We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Naples Historical Society's Historic Palm Cottage
Save
  
Ways to Experience Naples Historical Society's Historic Palm Cottage
from US$69.00
More Info
from US$69.00
More Info
from US$67.70
More Info
from US$69.00
More Info
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
287
51
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
51
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour early days early history house tour tour guide was knowledgeable back in the day interesting history great tour two hours rainy day oldest founding stories video florida architecture development
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our Old Naples/Palm Cottage walking tour. Our guide, Julianne Grace, was knowledgeable, personable, and entertaining. The fascinating history of Old Naples came alive for us as we wound around these streets. We are grateful for those who have preserved the ambiance of the 3rd Street South shopping and dining area and for those who have lovingly preserved the historical integrity of these early cottages. Well done.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank DCandVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricalFigure1895, Manager at Naples Historical Society's Historic Palm Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

We are so happy you enjoyed your walking tour and step back in time!
All of our volunteers are greatly appreciated for the time they donate to the Society. We will be sure to let Julianne know that you enjoyed your time with her on the Walking Tour! Be sure to tell your friends and family to stop in and visit us at Historic Palm Cottage, The Portal to Naples History!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2020

We toured the Palm Cottage on a rainy day. It is a beautiful home and we learned some of the Naples history. Well done tour!

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank karenbM5890HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricalFigure1895, Manager at Naples Historical Society's Historic Palm Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit!
We hope to see you again soon at The Portal to Naples History, Historic Palm Cottage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour of old Naples despite light rain. John was a knowledgeable guide and such a pleasure to walk with. Discovered so much about what early days of Naples were like, and of the flora and fauna too. As an “old Yankee” from CT it’s difficult to think 100 years is old but here it is!

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank B3063FGsusanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianO2370, Manager at Naples Historical Society's Historic Palm Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent walking tour. Our staff/volunteers do such a wonderful job for us as greeters and docents at Palm Cottage. I will be sure to let John know you enjoyed your time with him. Be sure to tell your friends and family to stop in and visit us at Historic Palm Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2020

The Naples Historical Society is a non profit that was formed in 1962 to preserve the history of Naples for "future generations to enjoy". The Naples Historical Society is also the steward of the Naples Historical Society Foundation, Inc. which raises funds for historical preservation.

The headquarters of the Naples Historical Society is the Historic Palm Cottage which is the oldest house in Naples. The 3,500 sq ft house was built in 1895 to be used as a summer cottage by Walter N. Haldeman, the owner and editor of the Louisville, Kentucky Courier Journal and Times. The house has now been turned into a museum. On May 24, 1982, Palm Cottage was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places. Tours are given of the house and educational programs are staged there. The Naples Historical Society purchased the 1/2 acre lot next to the house and turned it into a cottage garden that can be rented for events. Administration and archives is held at another historic property, a house built in 1910 that is a half block from Palm Cottage.

Some of the programs the Naples Historical Society implements are the Naples History Tours, Christmas at Palm Cottage, Garden Side Chickee Chats, fund raising events, and guest speakers. Palm Cottage is currently closed due to the pandemic but I still enjoyed paying it a visit. I had to make my own history tour but I look forward to coming back to take the Naples Historical Society's downtown history tour that includes the cottage. Anyone who is interested in history will want to avail themselves of the excellent programs provided by the historical society.

Date of experience: April 2020
Thank Arielfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianO2370, Manager at Naples Historical Society's Historic Palm Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful recap of the Society's work. You did an excellent job, and I'm sorry we were closed when you came to visit Historic Palm Cottage. Know we look forward to seeing you next season. If you haven't signed up for the Society's Cottage Briefs (our e-newsletter), please do because we've introduced a new product for these trying times called The Society Sage. It contains productive exercises for children and fabulous reading material for people of all ages.

That link is:
https://visitor.r20.constantcontact.com/manage/optin?v=001PwvH1XjSNdcfzT76J3WBlhcBAhAzoMn-jIJaatglrG5FSNnJQOhF2iv2oGs8_cb9Ow8DatMrHPC6vZEUvFRdlu4Lb9KLRNkZ5OqHdRuqrKOne57ZkWuu3qvoh-jV-xITuvawwidACx0SpfE20Q6weUKHmp6OV36fe_NnwGiJMK4AZV-MsTQPW65H0pCjcc09


Thank you, again, for your support of our work, and stay safe and healthy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2020

We had just parked and were on our way to visit the Pier when we "bumped" into the sign and entrance to the Palm Cottage and just decided to go in. As luck would have it, a tour was about to start in a few minutes. We quickly bought tickets ($6.50 each) and began what turned out to be an amazing tour.
The volunteer tour guide was both knowledgeable and lively. The origin and changes that this house underwent with all its furnishings and decorations are a fantastic introduction to the history and development of Naples.
The Norris Gardens are a more recent addition to the site and complement well the Palm Cottage.
This is a must for any visit to Naples.

Date of experience: March 2020
18  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianO2370, Manager at Naples Historical Society's Historic Palm Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Thank you for such a wonderful review. Or volunteer docents, and greeters, take great pride in their knowledge of the history of Naples, and Historic Palm Cottage. Be sure to tell your family and friends to stop by Historic Palm Cottage for a tour of their own the next time they are in town or visiting Naples pier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews