We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #37 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We took our 9 year old to Hard Rock Universal for his Birthday. We reseved the Kids Suite as his best friend was coming to surprise him. The hotel surprized us with a birthday treat from room service including cake (with candles) and ice cream, a free in-room movie and popcorn. It was quite special. Both nights they had a "Dive In Movie" showing at the (Harry Potter) and the children loved it. We took advantage of the early entry to the Harry Potter section of the Park and that was definately worth it as an hour later, the lines were quite long and we had walked on to all with no or minimal wait. We chose to stay at the hotel on Sunday morning instead of going to the Park and had the pool practically to ourselves. No lines at the slide. The experience was 5 star and we will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWLJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,549 - 7,553 of 9,289 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

For the most part our experience was wonderful. We stayed on the Club floor and had access to the Club room which served breakfast, snacks, cocktails and a late night sweet. So most of the day you can find something to eat. It was well worth it, not only did it provide a meeting place for our group it also provided so quick snacks when you didn't want to spend a lot of time eating a big meal.

The hotel was located within walking distance to Universal Studios park, which was our main reason for visiting. Everything was very convenient and accessible.

The pool was lovely and the pool bar was very relaxing and convenient.

My only complaint is that we are a family of 5 and had tried to get a suite and none were available on the club floor, that was fine but when we checked in we came to find that a smaller family in our group was given a larger room with a pull out couch and we were given a standard room where they then had to move chairs out and pull in a cot that they wanted to charge us for. I thought that was very poor planning or lack of planning on their part. When I asked for a larger room they said they were all full and offered to waive the cot fee...seriously...you shouldn't be charging for that anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riri13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed in a Kids Suite at the Hard Rock Hotel for a week this summer, and we loved everything about our stay. The room was perfect for our family of 4. Our girls loved not only having their own room, but not having to share a bed with each other (they each had a twin bed). They also loved the pool slide. While others have complained about noise, we didn't notice any noise. The location cannot be beat - a short 5 minute walk to Universal Studios and CityWalk. And having front of the line passes for Universal was awesome. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My family has now stayed club level at all three on site hotels. Each year we stayed in October.
FOOD: Club food at the Portifino was far and away better than the other two resorts. Club was well worth the price, with both breakfeast and 5:00 food being of high quality. Dinner was beef, chicken skewers, and antipastas. Late night sweats were actual desserts. We never had to eat anywhere else. Royal Pacific had a great breakfeast, but the nighttime food was questionable. Had creative looking asian "casseroles" that our kids wouldn't touch. Cookies and milk at night. Hard Rock had lower quality breakfeast, and nighttime food was little more than chicken wings, egg rolls, or chicken dumplings. Cookies and milk at night. Hard Rock was way overcrowded, and we always had to wait in line.
CLUB LEVEL ROOM: Our favorite was the Royal Pacific. Was never crowded or loud, and we used it much like a living room. Wej ust hung out in there reading..internet surfing, or watching the big screen tvs. It was really an extention of your hotel room. Portifino's club room was large, but a litte sterile. Hard Rock's club room was way too small, always crowded, and music was too loud to do anything but eat..
CLUB LEVEL FLOOR: Royal Pacific and Hard Rock were about the same, and, well, Portifino didn't have one. At the Royal Pacific, it never seemed crowded, and you did feel like you were on a private floor. Hard Rock seemed to always be crowded and cramped. Also, noticed a lot of people walking around the floor that didn't seem to be staying on the floor.


Overall, Royal Pacific had the best club level experience. If we stayed at the Portifino again, we would pay the extra money for the club level. With the Hard Rock, we thought we wasted our money on the club level, and would have been better off stopping a Wal-greens and stocking our room with pop tarts, chips, and Coke.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytravelor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Excellent room and services. Enjoyed the early access to Universal as well as getting to the front of the line at most Universal rides - can't fault it! Thanks for a super stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,529 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,678 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $384 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing