We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You'd Expect”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Breakers is everything you would expect of a luxury resort on Palm Beach. The service is outstanding and the hotel is breathtaking. It is classic and elegant on every level. The only disappointment was The Italian Restaurant...it was overflowing with kids and the food was mediocre at best. Other than that, it was a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,746 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Spent 3 days with the Korbel/ADT Skill Challenge in November and loved the experience (for the second time) at The Breakers. The staff is everywhere to accommadate your every need. Food and beverages were great compared to other hotels. Room was luxurious. Now if they could only do something about the rough surf, it would be perfect. If you want to be treated like royalty, The Breakers is a giant leap ahead of the competiton.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetheheat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We were eager to check in and get to the pool and beach quickly so as not to waste one of our precious days here. Unfortunately, the Breakers had a different agenda. My pregnant wife and I requested a room with a king bed. Upon arrival, they had made an error and had us recorded as requesting two doubles. I had an email confirming our request so knew that the error was on their end. After arguing for 10 minutes about who's error it was even though I had an email confirming that it was their error, their solution was to downgrade me to a smaller room category with no mention of reducing the rate until I requested it  (I still don't think they actually reduced the rate because I was checking in two rooms in the same category. Their room rate was the same as ours. When I commented that the rates were the same, she raised their rate and said theirs was a mistake.  We are here with a large convention and know the negotiated rate. It was correct at first, not once she raised it.  What a scam).  I tried to reason with the person that since it was their error, it would seem to me that good customer service would be putting us in an upgraded room as opposed to a downgraded room for their mistake. That logic seemed to be lost on the person helping us. I asked to speak to the manager and was informed that she was one of the front desk managers. She said she would see what she would do. After delaying our check in for almost 40 minutes she determined that a downgrade was the only option she could offer. In an effort to simply get to enjoy the dwindling daylight hours I just took whatever they were offering and requested that we got a room with a bathtub. She said no problem.  We got to the room and I'm sure you can see where this is going... No bathtub. The worst part is that when I called to ask to switch to a room with a bathtub, she said that she realized as soon as I walked away that she had made a mistake and didn't give us a bathtub but I guess it didn't cross her mind to call our room before we started unpacking to let us know of her error. It is now 90 minutes after our arrival. We have essentially lost half a day of our already too short vacation and I am just finally getting into our room. 

What a beautiful place but they make you feel like they are doing you a favor by letting you stay here.  I hope the rest of the hotel has better customer service than the front desk  otherwise all this beauty is simply wasted. 

I asked to have the hotel manager call my room over an hour ago...

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CAPTAINRIPTIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Great hotel, understated elegance. The breakfast buffet is not the best I have seen, but there is a coffee shop on the premises where you can get a quick continental breakfast to take away and eat outside in one of the lovely lounge areas. We had bad weather (storms and -albeit warm -rain) for some of our stay, so the beach was unfortunately closed, but there are plenty of pools to keep you cool. The surrounding area is also very nice, with plenty of rather upmarket (hence for me window-) shopping. All the hotel's eateries are very good, for different reasons, but the quality of food is consistent throughout. Our room was nice, recently refurbished and spacious enough to accommodate two adults and two children. In hindsight I would recommend paying more for a sea view, as this hotel's name is eponymous with its spectacular waves, crashing down below. It is a big complex, and you can easily lose yourself amongst the splendour of the ballrooms. It's valet parking only, but there is a great deal on where this is free together with all kids' meals, Sun-Thurs, and believe me, it offers considerable savings. Apparently the Sunday brunch is spectacular, but we didn't make use of this, as we thought it would be wasted on the children. It is set in a very affluent area, which is reflected in the prices all around you. Two nice restaurants outside the complex are Nick and Johnny's and La Cucina, both in walking distance, in the same street. There's also an ice-cream parlour wedged between the two. On a wet day go to the Gardens Mall, 20 mins drive away (I wouldn't bother with Boca Raton, although the concierge favoured it as it is bigger). The Gardens Mall is still a decent size and the shops are brilliant, especially if you travel with kids who are mad on Abercombie gear. Unlike New York, where you can't get near the shop, let alone enter it to part with your money (crazy), here you can browse at a leisurely pace without any hassle whatsoever. Staff are hopeless, but that was the same in NY. I am not a big shopper, and my husband def isn't, but even he was pleasantly surprised by this mall. If you are golfers, there is a fab deal on for about $60 one adult plus child after 3pm at The Breakers Golf course right on site. And the PGA Museum and course in Port St. Lucie is also worth the 45 mins drive.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview, it is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilytravellerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Elegant, clean, friendly. Not a bad thing to say.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank I1240DMdanielr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.5 km away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
783 reviews
1.6 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
510 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
979 reviews
2 km away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
934 reviews
11 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $641 - $3,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing