We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #126 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The location is great. Do not pay full price for a room. Go onto a travel site like travelocity or something and find a cheap price then call the hotel property directly and they will match the price. DO NOT PAY FULL PRICE. These are $50-$70 a night rooms not $100 a night rooms. The rooms are clean. The towels are clean. All the staff that we have had interactions with are very nice. If we want our room cleaned we have to ask to have it done because we typically sleep in very late so the maids tend to skip over our room. The pool area appears to be nice. We haven't swam in the pool but there are two hot tubs and an adult deck for sunbathing. The deck is nice because the building shields the sun in the actual pool area. We haven't eaten at the restaurant but there is one on property and there is also a little food shop with ice cream and some bathroom items like toothpaste etc. Parking is included and decent. There is an Enterprise rental car company here so some of the parking is taken up by that. The rooms that face the pool on the first floor have to endure radio music that is played over speakers by the pool. Even when the AC is running you can still hear the radio. It plays from 10am till about 11pm. The first room they put us in the AC was broken so they moved us to the first floor room which was a nice room but we were unaware of the pool music issue. If it's cool outside and no one is using the pool they seem to not play the music. The beds are good. The room does not smell musty or old. It's newly painted and modernly decorated. Flat screen TV, microwave, coffee pot and hair dryer in room. The free wi fi is completely worthless. It works less than half the time no matter where you are in the building and a paid wire option is not available in the room but may be available in the business center. If you're looking for a clean hotel room and you plan on being gone most of the time it should be fine. Make sure you get a cheaper price online and have the property match it. We probably won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the first floor by the pool b/c they play music that you can hear in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean updated rooms, nice staff, nice pool area with the sun deck and parking area. We do have music by the pool and the poolside rooms you mentioned on the first floor are our most sought after rooms as they open directly to the pool. We can adjust the music levels but the music is on from 10:00 am until 11:00 pm as you mentioned.

I will have to have our staff check our wireless intenet service as I had not received any complaints prior to yours on our service. We have fiber optics providing the service into our property and that should be more than enough to handle any bandwidth issues.

I certainly apologize that the music by the pool seemed to dampen your experience during your stay, if we have the opportunity of hosting you during your trip to Orlando in the future, please remember that we can adjust the volume if it seems to loud on your next trip.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    1,015
    468
    133
    75
See reviews for
1,154
662
107
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The location is great, and the room is ok for the price, but the staff was unhelpful and apathetic almost to the point of being caricaturish. Every interaction felt like I was in some sitcom or SNL skit about laughably bad service. I will never stay at this particular Best Western again, which is a shame because I usually like BWs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is on the older side. The pool/hot tub area was fine and our room had a small coffee pot, fridge, and microwave. The hotel's location is great – 3 minute walk to Wet and Wild, free 5 minute shuttle ride to Universal over I4, very close to the Orlando Convention center, 15 minutes from Sea World and Disney, and 5 minutes from a shopping mall. With free self parking at the hotel, a walk away from Wet and Wild and free shuttle service to Universal you save $50 to $75 in parking fees alone. I found the staff very friendly and Lenny at the front desk made a great first impression.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Mannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I will pass on the "kudos" to Lenny! I am happy that you took advantage of the free scheduled transportation service for Universal and Sea World and that you enjoyed our location for all of what Orlando offers. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Contrary to some reviews, we were more than satisfied during our one night stay. Our room was appealing and very clean. We arrived at 8:30 pm and there was a nice bar, convenience store and restaurant, all still open. We patronized the bar and store and they were fine. The pool looked large and attactive from our 6th floor room. We booked it on Hotwire as a 3 star property and that's an accurate rating. I was wary of the resort fee but it was an inexpensive $3.50 for a 3 star room at a rate in the $40's before taxes. My only negative was that the wireless internet was a little sporadic later in the evening.
The building is not new but it's well maintained, clean, and located not far from many attractions, shops, and the premium outlet mall. The staff was friendly and customer oriented. Definitely an underpriced gem but go to Hotwire or Priceline to get the best deal. Of course if you're reading this you're already familiar with the internet and those sites are easy to use. They're worth trying.

Room Tip: Book on Hotwire or Priceline for the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfmccart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you found our facilities clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our central location for everything Orlando has to offer. Our staff is fantastic and I will share your thoughts with them during our next staff meeting.

We hope to see you soon.

SIncerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is very old and run down. Furniture and fixtures were extremely outdated. Beds were ridiculously uncomfortable. Water takes about a TV shows worth of time to get hot so plan ahead (was notified that this was across the entire hotel by a staff member). The toilet broke within minutes of us entering the room, overflowing into the bathroom. A gentleman came in with a plunger and plunged the toilet, seemed to work ok after that. A few housecleaning folks came in and mopped up the water with towels and that was it. The staff is moderately friendly but not very welcoming, seemed like the last thing they wanted to do was help or welcome you. My biggest complaint is that this place is VERY inaccurately labeled as a 3 star. I've stayed at just about every accommodation in the International drive area and this place is worse than some 2 stars i've stayed at. This place needs a big remodel and upgrade in staff or a downgrade in star rating. Only good thing about this place was the location.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_B0gwraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was dissapointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations to all of our guests. It appears that you were staying wtih us when we had a severe hot water issue with our boiler system but I am happy to report that the boilers are all back in operation.

I was surprised thatt you did not find our staff more accommodating, it is a rare review when our staff is not recognized for providing fantastic guest service. Regarding your remodel statement, we will be remodeling several portions of our guest rooms this year, most notably the bathrooms, bed replacements (currently on-going as we speak), as well as making improvements to the public spaces.

We hope to get the chance to host you in the future and regain your trust in our product.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#106 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Rosen Inn International
#120 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Comfort Inn International
#118 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price range (per night): $108 - $256
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing