We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sense Beach House
Ranked #67 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Anniversary Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Location of hotel perfect was perfect for us. We were on Ocean Drive but did not have to worry about all the noise & crowds when we wanted to go back to our hotel at the end of the evening for a good night's sleep. Just across the street from the beach & hotel offered free beach chairs & towels which saved us $ from renting. Of course, we had read wonderful reviews about Alex & he lived up to them. So helpful in pointing out all the places we may like & where they were located. Without his suggestions, our vacation would have been limited to Ocean Drive & most of our best 'finds' were the places Alex suggested. My husband got food poisoning for almost 3 days of our 5 day vacation (at a place Alex did not recommend, we should have listened more closely), but I felt very safe walking around by myself, regardless of the time of day. Nice to have Walgreens just down the street and little deli's around the corner for quick bites to eat. Beach was one of my favorites of places we have visited & would definatley go back if just wanted a quiet place to rest & relaxing visit to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    186
    42
    17
    19
See reviews for
73
318
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here during our trip for the South Beach Wine and Food festival. There are several contributors to my rating this property at "poor". We arrived about 230pm and the rooms were not ready, they ended up not being ready until after 5pm.When I asked the front desk person for advise on recommendations for "happy hour", she responded with I don't know and need to look online. We had two rooms, one didn't have a refridgerator the other did but it was secured in a cabinet that caused it to overheat and warm up. We requested a taxi one night to attend a party. I believe the taxi was never called and when we went to the lobby the desk person remembered and then called the taxi. We waited for 15 minutes then gave up and walke down ocean dr until we were able to grab a cab. The beds were confy and the bathrooms were above average, actually very nice. Each time I wanted to speak to a staff member, I woud find the desk empty. If I called the front desk there would be no answer. Fair location but the staff made the our stay unpleasant. I will not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank choptopmerk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Following a glowing write-up of this Hotel in UK's Daily Telegraph newspaper, we cancelled an existing booking and switched to the Sense Hotel !! What a mistake !!

We were sold a "Deluxe Ocean View" (I still have their email confirming this).
Sense Hotel is on 4th St. You cabn only have an ocean view from 5th St on.
We got, what everyone gets - the head-on view of a 10 storey apartment building opposite.
Additionally the toliets were working in reverse- not nice, or hygienic.
And - after almost 4 years, this place has no food or beverage licence.
Have you ever been to a hotel in America that can provide zero food or drink? Not even a machine.

Their email now apologises for the "misunderstanding" about the ocean view.
There was no misunderstanding - just a blatant lie.
Alex on the front desk is a great guy - he should be working somewhere better.

Sense hotel charges as much as many of the other better hotels on Ocean Drive - be warned and move further along - well after 5th St if you want a view of the ocean - or anything to eat and drink.

D.Morgan : London

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt.Prospect
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Because everything was so great, I don't know where to begin. The Staff was the best that I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Alex was very helpful and gave us so many great tips on local places to eat and drink, Mernie has to be the most pleasant person in the world...ALWAYS SMILING:), and Jose and the rest of the staff was very accommodating. The rooms were very clean and well stocked(TOWELS,SOAP, ETC.). The hotel was conveniently located in a safe and quiet area that was steps away from the beach, and only a few blocks away from the "ACTIVE " nightclub scene. Wondeful experience, and we will definitely recommend it to friends, and will return as future guest.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertandTammieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Room was nice. It was very clean. Location is good, close to everything but still quite. Staff was friendly. My only problem was a water pipe that was rattling in the wall of our room. Every once in a while it would rattle pretty loudly. The one evening I went down to the front desk to ask about the noise. He said that yes it was a rattling water pipe, but that it only rattled when the people in the next room were taking showers. He offered us ear plugs. Not a big deal, but a minor annoyance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 km away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.3 km away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#29 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
0.4 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.6 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Property: Sense Beach House
Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $336 - $708
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami
Sense Beach House Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing