We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Cuban food in the Keys”
Review of Habanos Oceanfront

Habanos Oceanfront
Ranked #24 of 99 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Coming from overseas we were looking forward to eating some authentic Cuban food being so close to Little Havana.
Habanos Oceanfront didn't disappoint us (aside obviously from not having a Cristal or Bucanero cerveza to help the food on its way down).
The Vaca Frita (shredded fried beef with onions) tasted good and the sides, tostones and ripe sweet plantains were delicious. We had the ham croquetas as appetizer and they tasted like the ones you can eat in Cuba.
They could have got the max of points but ...... I ordered the roasted pork and I was looking forward to tasty soft meet, full of garlic and cumin, topped with a good chunk of crunchy skin. I got indeed soft meat, but it didn't even come close to what you would eat in Cuba, and the crunchy skin .... well, it wasn't there. What a dissappointment!
The restaurant is what you would expect, noisy, messy, full of Cuban paintings and worth the visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cubiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018

This little Cuban cafe is an extremely good value. The food is freshly prepared and abundant. They offer fried fish and tacos, but the real standouts are the classic Cuba dishes, particularly the ropa vieja, which is incredibly flavorful. Be sure to check out the daily specials.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DCDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We were very impressed with the food! We had a large group so a big variety of dishes were ordered and everyone was very pleased with their meal. We travel to the Keys every year so we will definitely eat here again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Fsubrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

This place was recommended by a local! And boy was he right! We loved the authentic cuban cuisine. Had the Cracked Conch appetizer and it was so good! My husband had the vaca frita and he said it was amazing!!! I asked for a cold beer, it was a sluchy beer.... boy did it hit the spot as it was 94 degrees outside. Service was good and our check was perfect for all we had.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Gadi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We ordered three palomilla steaks with rice and black beans. We loved the taste and the service was good! Great Cuban food!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 289oscars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Habanos Oceanfront also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Habanos Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing