We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambassador - A Family Resort on the Gulf
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

For the price, this place is great. The AC works great and as well as other united in the room. We payed around $700 to stay 8 nights. We stayed in room #206. It is NOT a upscale hotel by any means and it's very old school. However, if you're like my family and I much of our time is spent outside the hotel. So if you're just looking for a decent clean, cheap place to stay this is your best bet. The staff is very nice and helpful. The view is INCREDIBLE! I would recommend bringing a couple of your own pillows.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank britni_barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2016

We have stayed at the Ambassador four times in as many years! I simply cannot find enough "wrong" with this place to write a bad review. It is clearly an older hotel ad thus lacks many modern amenities like in room wifi or free breakfast but...we spent a hundred dollars to stay three nights (that's roughly 1\3 what the nearest competitor offered) we had a specatucalr view of the beach and watched the sun rise ad set over the crystal blue water...the pool was clean...the hot tub felt great on my road weary bones...the room was clean and bug free, the staff friendly, overall I love it at the ambassador.

Room Tip: Second and third floor offer better views but first floor is a foot away from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sasafrassbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We went with no reservations to the Florida Panhandle, specifically Panama City Beach and wound up at the same place we spent a couple of nights the previous year. Tried places close by Pier Park but the rates at the ones we visited were jacked up for Labor Day week in our opinon. The Ambassador is old school but we just wanted a balcony on an upper level and a kitchenette. The décor could certainly use updating but doubt seriously if this place will sink any more funds into the property before one day selling out to the high rise condos that are sure to take over every inexpensive property on this beach before long.

Room Tip: Always ask to inspect the room before you hand over your credit card or cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jackpotsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

The place was so nasty. We walked in and would not even unpack our bags. I immediately went out waking to find a different hotel and did. The price was not as cheap as it should have been. This place looked like one of those hotels that rent the rooms by the hour. There is no way I could even think of letting my family stay here. Before I found the hotel that we ended up staying at further down the beach, we had decided that if we couldn't find another place, we would make the 13 hour drive back home and forgo the vacation. I had read the reviews on trip advisor before we booked and didn't think it could have been as bad as what everyone said. IT WAS WORSE !!!! I can't stress enough, stay away from this place unless you are just going to drink and not care where you pass out.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The area to walk towards the beach was covered in weed so you could not see the beach view from the pool. (The pool was probably the best thing about the hotel). My family and I stayed in rooms #206, #211 and #212. EXTREMELY run down. I was so uncomfortable... the refrigerator in room 211 was rusted out, with an odd smell and the bed was sinking in the middle. Not a condo you would expect to live and I will NEVER stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
371 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
866 reviews
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
120 reviews
Aqua
#8 of 83 in Panama City Beach
325 reviews
Osprey on the Gulf
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador - A Family Resort on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador - A Family Resort on the Gulf

Address: 15617 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2505
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Ambassador - a Family Resort On The Gulf Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing