We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
National Hotel Miami Beach
Ranked #38 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at the National. Very impressed by the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. Standards were certainly not spectacular but very suitable. Great access to the beach. Pretty good food. Wine list, particularly by the glass, could be better.
Great location.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 954 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2014

The National Hotel claims to be a four star hotel, but one could be forgiven for not knowing that. The hotel is a pretty property with friendly enough staff, but neither the premises nor the service justifies this lofty rating. The lobby and public areas here are not particularly grand, nor are the standard guest rooms much more than adequate.

Some aspects of the hotel were particularly lacking. Throughout my three day stay, about half of the television channels did not work and wifi service was intermittent. Even a Best Western provides a daily newspaper, but the National Hotel does not leave a paper at your doorstep, or even in the lobby. The lack of complimentary coffee in the lobby was another area where The National disappoints.

All this is not to say that the National Hotel is a bad place to stay, but rather that it falls far short of the high standards that any legitimate four star hotel should meet.

Room Tip: Parking here is a whopping $42 / day, so consider parking at a public lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANCAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 19 December 2014 via mobile

We booked The National after much deliberation in light of the largely glowing reviews and recent renovation.

Booking.com had the lowest rate by far so that's where we booked, but the hotel claimed not to have a record of our booking when we arrived the next afternoon. They located it after a while (and only after we gave them the reservation code), then tried to put us in a king room instead of two doubles (according to the reservation line at the hotel, the double rooms are $50 more - we had paid for this on booking.com). When we pushed back, they they were glad we told them - what kind of booking system is this? We got a double, but on a low floor (they said all the rooms were taken - I had spoken to the reservation line the night before, and they told me there were plenty of available rooms of the double variety still available and they were far from selling out).

So check-in: minus points

The room itself is fine. Basic, not dingy but not fresh off a renovation. The small console under the wall mounted TV has marks all over it from either liquids or I don't know what. No trash can in the bedroom. Beds are a bit odd - the mattress sits on slats that are clearly visible inside an immovable bed frame. Good number of outlets by the bed and under the TV.

The bathroom is TINY. Not sure why, because there's walk in closet directly next to it that could have expanded the size. Anyway. No shower curtain, a partial glass screen between the basin and shower. Not enough hooks for towels, robes, swimsuits. Shelves were dusty.

The rod holding the hand towels FELL DOWN as I went to get a towel to wipe my hands... We called maintenance to fix that and also the toilet seat which was very tight. When we came back, toilet seat had been replaced and hand towel rod was back in place. Went to get a towel again - rod FALLS DOWN. Called down again. Maintenance comes up again and does something while we are out - this time there is with white glue or putty sticking to it. We leave it be till the morning. Unprompted, it falls down AGAIN.

So I called the front desk. The lady asked me what heavy things we had putting on the rod. Of course, the towel rod at this newly renovated 'luxury' hotel falls down and it must be the guests' fault. Really? I told her it wasn't possible to put anything on it and she should check that this was the THIRD call for the same issue. Oh customer service where are you?

Other observations so far:
Pool is quiet and pretty which is nice. Towel service is spotty at both beach and pool - have to find the guy. But servers at pool are friendly and helpful - one of them even came out to the beach the first afternoon to set us up when no one was to be found (well, the guy at the beach ignored us - walked right by us and went into the hotel...).

The restaurant and bar appeared to be closed on Thursday evening - the poolside kitchen was open till about 4 or 5, but then both that and the bar shut down which was surprising.

The guests seem to have a large proportion of Europeans.

Hopeful that the rest of our stay is less so-so and more positive. Unsure where all the hyper positive reviews come from.


Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Melissa is the best! I love getting massages and she is by far the best. Very knowledgeable and experienced.There is nothing better than a massage by the Ocean in my own cabana. I will definitely be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Just stayed for 3 nights... it was awesome. It underwent a full renovation. While the rooms aren't the biggest they are bigger than most other hotels in SB except for probably only the Lowes and Ritz. But the room is brand new, nice decor, good bed, and brand new marble bathroom. The hotel has a throw back havana vibe. Great lobby, bar, and the 2 outside pools are fantastic. 1 lap pool and 1 regular. Pool food & drink service as well. The hotel is directly on the beach with the bike, walking, jogging path right there as well. The location is excellent as well as Lincoln drive is 1 block away and easy walking to Ocean drive. The cost is very reasonable also compared to the Delano ( which is right next door ) Setai, Sagamore, Ritz, and Lowes. The only negative I have are thr room doors slamming closed as people enter / leave their rooms. They are solid beautiful doors that self close but they need some sort of insulation / rubber molding around them so they don't make a big loud bang when they fully close. You can constantly hear them all hours of the night as people arrive back. Other than that.... I will def be back in Jan !

Room Tip: I had room # 1105 which was the top floor ocean front corner room. A beautiful view of the ocean on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BIGMIKE275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,584 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,652 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#29 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Sagamore Hotel
#94 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Miami Beach

Address: 1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: S$272 - S$749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in South Beach's celebrated Art Deco neighborhood, our oceanfront resort evokes cinematic elegance, boasting 116 newly designed city and direct ocean view guestrooms in our Historic Tower, and 36 luxurious cabanas and suites, skirted alongside native tropical palm trees and the city's longest infinity-edge pool. Fully restored in 2014, the hotel was recognized by "Historic Hotels of America" for maintaining its architectural authenticity while bringing subtle and sophisticated elements of contemporary design for the discerning traveler. The National Hotel's Tamara Bistro, among other unique onsite venues, offers old Gatsby glamour with New World fusion cuisine. We invite you to visit Miami Beach's 30s and 40s classic era of grace, elegance and style at the National Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your National Hotel Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Miami Beach
National Hotel Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing