We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel to be seen in”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in September. We were given a deluxe room (I'm sure that it was just a standard room) that was recently renovated. The room was very beautiful with mirrored doors and even a television in the plush bathroom. My only complaint with the room is the flooring. They choose tile, while very pretty, it does not control the noise. We were woken up daily by a baby crying, not something that is appealing when you are celebrating an anniversary.
Besides that minor issue, the hotel was grand in every way. The grounds were pristine. Fitness center was great (a lot of hotels can't really make this claim). The pools were very refreshing. The staff anticipated our every need.
Here's my big contribution: save up your money for the Sunday brunch. While very pricey ($60 for hotel guest and $75 for others), it is so worth it. This is coming from a budget savy gal. Crab claws, lobster, sushi, and endless Mimosa's and bloody mary's. My favorite is the desert bar. Count on at least twenty different concoctions that will make you smile for hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldsbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,712 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed off season so got a great rate. We stayed on the club level which is a great value; there is a beautiful patio to sit and have drinks and relax after dinner. It is also a great place for reading the paper with breakfast.

Although the beach was not crowded we rented a cabana for extra space; we got one right near the beach and had fabulous views, a hammock, and great service.

The kids good advantage of surfing lessons which were a huge hit.

We have nothing but praise for the property--great service, great location, great waves and great weather. It ended up being cooler in Palm Beach than in the Northeast in early June!

Room Tip: we loved the Flagler level club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Obviously, The Breakers says it all. If you have a weak wallet, don't even read this review, this place is not for you. However, for those who like fine accommodations and are willing to part with a few bucks to partake in luxury, this is your cup of tea. Having said this, I was annoyed when I asked for a late checkout. The lady at the desk was less than accommodating and dismissed me immediately saying, "We are fully committed, you will need to vacate the room at 12." This may or may not have been the case, but what she should have said was, "Unfortunately we can't accommodate you, but if you'd like to stay at by the pool the rest of the day, you have an option to rent out a cabana. The cabana has a flat screen TV, frig, shower, and bathroom. I would have gladly signed up. I didn't learn about it until later in the day, after being inconvenienced with storing my travel bags and pulling out select clothes for the day at the beach. It cost a few dollars but it would have been nice to watch the football game and soak in the sun at the same time in privacy....but she never offered it to me. I complained to a manager who pretty much shrugged his shoulders and apologized.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank btb6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I chose The Breakers as our MiniMoon destination after friends had suggested it. We got married last week and when we were in the midst of trying to plan a honeymoon, we realized it was the height of hurricane season and decided not to risk it- thus the MiniMoon came to be. We actually weren't expecting much..ya know.. just a nice enough hotel and a good place to relax post wedding craziness. Well nice and good turned to FANTASTIC. This place is all about customer service! In the first 5 minutes of our stay we were upgraded to an Oceanfront Suite (which the general manager himself walked us to), given a beach bungalow for our entire stay, and flowers and champagne awaiting us in our room. The grounds of The Breakers are immaculate, the staff amazingly friendly, the food delicious, and the best ocean views in Fla. We seriously forget we were even in Fla.. the whole resort has a very tropical island feel to it. All in all, it was a great place to spend our first week as husband and wife and we cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: we worked with a travel agency that gets its clients an automatic room upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizC8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Holy cow! I didn't grow up poor and we travelled a lot, and my parents taught us to say please and thank you. The service at the Breakers is absolutely fabulous but there were so many divas and guys who looked like strip club pimps and they treated the staff there like crap. Then there are the "old" rich who are so clueless about the people around them. Who, me? My friends and I are blocking you way to the elevator? who cares? Sheesh.

That said: I've always wanted, as a FL native, to even see The Breakers, and was thrilled to stay there as my husband was there for a conference. It did not disappoint. Impeccable service, a really nice room (granted, we arrived way late at nite due to air delays, had no view, beds were kind of hard). Big room, perfectly quiet, huge bathroom, robes, etc. They have a really good happy hour in one of the bars but otherwise we couldn't afford to eat/drink there, except for the breakfest special in one of the shops: large coffee or tea and bagel/pastry for 5 bucks.

I would say stay away from floors over the Tapestry Bar. Really loud/marginal music til late at nite.

My only big complaint: well, two, actually. For guests, it's only valet parking, but the other day there appeared to be a chamber of commerce event where attendees were coming in from a side lot without valet; maybe everyone should have that option.

Second, and I stopped at the conceirge desk about this: they have a couple tortoises in a tiny cage by a half-basketball court. I guess so rich kids can poke them with sticks. Anyway, the one tortoise couldn't climb out of the food tray (an overturned planter tray), and the water was filthy. My husband and I checked it outa couple hours after I alerted the conceirge peopleand nothing had changed. I don't care how rich your usual clientele are, abuse of animals is a crime.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clmfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.5 km away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
768 reviews
1.6 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
466 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
893 reviews
11.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
2.0 km away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#7 of 34 in West Palm Beach
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $673 - $2,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing