We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was in south Florida visiting family and took family there for a long weekend hust to get out of town. The weather wasnt agreeable for water activities so we went to various attractions in the area, and ate alot of good meals at various restaurants.
The resort met all of our needs and did not fall short in any way. If you were to visit and weather were problematic, rhere would still be plenty of activies.
Please understand as I am writing this review I was a South Florida resident and have been to The Keys often, so it is really like home for me.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: splurge for ocean view. Our room had a full kitchen and there is a lovelt small grocery store just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravellots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    502
    171
    70
    67
See reviews for
472
551
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Huge property with gorgeous views and lovely grounds. We spent two nights on the north side of the resort! Only drawback was the construction site next door that started early and was very disturbing . The freshwater and salt water pools were wonderful. Prices for food and drink a bit expensive, beach is a huge concrete slab covered in a thin layer of sand so if your going for the beach this isn't for you. The landscaping could use some help and trimming. The location is wonderful and I would return again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We loved this place. It looked and felt like a resort right out of the 50's. It was peaceful at night and busy during the day. The location was near many restaurants and shops. There were many places within walking distance. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. If you need any advice on where to go for food or fun, just ask. This is one place we would like to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I just returned from my second stay at the Islander, with my teenage daughter on her spring break. We really love this place. The rooms are comfortable and updated and the location is fabulous. I really like that each unit has a lanai with a ceiling fan - outside the rooms are beautiful palm trees, hammocks, grills and an easy walk to the pool or beach, no matter where you stay. I spent hours in the hammock reading my books, and it was lovely. The pools are clean and nicely done and we spent a lot of time in those. They have a lovely bit of beach there, and you have beach access down a set of stairs. But don't expect a traditional beach with powder sand and waves - you just don't find much of that in this part of the Keys. The staff is nice and very accommodating. The breakfast is basic - mostly cereals, bagels, coffee, juices but convenient. You are a very short drive (practically just across the street) from some of the most fun restaurants around: Lora Lei's across the street where you can have a big, inexpensive breakfast right on the water, Morada Bay (best sunset view in the area), Pierre's and the Islanmorada Fish Company. The rooms are clean and nice with tile floors, which I prefer to carpet. We found a little rust on part of the shower, which didn't bother me - but I will say that if you are expecting absolute perfection in the room, such as in a very high-end resort, you might find the Islander a little too casual for your taste. I'm generally pretty picky when it comes to rooms, and I feel really comfortable in this resort. Pillows and bedding are nice. If you like to run, walk or bike, there are lots of quiet streets around for that (but again, not the beach - it doesn't stretch that far). As far as the price, I think it's a good value - especially compared to some places that I saw online in the same price range that when I saw in person on our trip looked pretty dumpy. I think that the photos on the Islander's website are pretty true to life, which I don't think it true of all the accommodations in that area. You are just a five minute walk from the Cheeca Lodge if you want to go and check that out - and truthfully, I wouldn't even want to stay at the Lodge - I think the Islander has a lot more Keys character.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken, Pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Amazing location right on the beach. Large pool(s) with plenty of seating. Tiki bar at the pool, overlooking the beach with great food and drinks. The rooms were nice and large. A little dated but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nook225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
3.4 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
3.5 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
3.7 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
32.5 km away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,593 reviews
2.8 km away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#12 of 19 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price range (per night): $249 - $534
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing