We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space for business and pleasure, just noisy! Must set air conditoner at 72”
Review of Vista Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed at 4816 Cayview Dr. #303, 7/18-23, 4 adults and 2 children. Truly, the condo can sleep 8. There was a pull out couch available which we did not use. Newer carpet and the resort appears very pet friendly. We did not have any but dogs, dogs everywhere. (I am allergic) It was a very spacious condo. Furniture can tell it has been used for a while including the headboard and sheets in the master bedroom. You must set the thermostat to no lower than 72 per the sign posted. May I suggest celing fans in the rooms to offset this inconvience. Pools are small for the size of property.
There was noise on Friday and Saturday night from neighbors.
Yes, I called security on both nights. It is on record. When we checked out, the front desk attendant stated. "The police was called but never arrived. We received several complaints about them. The noise went on until 4:45 am! Sorry, that properity not owned by us." That seems to be the excuse for several things. However, when I paid my money of $1,345. with my AAA discount, it may have came from my two jobs or two banks but no excuses when I paid my bill! Just own up to the service Vista Cay!

Room Tip: Do the upgrade to the room pictured in the ad for the condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dee-Roe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

To be clear, Vista Cay by Millenium is not the only management company at the resort. Although the front desk is operated by Millenium Management, we can only handle the units that are represented by us. The manager on duty summoned the resort's security as well as the management company for the noisy condo. Security was not able to quiet the guests and the police were then called. Unfortunately neither the other management company or the police responded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

This site is large and split into 2 parts, the main portion having the clubhouse area bar etc. The other part of the site ( Lake Cay Commons ) is across a road which is currently under construction. We did not mind being away from the other amenities as this area had its own pool and spa tub which was less busy. However the road construction resulted in early mornings due to the noise as our apartment faced the new road. This will become worse as this road (Destination Parkway) looks like it will eventually link the Kissimee area with International Drive, resulting in major traffic outside of the window approx 30m away. On the subject of noise there was a bank of air conditioning condensing units directly below our room which were the most noisy I have ever experienced. Fortunately we always have earplugs with us as I like my sleep! The grounds themselves are very well kept and pretty as is the walk around the lake.
I had noticed before we left that there were a handful of reviews that didn't match up with the majority. I assumed this was because vista cay appears to have some properties privately rented and others rented via millenium management company. We booked a Millenium property. On entering the apartment - building 4126, room 307, it is well laid out and roomy. However there was musty smell. Being Florida and having visited a number of times we realise this sometimes happens due to the torrential rains and once aired off, usually dissipates. This was obviously a more serious problem and became apparent that despite purchasing a room air freshener
and opening the door regularly, the smell did not go and in fact after 2 weeks left some of our clothes with its smell. On closer inspection the standard of the room maintenance and cleaning was way below what is expected. There was still dust on most surfaces and the doors had grubby fingerprints all over them. The room was desperately in need of a deep clean. It appeared that cleaning had consisted of the bathroom and changing bedding and towels. The towels were fine and pool towels were included, but the standard of the bedding was appalling. The sheets were thin and bobbled all over, the pillows were cheap and uncomfortable and the worst bit...a duvet over the sheets with no cover which was all stained and grubby!
As you can see from the photos there were a number of things that were not up to scratch. The pedal bin was also broken although this was more an irritation than a major problem. So why not complain and have the suite changed? Well, the problems really would only have been solved by a thorough deep clean or change of apartment and to be honest when I am on holiday I dont want to be stressing and losing my precious time by sorting out stuff like this out, especially as we were all unpacked by the time we realised most of the issues. Needless to say, the grubby duvet did not come into contact with me! I have never come across duvets being used like this before and to be honest I was a bit shocked, is this normal in Florida?
The fact that we heard another lady complaining about the same type of problems and having difficulty getting to speak to a manager for 2 days, confirmed my view that I would just 'get on with it' and enjoy my holiday.
Its apparent to me that some of the apartments are obviously well below what should be expected in this type of resort and we were unlucky enough to get one of them!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank andreat461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Although we cannot control the road construction outside the resort we certainly can address the cleaning issues you found in your unit. Beginning last Sunday, we started our annual deep cleaning program by taking a few units at a time out of inventory and thoroughly cleaning them followed by a systematic inspection by our maintenance department. This program will take several weeks to complete and will insure that all of our inventory is in top notch condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We (wife, 16 YO son & Myself) arrived after 4pm to be told the room was still being cleaned and were given 3 drinks vouchers for the pool bar while we waited. However, we didn't use them as we were swiftly informed the room was ready. We arrived in the room to an awful smell and disappointed the "cleaning" hadn't been thorough. The problems were minor but still disappointing. We didn't complain to the management as "we're on our holiday" and didn't want to waste precious time back and forth to reception.
The resort is split and there is a road to cross, currently under further development - and starting work around 06:30 - if you are staying on the Vista Cay Commons site. The grounds and layout of this resort are wonderful. As I'd said split between the reception site with larger pool, gym, large pool and shop and the Commons site with smaller pool and closer to the small shopping area - take away mainly and a supermarket.
There was another family who seemed to experience similar but far worse issues so, we weren't an isolated case.
The staff we encountered were friendly enough, there was ample parking and the location on Universal Boulevard was great for us with easy access to International Drive, Sea World, Aquatica and main roads.

Room Tip: We booked through Booking.Com and the supplier was Millenium. there are several "timeshare"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

It is unfortunate that you didn't let reception know that you were disappointed. As evidenced in other reviews, Millenium Management has staff on duty 24/7 ready to help immediately. We hope that you will come back again to ive us another try. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Just got back from a lovely stay at Vista Cay. Big 2 bedroom condo. 2 bathrooms, kitchen, dining area, living area plus a snug area. Laundry room and a verandah. The location was perfect for all theme parks, shopping malls, i-360, international drive and supermarkets. You can walk to the nypd pizza and Beth's burger bar ...highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for executive apartment to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank hearn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and recommendation for Vista Cay by Millenium. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned home from a two week visit to at Vista Cay. We visited the same resort 4 years ago and this visit was even better than the last. The accommodation was amazing. Extremely spacious with all the facilities any family would need. I informed the hotel that we were returning to the resort and they certainly looked after us. The accommodation includes bath and pool towels which allows you more space for other essentials in your luggage. The pool and bar facilities were perfect and ALL staff at the resort were extremely friendly and helpful especially staff on the reception desk. I cannot fault this resort and it's close to all the theme parks and international drive. We certainly will return to this resort for our next visit to Orlando ..... I cannot imagine a resort that would look after it's guests any better xx

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank zukidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie328, Manager at Vista Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

What a great review of Vista Cay by Millenium! We cannot thank you enough for the praise and will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
5.5 km away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
5.6 km away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#21 of 340 in Orlando
8,251 reviews
8.1 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,273 reviews
3.3 km away
The Point Hotel & Suites
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 340 in Orlando
4,804 reviews
2.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 340 in Orlando
5,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Cay

Address: 4874 Cayview Ave, Orlando, FL 32819-8700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $209 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Cay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront luxury condominium vacation resort located in the heart of the attractions and entertainment district on International Drive and Universal Blvd. Featuring beautifully appointed 2 & 3 bedroom / 2 bath condo-suites and 3 bedroom 3.5 bath town homes. Located only 3 miles from Universal Studios, 1 mile from Sea World and 0.25 from the Orange County Convention Center. Close to world class shopping, dining & entertainment. Amenities feature FREE Wi-FI, free parking, free local and long distance phone calls (domestic including Canada & Puerto Rico), in-room safes, business center, loyalty guest program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Cay Resort By Millenium Hotel Orlando
Vista Cay Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing