We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex House
Nearby Hotels
US$340
US$299
EDITION
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
W South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$339
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Astor(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$440
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$244
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Confidante Miami Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,989)
Filter reviews
1,989 results
Traveller rating
866
736
240
82
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
736
240
82
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelocean driveclevelander hotelin south beachhappy hourart decoking suitesmall poolsushi restaurantcontinental breakfastyogurtlocation is greatbeach towelscollins avebars and restaurantsfree drinksvalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,989 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I enjoyed my stay for Labor Day weekend, but the elevator was out dated and dangerous! It stopped once and scared myself and the people that was with me. Other than the elevator the stay was great. The front desk was helpful and kind as well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhop2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear bhop2017,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your feedback regarding our original historical lobby elevator. We are sorry that you had a scare, but rest assured that it is inspected on a regular basis and I will share your experience with our engineering team. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

A nice hotel! The rooms were clean, breakfast was perfect and the staff (especially Zuleica) very friendly! The hotel is situated perfectly, close to the beach and shops.
We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Joanne,

We feel that even though our location is unbeatable for sure, it is our staff that really sets us apart. We are so happy that Zuleica was successful in making a lasting impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Next time you visit, we hope you stay a little longer! Thanks for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I've been to Miami three times and this is the BEST place I've stayed thus far! GREAT amenities! PERFECT location! Definitely got my money worth!! Free wine and sushi happy hour! Access to the Clevelander, their pool, and there exclusive party arear for FREE, well included in price. Paid $179 a nigh Labor day weekend. Less than I'll pay for a regular night at the Omni on a weekday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank taylinsmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Taylinsmommie,

Quality and value are at the heart of our core values and it means so much to us to know that you felt that your choice of hotels and the hard earned money you spent was justified. It is always our goal to not only provide comfortable quarters during your stay, but to deliver a total experience. It makes us happy to know that we were able to do that for you and we hope to welcome you again soon! Thanks for choosing to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Friendly Staff with affordable prices and access to the Clevelander????? You cant beat it! My friends and I went down in the beginning of August and enjoyed amazing scenery, ocean front location, great atmosphere and had a blast!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank chayanner2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear chayanner2017,

We love that you guys had such a great time during your stay and that you appreciated having an all access to pass to all of the parties and action at the Clevelander. South Beach is supposed to be fun in the sun and it sounds like that's exactly what it was for you. We are so happy that we could play host to that and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I was very happy with the friendly service we received at the hotel. My father is disabled and everyone went out of their way to make sure he was taken care of. I split my time between 2 hotels, Essex outshined the other hands down!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karih838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadMoreauSOBE, Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear karih838,

We believe that our staff is our most valuable resource in providing game-changing guest experiences and we are so happy that their friendly service is what made a difference in your stay. Thanks for being our guest and we hope to see you here again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chad Moreau
Hotel Manager
cmoreau@Clevelander.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews