We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suites of Dorchester
Nearby Hotels
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Astor(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
W South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$389
US$368
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Marlin Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$159
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Standard, Miami(Miami Beach)
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$306/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Confidante Miami Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
32
90
46
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
90
46
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelcollins avenuehappy hourliving roomocean drivesitting areaswimming poolgreat ratebeach chairsin south beachother hotelsfront desk staffworcestermarseillemiamilincolnincidentals
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Why book an ordinary hotel room in South Beach when the Dorchester Suites are comparably priced and provide the space of an apartment? My husband and I stayed for two weeks in a spacious suite (kitchen, dining room, living room, bedroom, bathroom, hallway, balcony, lots of storage) that was sparkling clean. The kitchen was updated and equipped with everything we needed for a temporary stay. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in a long time. It really enhanced our vacation to be able to spread out and enjoy the entire suite. Although there were just the two of us on this trip, we have stayed in the suites in the past with our son, and they are definitely ideal for families.

The location also can't be beat. It's an easy stroll to South Beach's top attractions ... the beach, boardwalk, Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, etc. yet it's not noisy or congested, and there is a lovely courtyard that separates the hotel from bustling Collins Avenue.

Although some other Trip Advisor members have given mixed reviews to the front-desk staff, we felt that everyone we encountered was friendly and attentive. Whenever I made a request (e.g., for more hangers, for a bottle opener), it was addressed immediately. The housekeeping staff was super. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Special kudos go to Erika and Veronica for cheerfully providing us with the extra towels and soaps and shampoos that we were constantly asking for.

I was going to give the Dorchester only 4 stars because the swimming pool needs updating. BUT ... instead we used the pool at the Marseilles, the Dorchester's sister hotel across the street, which also has a big hot tub, and is one of the nicest pool situations in South Beach. (Brian and his staff keep the area immaculate.) Dorchester and Marseilles guests also share the adjacent beach area, and there were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas to go around as well as a friendly staff to set them up.

Although the Dorchester may not be as chic as the Raleigh, National, Delano and a few of the other hotels nearby, we have stayed at some of those places in the past and much prefer the calm and spaciousness of the Dorchester. We will definitely return next winter, if not sooner.

Room Tip: For a stay of more than a couple nights, definitely book a suite rather than just a room.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PabloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We needed a room for use during the day after disembarking from a cruise and not flying till the evening.
This fitted the bill and we had use of a room from 9am-4pm
We had use of its sister hotel over the road called the Marseilles which had a lovely pool and backed onto the Boardwalk and its own beach
This worked perfectly for us allowing us to leave our cases and use the pool and beach
The Dorchester is in need of much updating but was perfect for our needs with toiletries in the bathroom safe, hairdryer and free wifi

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Annypanny3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Boyfriend and I were passing through miami and decided to stay the night. Pulled in to this hotel not know anything about it.
Good value for Miami. Good quality room
Make sure when you book to ask for a room away from the bar. We were kept up untill the bar close but granted it was a Saturday night. Benefit if hindsight!
Didn't get any photos but the pictures on here are true to form.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Where to start .... Check in, we arrived a little earlier than their check in time and our room was not ready, which is fine however on coming back at the said time it would be ready it was not, another 30mins later and they tried to check us into a double room opposed to the suite we had booked, we had to produce our voucher (tip to you...take your voucher with you) to prove the room we had booked. At this point my expectations were low but not low enough, the suite was absolutely devastating awful. The smell was the first thing you noticed followed by the broken and run down kitchen area followed by the bland bedrooms. We had booked in for 5 nights and at this point actually considered paying for another apartment, we contacted front desk and advised them of the issue, their resolve to send someone with an air freshener along ... Not the answer we were looking for! Contacted reception again and asked for the manager, who did ring very promptly and after explaining the issue we were offered to view another 2 rooms, our 2nd room was much fresher then the initial room and we felt a little happier at this point. Now they have a bar on site, again I would say the location of it ... Just next to the car park is not ideal for the ambiance your looking for (it's kind of like a backpackers look and feel). The barman is constantly trying to chat girls up so has no time to be friendly or do his job .... Which is just for the record to serve drinks and makes anyone coming into the bar area uncomfortable enough for them to leave asap (prior to them getting a drink) bad business!!! Our bedroom door locked itself whilst we were out and whilst maintenance man was very quick to help us, should this happen I think not. Now to the after thought of the pool area, OMG it's awful no thought no ambiance and no pool bar or towels! They have a sister hotel (Marsielles) opposite side of the road just a little walk down and whilst the frontal looks a little run down the staff, the ambiance, the customer service and the pool area are perfect and everything you look for, you would not ever think these 2 places were related but apparently they are ... Happy hour runs at both these places however the service and standard of the staff at the Marsielles is top notch and the lack of service and standards of the Dorchester are poor .... absolute poles apart. The parking seems to vary between $31-34 a day ... Rip off go a bit further down on 16th and you pay $16 a day (there may be cheaper but this worked for us). Noise at night is LOUD by any standard. All in all unless your a backpacker and at times all of us are give this place miss.

Room Tip: There are none from my experience
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SGtravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel central location. Desk staff were so friendly and extremely helpful. We were upgraded to a junior suite and got late checkout at no charge. Really enjoyed our stay here.

5 minute walk from Lincoln Avenue with all the shops, 2 minutes from beach (free beds and umbrellas) and 10 minutes to Ocean Drive.

Free fast wifi in room.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Flippy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews