We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Saltworks Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Mainstay Suites(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
US$109
MainStaySuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Apalach Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Inn(Port Saint Joe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Hill Lodge(Port Saint Joe)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
15
15
3
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
15
3
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt worksbay houseoutdoor showerthese cabinsold floridastate parkcape san blasscallopsacross the streetwildlifelookouttvreedkingfisherpansdolphinsgulf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We usually camp at St Joe's Peninsula State Park but decided to try something different this spring. We chose the Captain's Quarters at Old Salt Works Cabins! What a great choice. There were 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a full kitchen, living room and dining room. It was cold when we visited but the central heat worked just great! I think the cabin was recently partially remodeled.
We waded out in the bay and swam at the Gulf across the street near the fire station at the Park. The bike trail was very nice and we rode about a mile to the park to access the beach. We also fished by the "stumps" near "the rocks". Since it was too cool to swim every day we took advantage of the weather and hiked in the state park at the entrance and to the fire tower. We found lots of shells at the gulf and in the bay behind the cabins.

I love the location of the cabins...in the wooded area. It would have been nice to have more information about the salt works that were there and up and down the coast during the civil war. One day when the wind was calm there were "no see ums" pestering us. There is a book in the cabin with information about history and things to do and see. The owner and caretakers were very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

This is a hard review to write, but it was the dirtiest, most unkempt place we have ever stayed in. We don't mind staying in older places, but this place is falling in on itself. Started with no signage to even find our cabin. The porch boards are rotting and very close to caving in. The cabin itself was so dirty that dust clung to everything. And I mean accumulated dust that had compacted. It was even hanging off the walls. The dock out to the water was also broken and unusable. The owners were no where to be seen. There were about thirty bags of dirty linens piled next to the office for days. Garbage was everywhere by the dumpster as it hadn't been emptied in a long time. This place is truly the worst ever. It's a shame because it could be a nice little spot. It's grossly neglected.We ended up just leaving. Terrible

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Soniebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Old Salt Works. We stayed 4 nights in Lee. The cabin is rustic and charming with all the ammenities. There is an outdoor shower with hot water that we used every day. You canto gaze over thethis bay while youyou bathe. Be sure to bring bug spray if you want to venture outside in the evenings to explore the surrounding waters of Saint Joe Bay. We bought local seafood and cooked delicious meals each evening after spending late afternoons at the beach. Saint Joseph State Park is beautiful. If you like to hike don't miss the 7 mile wilderness trail that takes you to the tip of thee cape. Tranquil beautiful beaches that are almost deserted this time of the year are what await you each day. We will definately be back to The Old Salt Works.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Let me say first and foremost I had contacted the owner's directly regarding a negative review. Not only did Rachel reply back promptly she was very open and communicative in regard to my questioning.

It's difficult to trust what someone says - owner or traveler with having never seen the property. There is a always going to be some leap of faith required from both parties... That said let's look at expectations. What are yours? Ours were that we wanted a fair price for a clean and cool room - hot water and working plumbing. And we were not disappointed. Our cabin (North) had a charcoal grill outside, a screened in porch, 2 double beds, mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, and coffee pot as well as utensils, plateware, and glassware. AND a working TV with cable...wow, we don't even have that at home (nooo, I'm not a hick - we just don't watch TV!). There were plenty of clean towels too... It actually got so cold we were able to adjust the A/C numerous times!

These cabins are in a beach community, stuffed back into a beautiful wooded area... so... sand: lots of it, bugs: mostly outdoors but a few make their way into anywhere it's cooler and darker (our car, our room, our towels), animals: everywhere - what a pleasure. You will not be harassed but won't feel ignored. The owners clearly care for the property and want you to enjoy your stay. There are several public beaches VERY close by - we loved Salinas Park, less than 2 minutes across the road and the state park is 15 minutes away.

This is NOT a posh hotel or resort property - if you're looking to be pampered this whole are might just not be the place for you. But if you want a nice, clean, air-conditioned, and secure stay Old Saltworks is an excellent choice. We (myself and my teen sons) will be back.

For the record I'd never met the owners prior to staying on their property and I know no one in Florida... Please feel free to contact me for more information which might help you make a decision.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Slizbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The place was beautiful. It was peaceful, quiet and we stayed in the Lookout Cabin. Nice nature trials and the views were amazing. loved the piers that led out to the bay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews