We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Replaced By...~ Pine Island Grille & Lounge~”
Review of Saucy Spoon - CLOSED

Saucy Spoon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Central Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Replaced By...~ Pine Island Grille & Lounge~”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

As the curtain is drawn closed on the fate of "Saucy Spoon", a bright new star shines through to reveal a new 'Phoenix Rising' from the waste of the City renovation of North Alexander Street in downtown Mt.Dora.....the Grand Opening of the Pine Island Grille & Lounge. I 'tried' (2x) to file a new business review with TripAdvisor but, recvd. 'no response' so, I will file it here, under the old business address.
By now, most of you have eaten at 'Frog & Monkey Pub', a restaurant I reviewed first, or near first, after many great meals there. Now, owners: Suzy and Eddie, have not only produced a beautiful baby at home but, a new restaurant just around the corner at 'Saucy Spoons' old location. Totally Renovated: It features a gorgeous new Bar and huge Dining Room and, something "Frog & Monkey" never had, a much needed: Wall of Wine. The decor is chic' and clean filled with bright colors and warm woods. We found our favorite Server:"Jacquelin" borrowed from Frog & Monkey to greet us.
You have to be mouse to read the tiny print on the new "Pre-Grand Opening Menu" but, after squinting in the candlelight, I was happy to see a Key West Cajun combination of wonderful entree's to include Shrimp & Grits, Gumbo & Rice, Etouffee of Shrimp, Red Beans & Rice, 3 different Appetizers and five different SANDWICHES from Good Ole Boy Burgers to a Pine Island Grilled Chicken to Pulled Pork and a Grilled Salmon sandwich. Gone are the sky-high prices and lack of wine list at 'Saucy Spoon', replaced with multiple choices like signature salads - five of which parlay the best at Frog & Monkey.
Besides having a baby and opening a restaurant at the very same time, what else could one possibly do to make any harder? Why, how about a MAJOR construction project right at your front door! Eddie and Suzy give 'multi-tasking' new definition! They'll have to suffer for a while till its completed but, you won't - if you have a heart, and a little compassion use the Dora Drawy Alley to access this restaurant, it will be worth the effort. Don't forget to ask for the coke-bottle Mouse Glasses!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“They need to get their service act together”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We live in Mount Dora in the winter and recently went to the Saucy Spoon for the first time this season when my sister was visiting. This place has potential but they need to get their act together! Ordering wine was a comedy of errors. No wine list -- there was one handwritten list that the servers "shared" between them. So first challenge was for our server to get the list -- then she read the choices off (limited I might add). We made our choice -- server disappeared for a long time only to come back and tell us they were out of our choice. So basically there we no good chardonnay bottles left. Sigh. We ended up ordering a bottle of red despite the fact that one of us doesn't drink red wine and settled with an "ok" chardonnay by the glass for the white wine drinker. And all this took a LONG time to resolve. The food was actually quite good albeit high priced, so the place does have potential. But I don't think we'll be going again this year .... we'll try again next season if they're still around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Gone... before The Ides of March has even Passed”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This restaurant started life on Highland Street as a local Catering Company servicing weddings, private parties and corporate gatherings. They were well known and everyone in this small town spoke highly of their personal services and great food. So Good, in fact, they expanded to a -small- Dining Room next to the catering address but, with -hugely- priced entree's. The first time I saw the menu prices, I thought it was a misprint.... Considering the venue: I always have to ask myself; are we going to enjoy a meal MORE if the same entree is priced $8-16 higher than at a competing restaurant? I suppose so, if you're paying for the gorgeous Ambiance, Tastier Food, Better Service, Larger More Efficient Bar, Better Parking, & Personal Attention - you'd probably justify it. But, I never thought you could at this restaurant.
Despite my 'opinion': after about a year, 'Saucy Spoon' then graduated with a big (financial) jump to a deserted restaurant venue in Downtown Mount Dora at 322 No. Alexander St. ~ of a eatery formally called "The Gables". Now, it's yet another year later: Family problems, bad management, staffing problems, a Summer Menu out-of-touch with the Economy?? Not for me to speculate:
Sad really, since the 'Saucy Spoon', like 'The Gables', definitely had it's admirers (Doctor's /Lawyers / No Indian Chiefs). But, in retrospect, you have to ask yourself ... Does this building carry with it..... Bad Mojo ?? Only The God, 'Mars' may know. Before 'The Ides of March' even crossed the calendar......The Saucy Spoon has closed it's doors.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Saucy Spoon - Mt Dora FL”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

What a delightful spur of the moment dinner stop! Salad - the best romaine wedge with blue cheese, bacon, tomato - fresh, crisp and cold. We ordered Lobster Truffle Mac-n-Cheese and Mediterranean Chicken for our entrees - The chicken breast was large, cooked perfectly and presented on a bed of lovely veggies and lots of olives. the Lobster Mac and Cheese was quite the surprise as I was expecting the lobster to be diced in the pasta and cheese - but instead served with the entire lobster tail on top of the pasta! Wonderful presentation and fantastic flavors of cheeses in this bubbly hot entree.
Service was nice - although we were left wondering about our server Chris. He came to apologize twice about our entrees taking so long - lobster up first, chicken took longer - he sent lobster back ...it was fine, we were not in a hurry and appreciate his updates. After serving us, we never saw him again - we had another very attentive server and that was fine, but what happened to Chris?
The Saucy Spoon also has a nice bread bar - fresh bread, olive oil, balsamic, spices - liked this feature very much

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Friendly service and a much more complex menu that I'd have expected in this small town. A very good meal!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saucy Spoon also viewed

Mount Dora, Lake County
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 
Mount Dora, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing