We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More cons than pros - you can do a lot better”
Review of Surfs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfs Inn
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Pros- Good location, tidy grounds, nice little pool and they do not require a one week stay.
Cons - Horrible mattress, cheap, hard pillows and a room cramped with far too much furniture. And did I mention how bad the mattresses were? A cardboard box would have been better. Plus, I had to track down the maid to get any service. We were there three days before we got the room vacuumed and 4 day before the bathroom got cleaned, and then only by special request. You can do much better for the price. A huge disapointment!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2008

THis is the old style Florida hotel I grew up with. Clean. Nice people. Unique experience for those able to appreciate it! Take your own coffee filters.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jimbo80566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

My wife and I stay at Surf's Inn all the time, a couple times per year for the past several yrs...We always loved it there, until this last time. I got a call the nite before our departure that my business in MD had been fire bombed...of course we could not leave in the middle of the nite, we waited to pay our bill when the office opened at 9am, as we were leaving in a hurry with a lot of things on our minds...I accidentally left my breifcase behind in the room under the bed..we did not realize this until after hours and we were already in North Carolina, as we drove down this time. I called and left a message on the ans machine and again called in the am when the office opened up. No one else had rented the room and the only person there would have been the house keeper, who would also be the only one who would have reason to see something under the bed as she was changing sheets...not that I'm saying she may not have turned in into the office...but it seems no one has seen the breifcase, which not only had my important business info, checks, etc, in it, it also had some very old and unusual money, which does not even have a value to me, it is non replaceable. I called and spoke to the owner, knowing that they have security cameras all over the property and asked if she could re-run them to check and see if she noticed anyone carrying it out. I was very dissappointed that she told me that NONE of her cameras would have been placed where they could see somone coming or going from the room, stairs, or anywhere on her property...so by now, you are probably thinking the same thing I am thinking,...that she was blowing smoke at this point... She insisted that we must have misplaced it somewhere else, which is NOT the case, and that there was nothing at all she could do. I can't for the life of me understand her explaination of thier camera set up, which we have seen many times during check-in and it DOES show every view and angle of the property. I feel as though I have been mis treated and lied to, and I have been a faithful customer treating Surf's Inn with the upmost respect and praising how nice of a place it was. Very Disapointed in how they handled my delima, and felt as they kicked me when I was down. I had also learned in conversation with the owners wife that her husband also likes to collect old money, maybe a coinsidence, I would hope to think that he would do that to one of his returning customers but you just don't know..especially since they are claiming that they can not review their cameras to check... very unhappy experience, but as the saying goes" a thief is a liar and a liar is a thief! We will never be back or recommend this place ever again...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank baddtripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Ok, this is my second time staying there. The first time was pretty much described as everyone who loves this place describes it. I love the fact it's a "ma and pa" place and everything that goes along with it. The location is great, the atmosphere, the pool, etc. It has its own character which is unique these days. However, this time everything was great except the room. It smelled horrible. It had a real bad musty moldy odor mixed with urine. The thing is I really didn't mind - I am 31, single male, and somewhat knew what I was getting into. I was basically using it as a place to sleep. I have stayed at 5 star resorts and know the difference. Basically, I was dissapointed that it did not have the same level of service. Though the price was right, I really don't know if i could recommend this to anyone without making a huge disclaimer. Like I have written, I used it as a sleeping room and did not let management know about the smell. I guess the thing is, is that anyone could know this was not right to place someone in this room but they did it anyway. Bottom line, if you have 10 or so dollars more, stay somewhere else. I went back for the experience, and truly truly sadly, may not return based on this experience. I really wish it was better because it is such a unique place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank javery54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

recently spent a weekend here and was satisfied. room was second floor facing the gulf and was very old Florida. its your basic motel set up with a stove and full size fridge which was very convenient. we were able to walk to restaurants and bars so the car was parked until check out. there is also a trolley station right out front. only downside was the outside balcony. again, because its an old motel, you share this with all your neighbors and it could get cramped at times. all in all, worth the money if you are looking for a place to stay for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaBill30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.9 km away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
732 reviews
2.5 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,790 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
0.3 km away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
670 reviews
4.3 km away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfs Inn

Address: 14010 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2392
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Madeira Beach
Price Range: $107 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfs Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Surfs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfs Hotel Madeira Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing