We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$169
Hotels.comUS$169
PricelineUS$169
eDreamsUS$169
TravelocityUS$169
CheapTicketsUS$169
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
63
42
22
15
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
63
42
22
15
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the double tree hotel window blinds tiki bars gulf side heated pool watch tv hear everything sitting area located close older hotel treasure island coffee maker housekeeping staff family vacation pete beach doubletree countertop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

Couldnt ask for a better location. Staff was very friendly and accomidating. Much older hotel than we are used to. Still using actual keys for entry. Elevator only fits about three people. Didn't have bedding for pull out bed, unfortunately we didn't realize this until 3 a.m. Room was ok but not with $250 a night in April.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Scottmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Office Sandalwood, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandalwood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for your feed back and nice comments about our staff. At the end of day, it is all about having a good time. Sandalwood is a little hidden gem right on the beach . We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future. I'm sorry about you not having everything in room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021

We had a confirmed and paid for reservation and they canceled 4 days prior. We have nowhere to stay. Everything is booked. It was over email so I just noticed it - almost overlooked. Incredibly unprofessional. It was their fault not ours! Unbelievable.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MidwestTravelor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Office Sandalwood, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandalwood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2021

We only cancel reservations if their is not a way to secure it, such as a VALID credit card. We try to call you ahead or e-mail the party in advance to correct the situation at hand. If we do not hear back from you in a timely manner, your reservation will be cancelled. It is our policy to charge one nights stay as a security deposit, or to hold your reservation which is deducted from the total amount owed the day you arrive. If you have any questions about our cancellation policies, please feel free to contact our resort directly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

The room we had was looking out over the pool/courtyard, which left much to be desired. The lights are on full brightness all night, and no room darkening curtains...so no sleep.

Renovations look like they were done by a drunken toddler. See pics.

No hot water (or even lukewarm) in bathroom sink; so I washed my face over the side of the tub.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kdonlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Office Sandalwood, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandalwood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2021

We are sorry that you were disappointed on your stay with us. Management has addressed all of your above concerns in a professional matter. Hopefully one day in the future you will give us another try. Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to let us know how we are doing so we can fix our down falls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

This property was awesome !!!!! The front desk staff and all employees we encountered were kind, courteous and helpful with our first time stay on the gulf side of Florida .... the resort is right on the beach , walk out the front of the property and you are on the white sands !!!!! Location location location!!!! The resort has a heated pool which was great to dip into after jumping in the gulf waters .. our room was perfect for our stay. The property is located close to dining, convenience stores and a new Dunkin donut is one block away .. I highly recommend this property to anyone visiting this area .

Date of stay: January 2021
1  Thank Livetoleave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Office Sandalwood, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandalwood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2021

Thank you for your stellar review of our property and staff. Every one on our staff takes great pride in their work and we are glad it reflects well on our resort. Right on the beach, simple and sweet is the best description of our property. If the surf is to cold to go in, our pool is heated to 86 degrees, so their is always some fun to be had. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to your return. Thanks again for taking the time to write a nice review of our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020

We just finished a nine night stay here. We had a gulf view, 3rd floor, two bedroom suite. The view over the public beach outside our two patio doors was awesome. Even saw some dolphins swim by! Sunsets were incredible. Also, the A/C worked great! Other pros: The room was recently remodeled, the beds were comfortable, and the kitchenette met our needs. The location is close to shopping and great food. There is a lounge area on the first floor along the beach that was breezy and comfortable. Though we didn't use the pool, it was clean and well maintained.
There were a few cons: The number one thing we disliked was the layout of our room. The "master suite" with the king bed was a bedroom with no windows. We specifically look for a king bed when booking rooms, but didn't really get to enjoy that on this trip, as listening to the waves a night outweighed our desire for true comfort most nights. No housekeeping, but there is so much sand,they need to provide brooms. The walls are very thin, so you can hear everything. Most of the front desk staff was very stand-offish, including the manager. We wish smoking wasn't allowed on decks - as non smokers surrounded by people smoking both cigarettes and weed, it wasn't the most pleasant thing a few nights.
One last positive, and it's a big one.... Brian at the front desk is one of this place's best assets. He's awesome! Our whole stay he was very friendly and personable. We were there during Tropical Storm Eta, and Brian made sure we were taken care of and safe. He made sure we knew how to reach him if we needed anything during the night.
Overall, we would highly recommend the Sandalwood Beach Resort. we can't wait to go back!

Room tip: I think all of the beach front rooms have been remodeled. First floor lacks privacy, but more social if you like that.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanyadP1180MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Office Sandalwood, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandalwood Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2020

Thank you for the stellar review of our little gem on the beach. We do have a couple things in our favor. One being location, location location - you are right on the beach. The second thing is a grade "A" staff that actually care about the guest and the guest experience. Again thank you for the nice words and recognition of one of our employees. We cannot wait for your return and we will see you in the near future.

The Sandalwood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews