We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Dorchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
Ranked #142 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We booked a room at the Dorchester to stay for 4 days before a cruise. I asked for a quiet room and we were pleasantly surprised with a wonderful 2 room suite, with a big balcony. We were given a great rate. The staff were very helpful. Happy hour with $1 drinks were great. Having access to their sister hotel was wonderful too. We were able to pick up beach chairs, umbrella and towels at that facility and enjoy South Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite and you'll be guaranteed the quietest rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2017

Why book an ordinary hotel room in South Beach when the Dorchester Suites are comparably priced and provide the space of an apartment? My husband and I stayed for two weeks in a spacious suite (kitchen, dining room, living room, bedroom, bathroom, hallway, balcony, lots of storage) that was sparkling clean. The kitchen was updated and equipped with everything we needed for a temporary stay. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in a long time. It really enhanced our vacation to be able to spread out and enjoy the entire suite. Although there were just the two of us on this trip, we have stayed in the suites in the past with our son, and they are definitely ideal for families.

The location also can't be beat. It's an easy stroll to South Beach's top attractions ... the beach, boardwalk, Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, etc. yet it's not noisy or congested, and there is a lovely courtyard that separates the hotel from bustling Collins Avenue.

Although some other Trip Advisor members have given mixed reviews to the front-desk staff, we felt that everyone we encountered was friendly and attentive. Whenever I made a request (e.g., for more hangers, for a bottle opener), it was addressed immediately. The housekeeping staff was super. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Special kudos go to Erika and Veronica for cheerfully providing us with the extra towels and soaps and shampoos that we were constantly asking for.

I was going to give the Dorchester only 4 stars because the swimming pool needs updating. BUT ... instead we used the pool at the Marseilles, the Dorchester's sister hotel across the street, which also has a big hot tub, and is one of the nicest pool situations in South Beach. (Brian and his staff keep the area immaculate.) Dorchester and Marseilles guests also share the adjacent beach area, and there were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas to go around as well as a friendly staff to set them up.

Although the Dorchester may not be as chic as the Raleigh, National, Delano and a few of the other hotels nearby, we have stayed at some of those places in the past and much prefer the calm and spaciousness of the Dorchester. We will definitely return next winter, if not sooner.

Room Tip: For a stay of more than a couple nights, definitely book a suite rather than just a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We needed a room for use during the day after disembarking from a cruise and not flying till the evening.
This fitted the bill and we had use of a room from 9am-4pm
We had use of its sister hotel over the road called the Marseilles which had a lovely pool and backed onto the Boardwalk and its own beach
This worked perfectly for us allowing us to leave our cases and use the pool and beach
The Dorchester is in need of much updating but was perfect for our needs with toiletries in the bathroom safe, hairdryer and free wifi

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Annypanny3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Boyfriend and I were passing through miami and decided to stay the night. Pulled in to this hotel not know anything about it.
Good value for Miami. Good quality room
Make sure when you book to ask for a room away from the bar. We were kept up untill the bar close but granted it was a Saturday night. Benefit if hindsight!
Didn't get any photos but the pictures on here are true to form.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Where to start .... Check in, we arrived a little earlier than their check in time and our room was not ready, which is fine however on coming back at the said time it would be ready it was not, another 30mins later and they tried to check us into a double room opposed to the suite we had booked, we had to produce our voucher (tip to you...take your voucher with you) to prove the room we had booked. At this point my expectations were low but not low enough, the suite was absolutely devastating awful. The smell was the first thing you noticed followed by the broken and run down kitchen area followed by the bland bedrooms. We had booked in for 5 nights and at this point actually considered paying for another apartment, we contacted front desk and advised them of the issue, their resolve to send someone with an air freshener along ... Not the answer we were looking for! Contacted reception again and asked for the manager, who did ring very promptly and after explaining the issue we were offered to view another 2 rooms, our 2nd room was much fresher then the initial room and we felt a little happier at this point. Now they have a bar on site, again I would say the location of it ... Just next to the car park is not ideal for the ambiance your looking for (it's kind of like a backpackers look and feel). The barman is constantly trying to chat girls up so has no time to be friendly or do his job .... Which is just for the record to serve drinks and makes anyone coming into the bar area uncomfortable enough for them to leave asap (prior to them getting a drink) bad business!!! Our bedroom door locked itself whilst we were out and whilst maintenance man was very quick to help us, should this happen I think not. Now to the after thought of the pool area, OMG it's awful no thought no ambiance and no pool bar or towels! They have a sister hotel (Marsielles) opposite side of the road just a little walk down and whilst the frontal looks a little run down the staff, the ambiance, the customer service and the pool area are perfect and everything you look for, you would not ever think these 2 places were related but apparently they are ... Happy hour runs at both these places however the service and standard of the staff at the Marsielles is top notch and the lack of service and standards of the Dorchester are poor .... absolute poles apart. The parking seems to vary between $31-34 a day ... Rip off go a bit further down on 16th and you pay $16 a day (there may be cheaper but this worked for us). Noise at night is LOUD by any standard. All in all unless your a backpacker and at times all of us are give this place miss.

Room Tip: There are none from my experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SGtravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#117 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,347 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#85 of 212 in Miami Beach
500 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#132 of 212 in Miami Beach
416 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,527 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7413
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $186 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester
Suites Of Dorchester Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing