We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Gate Court
Nearby Hotels
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands of Islamorada Hotel(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)(Great Value!)
US$195
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
140
24
5
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
24
5
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesoff leashblack labruns parallelangel fishfurry family memberspropane grillhectic lifeother guestseasy access to the watergolden retrieverpeaceful stayflorida baythe florida keyswonderful weekenddog friendly placegreat place to vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2006

After reading a few of the reviews here I was worried about White Gates and I do have to say the reservation process leaves a bit to be desired (more later).

While White Gates is not The Ritz it is comfortable and well kept. Our Villa was clean, bug-less (ants are always a problem in Florida no mater how hard you try), and even came with beds and bottled water for the dogs.

The water area was neat and tidy, it has a nice little sandy area and some steps so the dogs could get in and out of the shallow water easily.

While it is a little pricy it is a nice place to come to vacation with your dogs and I think at the end of the day, when you can see your pups smile it’s all worth it.

Now about reservations: If you are looking for 1 or 2 days, be patient with the owner. It seems that she likes to hold rooms for people who want longer stays. While this is ok, I think it would be beneficial if she could look back at years past to give you a projection of availability.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERORl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My husband and I had the most relaxing, beautiful, 4-night stay with Bella, our Yellow Lab. I just read some of the negative reviews and I must say, I think those people weren't really looking for a "Keys experience." The cottages were immaculately clean, simply but tastefully decorated - a perfect Keys place. We were not looking for any Ritz Carlton or even Hilton experience, and we got exactly what we were looking for - a very clean, quiet, relaxing spot where both Bella and we could get into the water. There are not many places in the Keys where you actually can get into the water - it's all around you but good luck getting into it, with all the rocks, grass, etc. This bayside beach bottom did have some rocks, but you could still get into the water and Bella (our Lab) was absolutely waterlogged - loved every minute! Plus there's plenty of open space; she could run around free even though we kept the leash with us in case other dogs were put off by her overly friendly nature. And each evening we sat at one of the tables by the water and watched the sunset; just another day in PARADISE! We were so happy with White Gate that we're going back for another 4 nights in September - just booked it today.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn&Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

This is a dog lover's paradise. Plenty of room to run and swim, it was great for humans too. We would not hesitate to go back. The grounds are beautiful and so are the cottages.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

This was by far the nastiest experience ever. We stayed for one awful night out of six we had paid for. We honestly didn't know if we would wake up the next morning the stench from the pillows and sheets was so foul. The room smelled as if two lowlifes had literally been lying in bed chainsmoking cigarettes for three years in a row. The air conditioning filter had never been changed and it reeked with a powerful stench that was undescribable. We requested a refund due to the positively uninhabitable conditions but were denied. The people who run this stinking dump will get theirs eventually. By the way, the "white sandy beach" is a slimy boat ramp you'll be lucky not to break your but on. This place is disgusting beyond belief.

Stayed: July 2006
18  Thank valencia113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

After reading good although mixed reviews about this place, I took a chance and booked it for a short holiday for my husbands birthday with our dogs. White Gate Court advertises that the rooms are charming and big breeds must be supervised as well as a tropical park between the cottages and highway. The rooms are worse than any shoddy motel room imaginable and are quite decrepit. Rusty walls, rusty exposed waterheater, gritty floors, lumpy rickety furniture. The faucets were almost completely rusted away and the water made a huge noise when it finally came on. There were ants and other bugs, etc. The airconditioners struggled to keep up with the heat and of course had to run all the time. A huge Rottweiler from one of the cottages roamed the premises night and day and was completely unsupervised, intimidating not only our dogs but us as well. Eating and preparing food in the kitchen was like trying not to touch too much in order to stay clean. Not a pleasant experience. The tropical park was a few palm trees, a scrubby bare lawn and one could hear traffic.

There was a person filling in for the owner and she was nice but fairly unconcerned.
There were other friendly dogs on leash with whom my dogs got to play. The bed was comfortable although the side tables swayed when you touched them. I was afraid they would collapse. The small beach and water were nice and there was a good pier for boats. There were chairs and lounge chairs with umbrellas to sit and enjoy the water. The cleaning staff were nice.

This place is really, really expensive. You must pay for your entire stay upfront and now I can see why. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank drjfkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews