We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Lobster season staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Pro: convenient if desiring to bring your own personal boat and keep it in the water. For an additional daily fee, you can dock your boat. The location of this hotel is great. The views this hotel offers.

Con: like most hotels in Islamorada, it is outdated and is in need of some TLC. For the price paid, definitely could use better housekeeping. Hard to sit outside on balcony of room and enjoy your view when your air condition unit is dripping such ugly rust colored water and is so loud that it is almost unbearable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank solofishergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

19 - 23 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Exceeded our expectations. Clean beautiful rooms, gorgeous ground that are overseen by the owner (I was told by staff member) There was even banana tree with bananas. Beautiful pools with ocean view from their beach. Right on a small man made harbour there where you can take a fishing trip. I could go on and on but you get the point. One last thing is the price is very reasonable and you get a free full hot breakfast every morning. Can't wait to go back next year ♡♡♡

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mylooygirl328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

There are many things to like about this hotel/motel. It's on the water... great ocean views, the back grounds are pretty. There's available watercraft like paddle boats, kayaks, etc. You can use their bikes, and there's two smallish but very clean pools. All covered in the $18/day resort fee. There's a small tiki bar that has limited menu and unfortunately limited hours--closes between 5-6 pm. The font desk clerk was very helpful. Great location and a Publix is currently under construction across the street. The minuses: our room was extremely clean, however, it had a constant slight musty smell I believe was coming from the air conditioner. This place has been around for a while and is very outdated. Didn't take advantage of the breakfast served in the tiny breakfast room. Next door is an outdoor music venue that plays live music until 10:30 pm. A minor annoyance but be aware.

Still, ok for the price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is the second time I've stayed with the Chesapeake. Once again, my family and I had a great time. Better than expected. Great staff and great 'Keys style" resort. I've stayed at Cheeka Lodge, and other high end places. This is a WAY better experience for the family. My favorite moment was sitting under the stars with my feet in the Atlantic watching a full moon rise up from the horizon. Then, my son and I watched three satellites cross the sky! I will go back every year we return to the Keys!

Room Tip: Pretty much all hotel rooms have great ocean views as do the higher cottage numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankieg0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We stayed at the Chesapeake Beach Resort at the end of July for a weekend birthday trip. The place is a dump. The grounds are nice but that's about it. Staff was not overly helpful, the room had stains on the carpet and holes on the wall. The A/C unit was so dirty it does not look like it was cleaned in a long time. If you are heading to Islamorada look at other options. The are better value's for the money

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
5.8 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,432 reviews
23.9 km away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
25 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#13 of 20 in Key Largo
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
730 reviews
2.2 km away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
769 reviews
5.3 km away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $294 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing