We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Storied Surroundings, Impeccable Service Totally Without Pretence”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The service at this hotel is as you would expect for a world class hotel and resort with a storied past. In the midst of majestic surroundings, there is a total lack of pretence and down to earth kindness of the entire staff from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave, including the staff of the restaurants, the stores and the spa as well as the hotel staff itself. They anticipated my needs and went out of their way to make my stay more pleasant than it would already have been without their reaching out. The one item I would recommend for improvement is to expand the services available at the spa.

Room Tip: I preferred a room facing the interior courtyard and one with a window in the bath, which I had, ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europeatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,662 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just got back from a week at this wonderful resort. The weather was wonderful. The beach here is great for laying out and catching a tan, in the Northern Hemisphere in February!! The staff was timely, friendly and helpful. Great food at the restaurant, but you will find fine fare out in town. The decor is excellent. Don't hesitate about the Breakers. It's wonderful!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Protondecay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Everything about this hotel is magnificient & I could find little fault. I stayed here for a business conference and the only comment I could make is that if you have to ask the price you need to be looking somewhere else. But if you fancy a really special treat for that very special occasion or if you're someone of substantial means, then this is definitely the place - outstanding

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jande1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights over the September 11th 10 year anniversary. I visited this hotel as a child with family and always had fond memories of the place. As you expect, everything does come at a price but the level of service, standard of food and facilities warrants this. Some people say that the Breakers has a "snooty" reputation, but we did not experience any of this, and found not only the staff but the other guests to be more then friendly. Make sure you check out the restaurant across the road over looking the golf course where we had the best meal of our week long trip up and down the Florida coast. Spend the money, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgwlmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The common areas of this hotel are very impressive - especially the high ceilings hand-painted by Italian artists. (It's worth watching the in-room video on the history of the hotel). The gardens are also very well cared for, and all the staff members we encountered were very friendly - especially a man named Josh in security who went out of his way to help us retrieve a couple of items we left behind.
* But our room was rather ordinary, with some ugly blue and white wallpaper. We had a small balcony with a slight view of the ocean. We thought it was nice that our room key was personalized with our name, but then we didn't like when we were asked to show it at the spa and restaurants - so they could size up whether we had spent enough to qualify for free admission/free buffet (we hadn't).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.5 km away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
768 reviews
1.6 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
466 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
895 reviews
11.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
10.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $680 - $2,346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing