We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel, Lovely staff”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #54 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the Essex, we were visiting from Ireland a few weeks ago and they couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Best place I've stayed in, in Miami and such good value for money! The guy at the front desk, I think his name was Raphael? but I can't remember :/ anyway he was fantastic, always cheerful and helpful! :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear May2412,

It was a pleasure to meet you and to have had the opportunity to welcome you all the way from Ireland! Providing quality and value to our guests is very important to us and we are glad to know that you felt that your money was well spent. We are honored that you have given us the title of "best place you've stayed in Miami".. this means a lot to Rafael and to our entire team. We want you to know that you always have a home on South Beach and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

I enjoyed my stay for Labor Day weekend, but the elevator was out dated and dangerous! It stopped once and scared myself and the people that was with me. Other than the elevator the stay was great. The front desk was helpful and kind as well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhop2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear bhop2017,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your feedback regarding our original historical lobby elevator. We are sorry that you had a scare, but rest assured that it is inspected on a regular basis and I will share your experience with our engineering team. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

A nice hotel! The rooms were clean, breakfast was perfect and the staff (especially Zuleica) very friendly! The hotel is situated perfectly, close to the beach and shops.
We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Joanne,

We feel that even though our location is unbeatable for sure, it is our staff that really sets us apart. We are so happy that Zuleica was successful in making a lasting impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Next time you visit, we hope you stay a little longer! Thanks for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I've been to Miami three times and this is the BEST place I've stayed thus far! GREAT amenities! PERFECT location! Definitely got my money worth!! Free wine and sushi happy hour! Access to the Clevelander, their pool, and there exclusive party arear for FREE, well included in price. Paid $179 a nigh Labor day weekend. Less than I'll pay for a regular night at the Omni on a weekday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank taylinsmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Taylinsmommie,

Quality and value are at the heart of our core values and it means so much to us to know that you felt that your choice of hotels and the hard earned money you spent was justified. It is always our goal to not only provide comfortable quarters during your stay, but to deliver a total experience. It makes us happy to know that we were able to do that for you and we hope to welcome you again soon! Thanks for choosing to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Friendly Staff with affordable prices and access to the Clevelander????? You cant beat it! My friends and I went down in the beginning of August and enjoyed amazing scenery, ocean front location, great atmosphere and had a blast!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank chayanner2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear chayanner2017,

We love that you guys had such a great time during your stay and that you appreciated having an all access to pass to all of the parties and action at the Clevelander. South Beach is supposed to be fun in the sun and it sounds like that's exactly what it was for you. We are so happy that we could play host to that and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,330 reviews
0.3 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
566 reviews
0.3 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#32 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#116 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,801 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $208 - $804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach
Essex House Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing