for the morning and the dove bars and chocolate for the evening were a nice touch. The sushi bar on the other side of the pool is supposed to be one of the finest here in Key West. but where I come from it's called "bait"

Room Tip: There all good really, Only two rooms don't have a pool view, but there quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    201
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
708
518
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The only bad thing about the popularity and excellent reviews is that we probably wont be able to afford the new price point!!!! This is a great property with excellent accommodations and staff. It was an absolute steal at $200 a night - and I don't think we'll see those levels anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewTexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrison, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were there for four days in February...wish it could have been more. We booked the bi-level, 2-bedroom suite. We were greeted warmly by the gentleman at the front desk. Our suite was decorated as urban upscale chic. Spotlessly clean. It was even equipped with a washer and dryer neatly tucked away in a hall closet. The pool area is so relaxing...cool jazz playing over speakers (not loud), a heated pool, a bar with complimentary drinks and smoothies, and a staff always ready to help. Across the street is a convenience store so you can stock up the kitchen or pick up any sundries you might need. One block away is a kiosk where you can buy tickets for the trolley that stops nearby. Beds are super comfortable and each bedroom and the LR had a wide screen TV. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dee-you08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Perfect getaway!

Excellent rooms, excellent pool area for sunbathing and for families too.

It's also only little walk from the main party area (maybe 15-20mins), so it's nice to relax by the pool after night out. I would not rank this as a family hotel only (unless you want to party hole night, then stay at the Duval Street). It's for anybody who wants something extra for the holiday and are willing to pay for it :)

We had two different rooms as we enjoyed so much, we had to spend there one extra night during our road trip and our first room was already reserved. First room was one level suite by the pool with two bedrooms and second was two level suite with two bedrooms. Both were perfect for two couples but both would work excellent for families too.

Staff were very helpful and even apologized that we had to change room (when we asked for extra night).

As we loved the hotel, we didn't even think about different hotel when we are going to Key West again this spring.

Supermarket nearby and good parking place.

Ps. Try the sushi next door - excellent! And don't even think about visiting Key West without eating in Seven Fish!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Santa Maria Feb 13th for 10 days.We had a long 12 hour journey from the UK, and arrived about 20.00hrs. We stayed in one of the ground floor suites and we were immediately impressed with it. spacious bedrooms- each with a shower a great kitchen and even a washer and dryer ! The place was always cleaned to a high standard, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Derek the concierge was really great! He helped us organise a couple of trips- which were brilliant, and nothing seemed too much trouble for him! The walk into Duval street only took about 15 -20 minutes and down to Mallory square about 30-40 minutes.
It was a lovely relaxing 10 day break, with plenty to do and see. Fully recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,715 reviews
0.5 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,648 reviews
1.6 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): $534 - $1,056
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing