We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined French cuisine, with outstanding wine offerings”
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,160 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

As part of a private F&B group I enjoyed a lovely diner especially assembled by Patrick Gruest the owner, but marred by a dated fussiness in his humorless food presentations/wine commentary intros that all-too easily reminded me of haughty Parisian disdain suffered when attempting a good dinner in the French capital.

That said it didn't distract one bit from appreciating the lovely tastes & value delivered foodwise considering the evident good kitchen work with no Chef de Cuisine being in charge .. a most original enterprise that certainly deserves ones appreciation of the line cook's high achievements..
In all, a qualified success.

1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Pied a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting us and the opportunity to enjoy our cuisine.
I am sorry you perceived some disdain in my presentation... no disdain on my part..
But by experience, I know that many American guests have a wrong perception of what is the real French cuisine today...light but very flavorful...The reason I spend time to try to defuse this misconception and give our guests the opportunity to discover what it is about. At the end of the meal they are very satisfied to have discovered what really French Cuisine is about today.
We are looking for your next visit when we probably will feature a new menu, as we are changing our menu 3 times a year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

Our food and wine society was hosted by Patrick and the staff at Pied a Terre, and we could not have asked for a more exquisite evening. We dined outside on the terrace, and each course was paired perfectly with wines of lesser-known varietals and vintages. This is a hard-to-impress group, and everyone commented on how wonderful the experience was from start to finish. Unlike most South Beach restaurants, the focus here is the food and the experience - not the loud background music and frenetic scene. Definitely the finest culinary gem in South Beach, and should not be missed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Successful combination of classic French cuisine with innovative preparation. Dont miss the Bonbon of Foie Gras first time i've ever eaten this delicacy, the seared Foie Gras is perfect, the short rib was mouth watering on mashed potatoes that easily compete with the legendary Robuchon one. Just one of the best Restaurants we've ever been.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lovemalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Pied a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for taking he time to share your experience with us.
We are looking forward for your next visit, an opportunity for us to make you discover new dishes and experiences.
Our menu will change probably in June and we will introduce a separate menu, totally vegan, short but innovative... Your vegan friends will be able to join you to discover Pied a Terre...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

New to Miami and wanting to avoid a crush of tourists or a pretentious scene we sought out Pied a Terre. It was a perfect meal in every way. The restaurant is inside a small boutique hotel, making the space intimate and comfortable. Menu of classic dishes with inventive twists and an emphasis on pristine, carefully sourced ingredients. The service was warm and expert. We were guided in our selections by the owner and host Patrick, who also helped us choose wonderful wines to compliment the food. Our meal was beautifully presented with every bite being utterly delicious. Highlights— Foie sampling of four different preparations, each of which was exquisite. And a truly inspired celery-root dish accented with truffles. It was a wonderful evening that we look forward to having again soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cj530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, General Manager at Pied a Terre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to share your experience.
We, definitively, want to offer a different experience here in Miami far away from the glitz and the noise but all about the cuisine, the wines and a personalized service in a casually elegant atmosphere where you can relax and enjoy the company of your guests.
We are looking forward for your next visit with probably a new menu....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

The pan-seared Foie Gras was incredible. The celery truffle risotto was unlike anything I’ve ever eaten and beyond delicious. The spare ribs were super tender and the mashed potatoes were to die for. Service was outstanding. Wine pairings were delicious. Expect about $200/person all told.

1  Thank Bobbarrenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing