We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
FindHotel
US$241
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$259
US$235
View deal
SAVE US$24
Destinia.com
US$257
View deal
Lol.travelUS$259
Trip.com
Expedia.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,345)
Filter reviews
4,345 results
Traveller rating
2,062
1,118
626
310
229
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,062
1,118
626
310
229
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset beach tennis villas golf cart scoops and slices the north end bayside villas main pool bubble room mucky duck doc fords ships store harbourside restaurant scavenger hunt trolley service green flash bar grill bedroom villa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 4,345 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

Long Review

A beautiful resort with serious country club vibes. If that’s what you’re into, then this is a 10/10 place for you. However, if your suitcase isn’t chock full of Vineyard Vines tees and golf attire, you may not fit in. Just saying. We got a lot of strange looks from other guests and employees. I guess spending thousands of dollars a night doesn’t matter unless you look the part here? Also... you have to wear neon yellow wrist bands for the duration of your stay. Felt like we were at the state fair, not spending thousands at a resort.

As far as the lodging, our suite was nice and had a gorgeous view of the sunrise over the ocean. No microwave, but did have a mini fridge. A bit overpriced. We’ve had nicer rooms with more amenities at 5 star hotels for less money. That’s okay.

Restaurants:
-there is no room service, which was a pretty big bummer, so for breakfast our options were granola bars, or drive to the Starbucks to wait in line for 30 mins for a breakfast sandwich.

-the beach bar and food shack was 10/10. That Caesar salad was so good we ordered it every day for lunch. Ordered fish tacos one day and they were cold right out of the box. The bar tenders there were super quick and made delicious, strong drinks. Thanks guys.

-Harbor Side grill: we had reservations for Friday night (our anniversary) here and while it was a nice meal and our server Danielle was great, the food was okay for the price and our appetizers were cold. She had them bring us new appetizers which we appreciated, but they came at the same time as our entrees so we had to eat pretty fast so our entrees didn’t get cold too.

-Harbor side bar
The guy at the bar (Drew?) was honestly weird and he seemed to add whatever he felt like to the drink recipes. Ordered the espresso martini and they didn’t have one of the main ingredients Kaluha. Espresso martini was undrinkable so I ordered the key lime pie martini instead. He started adding other ingredients to my drink that wasn’t on the menu description, and they didn’t even have some of the ingredients to make the recipe. All around it was a weird interaction and I could barely drink it lol. He said his manager didn’t tell him they had run out of multiple ingredients and haven’t stocked them. My suggestion is: if you don’t have the ingredients for the three dessert drinks on your menu, just take dessert drinks off the menu. It was awkward.

Last thing I’ll say... we were at the beach and sleeping on our loungers. An employee parked a gas golf cart next to our chairs and literally woke us up from the fumes, the exhaust was 2 feet from my face. When we asked him to turn off the engine or move he gave us a dirty look and said “I was about to move” ok why don’t you stick your face in front of the exhaust for five minutes then. It was weird and rude. Nobody wants exhaust in their face. Aaron helped us our last day on the beach and he was awesome.

Anyway overall this place was awesome and I know that was a long review but I’d say a solid 7/10. The resort is gorgeous and you’re not going to find anything else on Captiva like it. Most of the staff are jerks though, which is weird because we’re the ones paying their paychecks?? Next time we come back we’ll be sure to pack our Ralph Lauren polos, maybe we’ll have a better experience.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank abrr1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P, Other at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear abrr1108,

Happy Anniversary once again and thank you for allowing us to serve as the host for your romantic retreat. We appreciate you sharing your thorough and thoughtful review and we will be sure to let Aaron and Danielle know that their efforts and genuine hospitality left a lasting impression. While we are delighted to learn that two of our colleagues stood apart, we are sorry to learn that other interactions were not consistent, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your feedback will serve as topics of conversation in our ongoing team coaching and while we appreciate this does not change your experience, we hope you take some comfort in knowing that your concerns have been heard and our leadership team will be working to ensure that others are not provided a similar experience.

We appreciate your added details, and we look forward to ensuring you and yours feel totally welcome the next time you join us. If I may offer my personal assistance in planning your return, I invite you to be in touch. Until then, we wish you both endless years of health, happiness, and love.

Warm regards,

Shawn Farrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Disappointed overall at the value. Our unit was old and need paint. We made the mistake of renting a golf cart which cost us more than our rental car. They charged us for an extra day than we used even though they weren't open when we arrived. They didn't seem to care that they charged us almost $200 per day for a golf cart.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bencF6064IB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P, Other at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear bencF6064IB,

Welcoming you to Captiva brought out team great joy though we are sorry to learn that your visit fell short of expectation. We understand that the experience with your golf-car rental reflects on your overall Captiva visit, and we will share your valuable feedback with our partners with the rental agency.

On behalf of all of us, it was a joy to serve as your host and we look forward to you finding more to love on the island the next time you join us. Until then.

Warm regards,

Shawn Farrell
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

We had such high expectations for South Seas, as it was highly recommended. It started off bad when we showed up 30 min after check-in time (4:30pm) and were told our room was not ready and we were not given a time to expect - just wait and we will call you when ready. After waiting 90 min in our car, we received a call that our room was ready. Not good after a full day of travel. Ironically, on our check-out day, the housekeeping crew knocked on our door at 9:30am and asked if we were ready to check out yet, before check out time!

Room was OK, but not really up par with $1,000/night resorts we have stayed at. Tried to call front desk for help and phone would ring over 7 minutes before there was an answer. Was in the registration office 3 times during our visit and every time there was a line at least 3 -5 groups long at the desk, with one person working and about 4+ employees hanging around the concierge desk not helping the front desk worker or guests at all. Again, something I have never seen at this level resort.

Ocean front rooms are extremely loud. The bedroom is situated on the exterior hallway, where neighbors can be heard coming and going like they are in your room. Children and teenagers in almost every room around us that would slam doors and be in the hallways talking until 1am every night of our stay. Just not a pleasant experience.

If you are a couple looking for a get away, you should skip South Seas and hit a resort that will be quiet and cater to adults and not children.

On the plus side, Harbourside was excellent and should not be missed - you can stay elsewhere and still dine there. Mad Hatter is still best in the area.

Room tip: Couples stay away from Ocean Front Rooms - really loud
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rojoeinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P, Other at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear rojoeinnc,

It was a pleasure to serve as your beach-side host and we thank you for joining us. The comments shared within your review are received with our full appreciation and we regret that your visit was not better enjoyed. While our resort is an ideal retreat for creating family memories, we pride ourselves on offering an environment perfect for a romantic get-away as well and we are sorry to learn that outside noises seeped into your room.

We must also apologize for the delay in having you settled in and we hope you take comfort in knowing that our South Seas Housekeeping team was taking every effort to ensure each of the rooms had been properly cleaned and sanitized. We appreciate the added comments regarding the knock on your door the day of departure, a matter we will be reviewing with our team.

On behalf of all of us, including our talented team at Harbourside, the pleasure was ours and we look forward to winning your heart with a more flawless experience the next time we see you.

Best regards,

Shawn Farrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

I read many reviews prior to going and can say many are spot on. We arrived at 4:30pm and our room was not ready. We had to wait additional 45 minutes for housekeeping to get our room cleaned (check in is 4:00pm). The hotel rooms would be rated okay at Harbour Side however the last night there was 20 mph winds and our door sounded like we were experiencing hurricane force winds as the door was constantly pounding with a loud whistling ALL NIGHT. I too k a video as it provided a good laugh for our friends we met up with at the Sanibel Marriott the next day. The resort fee ($45 per day) is crazy expensive as you don't even get housekeeping during your stay, you pay $7-$8 per beer, $15 a drink at pool tiki bar. I'm sure the manager will say that you get many amenities but when we went to the beach all the chairs and umbrellas were taken, at the pool people came down early and placed towels and other items on chairs to save them. At one point, some of the best 6 chairs around the pool were being saved past noon with no one using them.. We called and left 2 messages with the golf course and never have received a phone call back, so much for our green fees covered under resort fee!!! On the bright side, we did meet some nice people, the marina was filled with beautiful boats.

Room tip: Avoid Room 1808 if there is any wind, no door seal and loud whistling wind comes through.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank godin22772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P, Other at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear godin22772,

A warm hello to you and yours and thank you for spending some time with us. The details of your review leave us concerned and we hope you can accept our apologies. While our Resort Fee includes access to our pools, our outdoor activities such as kayaks, tennis courts and waterslides, and the trolley which services our 300+ acres, we are sorry to learn that these amenities were not better introduced upon your arrival. Your added comments regarding the saving of chairs leaves us concerned and while we appreciate this does not change your experience, we hope you take comfort in knowing that we will be coaching our attendants through this process so that we can ensure everyone has a chance to enjoy a few hours by the pool. We appreciate your added feedback, comments which will be used to ensure we are doing all that we can to further elevate the overall resort experience.

We would be humbled to one day welcome you again as we would love nothing more than a chance to provide a more enchanting South Seas experience. If I can assist in planning a more cherished return, I invite you to be in touch.

Warm regards,

Shawn Farrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

We expected to pay a high price point for an Ocean Villa in March. We were not expecting a room with highly worn, outdated furniture, a grungy rug in the living room and grungy carpeting in the bedroom. It was a bare bones kitchen. The paint was peeling in the bathroom and the bathroom cabinets were broken and unusable The hot water heater sprung a leak one evening and we had to use the bathroom towels to clean up the small flood. We had no hot water till the next afternoon. A (very nice) plumber was in the room for several hours. It was completely disappointing and unacceptable. No pride of ownership in this villa. We enjoyed the beach but took no pleasure in coming back to the room. The maintenance staff was nice and the manager discounted our stay. However, their accommodations, did not offset the poor physical condition of the room and structure. We left 2 days early. Resort really needs to have higher, updated standards for these rooms. Would not return to the villas.

Room tip: When making the reservation I asked for an updated room. You have no choice.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jeffreygG1111XG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P, Other at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear jeffreygG1111XG,

Greetings from Captiva. It was a pleasure to serve as the host of your tropical retreat and we thank you for sharing valuable information regarding your stay. As you may already know, many of our villas are individually owned and with that comes a variety of décor and furnishings. We regret if your suite fell short of expectation and we will be sure to let the owners know of the impressions left by the in-room furnishings. We apologize for the disappointment, and we regret that repairs were needed during your stay.

We thank you for taking the time to speak with us in person and when you next join us, we encourage you to explore some of our other accommodation options which may create a more enchanting island get-away. If we can assist in planning your return, we invite you to be in touch.

Warm regards,

Shawn Farrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews