We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay around Deland/Orange City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ann Stevens House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lake Helen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

My Dad lives in Orange City and I have stayed at several hotels in the area. I got lucky one year when I stumbled across this B and B and decided to give it a try. I was hesitant because I had never stayed at a B and B before. The Carriage House area of this property is a cross between a B&B and a hotel with private suites, bathrooms, and balconies. I stayed in the Ann Stevens room. The owners are simply wonderful people with a great story to tell of how they took over this establishment. You can have the daily breakfast and take a nice stroll through the park and see where prior resorts had been located, then wind up in Cassadaga. There are bamboo forests and a nice lake to stroll by. They have the most adorable house cats. They even made my room up while I was eating breakfast, what service!!! With Cassadaga hotel right around the corner you have a nice place to have dinner and drinks at Sinatra's. Do your self a favor and when you are in the area don't stay at a hotel, give the Ann Stevens house a try, you will be so much happier there!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4bplanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed here not realizing we were at a 1st class place. The accommodations were incredible, the food top notch, & the owners love story made it one of our best b & b experiences ever! Ask the owners to tell u how they wound up owning this sweet gem. Love is everywhere!!! SIMPLY- one of the best b & b's out there.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We had a lovely night at this charming bed and breakfast. It's in a beautiful, peaceful, natural setting that is obviously treasured by the owners.
The rooms were furnished well and comfortably. Every room had a screened-in porch with 2 rocking chairs.
Delicious breakfast served with charm and patience. Lots of time for sitting around the dining room table catching up with our friends.
A lovely experience that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julieroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We spent two nights here and were very pleased with both the accommodations and the breakfast. Emily, the owner is very engaging and welcoming and a great ambassador for the area. We stayed in the Peaches and Cream room, which we found charming. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed visiting with Emily and the other guests at breakfast. We travel with a large cooler and there is a large refrigerator/freezer for guest use that we were able to refreeze our freezer packs and keep our beverages cold. We arrived late the first night and our GPS got us near - but couldn't get us quite to the right place. We called Emily and she guided us to her home. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We were really impressed with this stay, this is a small guest house in the Florida countryside, it is quiet and well maintained and we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. The accommodation is in the coach house in the rear, this is modern, well appointed and maintained and even boasts its own pub which is only open on this days mostly to guests and neighbours.

We couldn’t believe our room, it was furnished in a western style complete with a full sized and properly plumbed in tin bath and really needs to be seen to believed. The room was comfortable and large and had its own balcony that was fully covered in to protect against bugs.

Breakfast is served in the main house, all the guests dining together and is of a very good standard. Our hosts were happy to advise places for us to visit and it was at their recommendation that we went to Blue Springs where manatees winter, we saw four including a baby on our visit there as well as other wildlife.

If you are in the area this really is worth a stop over, very peaceful quiet and friendly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Helen
0.5 km away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
158 reviews
6.5 km away
Alling House Bed and Breakfast
12 km away
Hampton Inn DeBary/Deltona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange
8.8 km away
The Deland Hotel
The Deland Hotel
#1 of 3 in DeLand
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ann Stevens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ann Stevens House

Address: 201 E Kicklighter Rd, Lake Helen, FL 32744-3514
Region: United States > Florida > Lake Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Helen
Price Range: $189 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ann Stevens House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the gently rolling terrain begins, you know you are someplace special. The Ann Stevens House sits in the secluded charm of Lake Helen, Florida, just next to the village of Cassadaga. Built in 1895 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the inn was renovated and reopened in Jan 2013 under new ownership. It offers 10 beautiful guest rooms and an onsite tavern. Come relish your stay, where you are only minutes away from shops, antiquing, springs, and beaches - yet you are a world apart in this magnificent hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Ann Stevens House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing