We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel terrace, location (beachside access), service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Ranked #32 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel terrace, location (beachside access), service”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Edgewater is a great choice if you want a South Beach getaway. The daily continental breakfast and manager's receptions on the rooftop terrace were great. The ability to grab towels and beach chairs and walk across to the beach was fantastic. The fact that each suite is roomy with refridgerator, microwave, etc., was also great.

I would've given them 5 stars, but we had a room with limited natural light--seemed hit or miss in terms of views, light, etc.

Service was great, although would be nice if they had room service or if the restaurant on premises was a little more inviting.

Overall, a great choice on South Beach that isn't too caught up with the Ocean Drive craziness while benefitting from the great Ocean Drive location.

Room Tip: Ask about natural light and balcony when reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madintangibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron P, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Madintangibles;

Thank you for your business and taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Regards,
Ron Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    530
    130
    37
    23
See reviews for
269
865
71
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights after our cruise in room 101 with our 6 year old son. We arrived at around 11 but could not check in until 3, but no worries, they took all our luggage and we spent the time walking around and soaking in the sights. The hotel is in a great location with many great restaurants within walking distance. Our room was very spacious with huge windows overlooking the strip. Don't mess with the ac, it took me awhile to get the room comfortable again after adjusting it. I really can not say enough about how friendly the entire staff is. They always greet you with a genuine smile and were helpfull giving us hints on where to go and what to see and eat. The happy hour was great, it was a bit windy and the pigeons that come for the penuts kept our son very busy, he had a blast chasing them around. The young Romian hostess was very nice, we wish her all the best. We would stay again and highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoDogG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron P, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear GoDoGo;

Thank you for your business and taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to serve you again in the future. I will share your comments with Diana.

Regards,
Ron Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

It seems that South Beach hotels are majorly challenged to offer good value, service and room in the $200 - $250 price point. We had been disappointed countless times with other properties so we decided based on Trip Advisor reviews to try the Edgewater.

Good: the hotel is north of most of the endless thumping bass lines of the street level clubs - so for the most part our nights were quiet
Good: the hotel is right on Ocean Drive across from the beach

Bad: Upon arrival there was no bellman to greet and the front desk clerk barely looked up when we struggled with our bags at the door, let alone got up to help us

Mediocre: The "ocean view" studio did face the ocean, however due to a strange architectural feature all the windows are a good four feet above the floor - you can stand at the window and see the beach, but if your seated your view is the wall or palm tree-tops

Mediocre: The room was decorated in Ikea-modern with a queen bed wedged into the wall with no bedside table or anywhere to put your glasses, a book or your iPhone - the pillows were terrible and we didn't get a decent sleep on that bed all week

Good: The room included a refrigerator and kitchen sink
Bad: They didn't supply any utensils, wine glasses or bottle opener - we called down for them to send a wine corkscrew and an apologetic girl arrived to say they only had ONE corkscrew for the entire hotel and she'd have to wait while we opened our wine!!!

Good: The room was clean
Bad: The maid some days gave us washcloths - other days not; some days gave us plastic glasses - other days not; some days soap - other days not (you get the picture)

Good: There was a small continental breakfast available on the roof; there was wireless internet; there were towels for the beach
Bad: All this you are paying for with a MANDITORY resort fee of $18 each day

So the Edgewater, as with the other medium-priced properties, gives you some good but also a load of bad with your stay. Be forewarned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jugendstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron P, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Jugendstrasse;

Thank you for your business and taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Regards,
Ron Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The location is very good, but there are many others that are just as well located, because Ocean Drive is lined up with one restored hotel after another. The room we had was huge, with a sofa, coffee table, dinette set, etc, and it was handsome. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful in sending out and receiving faxes for us. We enjoyed the happy hour a couple of nights, and met an interesting couple from abroad. So there were many pluses. However, some other things I found annoying. Our room faced a small atrium, so although it was quiet, it was very dark. Perhaps the top floor on the atrium would be O.K., but we were down low and just got light from one window at the end by the dinette. A lot of the space was devoted to a kitchen, for which we had no need, since breakfast was provided. The TV was situated so that it faced a large open area in the middle of the room which had no furniture. You couldn't see it from the bed or the sofa, which were at right angles to it, and at a distance. There was no place to put anything in the bathroom, which was a very attractive room, but not at all user-friendly. I had to move a floor lamp to read in bed. I would have preferred a smaller but more functional room with a window facing east, or at least one with some light. We had trouble with reception for our cell phone, and since we had some important business to attend to during our time there, we had to go outside to use it quite a few times. The roof is an inviting breakfast area, and we enjoyed eating up there the first day. Unfortunately there were very high winds the other days, so everything was blowing off the table and it was cold and uncomfortable. There were no trays that I saw, so that one could carry food to ones room. There is no alternative place to eat inside, that I know of, when it is cold and unpleasant outdoors.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron P, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear MarylandGypsy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor Audience.

Best regards,
Ron Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The room was huge relative to other South beach boutique hotels. The view was nothing to speak of but you didn't get the noise of Ocean Drive. Rooms were very quiet. Bathroom was nice sized but you do splash the shower out into the bath if you're not careful. Breakfast on the roof was fun but if you want more than a continental you'll have to go elsewhere. Beach access was a walk across the street and it was very close to Lincoln Mall. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: HIgher floors allow you to see the sky better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgoli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron P, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear jgoli1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor Audience. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Ron Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
553 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Edgewater South Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price range (per night): $174 - $478
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach has earned the status as one of Ocean Drive's most iconic properties offering 49 studios and suites. Within easy walking distance to the best of South Beach, beautiful landscapes are easily discovered. Owners and guests will be immersed in the center of the action of South Beach from the restaurants and galleries of Lincoln Road to the boutique shops and nightclubs of Collins and Washington Avenues to the turquoise waters of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing