We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, but the location was terrible for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Ranked #37 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Could be anywhere
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but the location was terrible for me”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The hotel is great, typical Homewood Suites quality which is great. The issues I had were exterior to the hotel itself. Unless you intend to stay right in "Vacationer central" don't go to this location. The traffic, particularly in the evening, is horrid. Also, the restaurant prices in the area are outrageous, and there are very few franchise restaurants within walking distance where you can get a regularly priced meal. Expect every dinner to be $25 per person or considerably more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    733
    228
    82
    55
See reviews for
1,471
525
65
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our third time staying here (we stayed from the 18th January till the 8th of February) and yet again this hotel was a brilliant base.
From the minute you walk into reception with the very friendly staff (always got a good morning or welcome home greeting) to the lovely clean and spacious rooms (i seriously need to get some of your pillows!!!) the place can't be faulted.
Breakfast-although very similar most days is good and fills a gap, we didn't try the managers evening reception (Monday to thursday) but it smelt good when we walked past.
It's in a brilliant location with loads of good restaurants around and i-ride & lynx stops just a 5 minute walk away.
We've stayed at this hotel 3 years in a row & even though we won't be back to Florida until (hopefully)my 40th birthday in November 2013 we will definitely be staying here.
Thank you to all the staff there who do an amazing job and made our stay the best it can be.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces away from the pool and have the wall aircon units not the window ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank st2826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our main objective was a great price, ease of travel to Disney and Universal Studios, and space for two adults and one child; this location fulfilled every wish. We had our own bedroom and our daughter was able to sleep on the sofa bed in the "living room" area. This gave us the privacy we wanted and she was able to get a good nights rest after very busy days at the amusement parks. This location also provided a free breakfast every morning, the menu included waffles, cereal, eggs, bagels, and sometimes sausage. This was a nice way to load up before the hectic days ahead. The shuttle to Disney was very easy but keep in mind, it brings you to Epcot Center and then you must get on a monorail to Magic Kingdom; this is quite simple to navigate. The shuttle to Universal Studios brought us right to the park. Pace yourselves at the parks so you are sure you can get your shuttle back to the hotel. What was also nice about this location was it was on a very busy strip with a large variety of restaurants to choose from. All in all for the price of $119 a night, this hotel delivered in every way.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paris1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We got a great price on this hotel through alpharooms paying only £23pppn for a king suite. Our room was located on the fourth floor overlooking the pool and was immaculate for the duration of our 14 night stay. The location of the property is ideal for those who don't have a car as everything on I-drive is within walking distance. The free Disney and Universal shuttles were also a big bonus, picking up and dropping off at the hotel at a range of times throughout the day. Breakfast was great, choices of cereal, waffles, fruit, bacon & eggs etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful - always saying hello as we traipsed through reception after a long day out. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and it will be my first choice accommodation on my next visit to Orlando.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Healsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My partner, 9 yr old daugher and I stayed at the homewood on i-drive at the beginning of November for 14 nights.

Location is excellent, just set back a little from i-drive, only a few minutes walk. This is in a fab area, nice part of i-drive with plenty choice of restaurants and entertainment right on the door step. This includes many chains such as Bahama Breeze, Denny's, Millers Ale House (fab!) plus many others. Also close to Pointe Orlando shopping area which offers some lovely restaurants and cool shops as well as a cinema and bars. Being on i-drive means there are plenty of options for transportation if not driving such as lynx bus, i-trolley or the free hotel shuttle to all the theme parks.

Suites are well appointed, clean and comfortable, basically everything you need for a relaxing stay. The beds are huge, and pillows are the best I have ever slept on, just wish I could bring one home! The kitchenette has a full size fridge,microwave, hob, dishwasher and coffee machine, making it possible to whip up lunch, snacks or meals if you are beat from the parks.

The hotel offers a lovely breakfast each morning, items vary but generally include some type of sausage or bacon, cereal, toast, eggs, oatmeal, waffles, donuts, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice etc. Its great way to fill up for the day and keep food costs down. They also offer a managers reception mon - thurs from 5pm until approximately 7pm, where items such as hotdogs or jacket potato as well as free wines, beers and soft drinks are available free of charge.

Staff are friendly and helpful and always there to offer assistance. I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 week stay and was sad to leave this wonderful hotel. I have stayed in many hotels in Orlando including Disney hotels, but this outshines them all. Should I return to Orlando this hotel will definately be my first choice.





The hotel offers breakfast each morning which sets

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allie-Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center

Property: Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Address: 8745 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-9318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): $138 - $386
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/ Hotel Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Orlando Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites International Drive
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing