We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Wish they had a real kitchen with a stove-top and oven, but hey, the price and location are excellent. The staff definitely hate their lives (even during my previous December visit & as many reviewers have mentioned), which is usually a direct reflection on poor management or ownership, so big kudos to new girl Gezell who understands what good customer service is with a smile, kindness, & making the extra effort to accomodate guests' requests. While the day-time gal (forget her name - African-American gal) looks intimidating and grumpy, she's definitely experienced, helpful, and knowledgeable holding down the fort on her own. Night-time guy courteous and makes sure the riff-raff don't turn Jazz into a frat-party thank goodness.

Room Tip: 2nd floor much quieter than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

The hostel is what you pay for. The room was pretty hot because the other girls refused to leave the air conditioner on. The one lady in the front desk was honestly extremely rude and unhelpful. She was there when we arrived and left. It's an okay place if you're just there to sleep at night.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Michellé M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

What do I have to say to convince you not to stay here? I will likely never stay on a hostel in the U.S. again because of this experience (maybe an exaggeration, but possible).

The staff are disgustingly obnoxious and rude. It is as if they go out of their way to be unhelpful.

The place was not even slightly social while I was there.

To say it was dirty was an understatement. The sink was coming out of the wall. The A/C was leaking and forming puddles on the floor and the floor was peeling off. The bed was more like a hammock - completely broken and caved in on one side. The toilet wouldn't flush - I had to turn an old toothbrush into a makeshift tool to flush it from within the internal mechanism (they didn't fix it when we told them). The lights were all flickering and going on and off (they replaced a day after we told them).

The breakfast was junk. Overall, the place had such a depressing vibe that it really put a damper on the vacation (and we stayed here not just to save some money but also to experience an American hostel). We almost paid double one night by checking into a hotel, just to get away from this place. This hostel doesn't deserve the one star - it should just be shut down and started fresh again. Spend the extra few dollars and stay in a nice, cheap hotel.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Geebis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

TERRIBLE is the only adjective I can personally give to this Hostel. The staff is extremely rude. They completely don't care about their customers. If you arrive at the breakfast room at 10.01am they WON'T give you pancakes even if they are still cooking them. You won't hear from the staff "goodmorning" , "goodnight" or "how are you?" . Never. Moreover, they don't share the hostel purpose: connect people. If you try to speak with other customers in the hall or even right outside the hostel, the staff will say to you: "Be quite" or "Silence". yes, because they don't want people to chat over 10pm. is it a PRISON? the bathroom in the room was very small and the room was pretty dirty. Everything could have been better if I chose another place where to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Stayed here during the Miami music conference as it seemed like it would be a friendly and cheap place to stay. Staff are very rude- the housekeepers don't even speak English. I'm not the one to write reviews, I work in the industry myself so I can be objective- it was a minging place. The linen wasn't changed for the entire stay (we were there for 6 nights), they never came to clean the bathroom- I went to reception and asked 2 days in a row and in the end a woman came and sprayed the toilet a couple of times. If you are asking me not to place the towels on the floor then have the decency to clean that damn floor. Yellow stains around the toilet, the whole place looked like it could do with a scrub.The mattress was just ridiculous- probably 30 year old. Didn't spend a lot of time sleeping but even as tired as we were we couldn't close an eye. On our last day we were knackered, managed to fall asleep late in the morning which was so nice after so many night with no sleep, only to be woken up by the housekeepers who were shouting and chatting but not cleaning.The housekeepers were actually physically violent towards my friend even after we told them we were going to pay for late check-out. It was just unbelievable, would not stay here again and would definitely not recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianacioarec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden
1 km away
Miami Hostel
Miami Hostel
#30 of 89 in Miami Beach
176 reviews
0.8 km away
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Blue Hostel
Ocean Blue Hostel
#34 of 89 in Miami Beach
303 reviews
0.2 km away
SoBe Hostel
SoBe Hostel
#6 of 89 in Miami Beach
1,367 reviews
1.4 km away
Rock Hostel
Rock Hostel
#3 of 89 in Miami Beach
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on South Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on South Beach Hostel

Address: 321 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6902 (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: $24 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Jazz on South Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Jazz on South Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jazz On South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Jazz On South Beach Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing