We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best restaurants for fish at Ocean Drive”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,168 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 29 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We come here every time we are in Miami Beach. It is one of few serious restaurants at Ocean Drive for food especially if you like fish. We had very tasty lobsters at reasonable price and very nice wine recommended by our waiter. Service was perfect, no tourist trap.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Karel123, It brings us great pleasure welcoming you back and we thank you for being a repeat patron at A Fish Called Avalon. We appreciate your details on the level of service we offer as well as the excellent cuisine here on Ocean Drive. See you again soon for yet another perfect experience. Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Just dined at a Fish Called Avalon. Led by attentive and knowledgeable head waiter Alex,this made for an enjoyable experience. Food was excellent. My chosen cocktail followed by wine were very good. Location on Ocean Drive adds to the occasion. Highly Recommended.

Thank RichardNN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear RichardNN12, We're absolutely grateful for your very kind review and Alex sends his thanks as well. Glad your experience was enjoyable in all areas. Many thanks for your high recommendation, we cant wait to welcome you back. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

The food is to die for. The location on Ocean Dr is prime people watching too if you sit out front and watch the world go bye (entertaining to say the least). The service is impeccable and all the fresh seafood options are so hard to choose from. Saffron seafood risotto was the best I’ve had. Friend said her filet mignon was great too. The seared scallops appetizer and side lobster tail were so delicious! We sat for hours just sipping cocktails while enjoying our meals. A little on the pricey side BUT no complaints and totally worth it.

1  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you Christina, we're elated reading this review with all of the details on the many things you enjoyed while visiting us. Our mission is to provide exemplary services, atmosphere and cuisine for all of our guests and we're truly glad this was your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for another 5-star dining experience! Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Heard Paella was good and it was, made with Orzo instead of rice and it was very good, to excellent.
Plenty for two, or even three.
Cocktails great and good vibe to the restaurant. Good waiter and friendly atmosphere
Decent wine list

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank henryunger2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear henryunger2016, It warms our heart to see your kind review on your recent dining experience. Thanks for your comments on our paella, it's indeed made with orzo here at A Fish Called Avalon and meant to be enjoyed by a few people. We're glad you enjoyed the refreshing cocktails along with the welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Best of regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a dinner where you are NOT going to be blasted by loud Latin music or enticed by 32 oz. margaritas, this Is the place for you. Very refined restaurant, excellent service and delicious seafood. Not your typical Ocean Ave. restaurant.

1  Thank Ojaijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Ojaijim, what a refreshing review! Many thanks for sharing that we are indeed a gem on South Beach offering refined atmosphere, excellent services with delicious seafood. I along with the chef and team are grateful for this kind review. See you the next time you're in town! Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing