We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
US$149
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$168
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$140
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
197
54
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
54
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvaca cutboat rampfishbeautiful canalthe sliding glass doorclean roomskey westperfect place to staybbq areahome away from homekeys stylefull size refrigeratornice pooltwo double bedsold floridaroom was largesombrero beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel is very close to the main road. The traffic noise from road is intrusive for much of the day and night. The smell in the room was revolting, which gave me bad headaches. I also found hair in the bathroom. It was my big mistake to choose this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjchmeacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhmb30, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are sorry your experience for your one night stay was not a pleasant one.
Unfortunately, it is hard to control outside noise and sea air smell, when guests leave windows and glass sliding doors open. At this time of the year being located on the water, the North Winds bring in the sea grass.
Communication is very important, and if there was a housekeeping issue, all our guest has to do is call management for assistance and it would have been addressed immediately.
We work very hard and diligently to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay. Our many reviews speak for themselves. We have been No. 1 of places on “Tripadvisor’s” list for some time now, and for the past 27 years that we have owned it, we are constantly striving to make our quaint Keys Motel better each day.
Again, thank you and always enjoy life to the fullest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Several of my friends and family were looking for nice place to stay with accommodations for fishing as well. Fortunately, we were able to locate the Royal Hawaiian Motel. The motel met our expectations and beyond. The hospitality and the services were outstanding. Furthermore, the rooms were very clean and comfortable; with great view of our boats at all times. The location of the motel is strategically placed near almost everything that is needed for fishing and more. The tackle shops, fishing spots, shopping stores and restaurants are minutes away from the motel. It was a very pleasant experience and I will definitely come back and would highly recommend this motel to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar, and any room will be an excellent choice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_FTRIP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This motel is affordable, peaceful and cute! It is great for boaters. There is a quiet pool area beautifully landscaped. The office was very friendly and helpful. Great location! The room had a kitchen and 2 beds which was very clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to the keys and we happened upon this place. What a gem! We stayed another night in Marathon because the room was so awesome in every aspect. The ambiance,the cleanliness, the location...it was cozy and comfy. There's a boat dock outside the sliding back door which was tiled and spotless with benches to sit and relax. The pool was sparkling and spotless and surrounded in beautiful foliage. When we walked in the room was cool and smelled wonderful. Its old. ..50's style...but kept up and updated wonderfully! These people know what they are doing. Next time we visit the keys we plan on basing our visit from there! The only thing I would have wanted different was a king bed instead of two doubles, but that is just personal preference. Great job Royal Hawaiian management/owners!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have been visiting the Keys every year for the last 23 years, we used to camp nearby and we had also stayed at some bed & breakfast places, but for the last two years we had stayed at the Royal Hawaiian Motel, not only for the convenience of having our boat docked right outside our room with easy access to either the Bay of Florida or the Atlantic, but also for the beauty of this cute motel. The Royal Hawaiian is located in Marathon, close to restaurants, dive shops, grocery stores, etc. The rooms at the motel are cozy and very clean, with very comfortable beds. Our number 5 room had been just refurbished recently and the owners were renovating room number 3 while we were there. You may also get a larger room with a fully equipped kitchen to accommodate a longer stay.The managers are very friendly as the owners of the motel are as well, always eager to please their guests, their hospitality is remarkable.The pool and the landscaping make you feel you are in paradise. We will recommend this motel if what you are looking for is a clean, affordable, comfortable place to stay with a real "Florida Keys" feeling like atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRENE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews