We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Sad.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Saltworks Cabins
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We stopped in to visit older relatives who were staying in one of the Old Salt Works cabins. We could not have been more disappointed for them. Their one room cabin had stairs that were in desperate need of repair-they were rickety, uneven with many nails sticking out, torn screens, bad carpeting, and appliances that did not work. Rustic and charming are not words we would use. The flora and fauna were in desperate need of a trim. The cabin next door looked like a garbage dump. And, the worst part was that they paid way too much; they could have had a nice condo in one of the spots farther up the Cape for what they paid per week. We feel the owners took advantage.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2016

I enjoyed staying at the Lookout for three weeks. I had a wonderful experience while staying there. The wildlife was unbelievable on the bayside of Cape San Blas. Eagles, Bobcats, Linx , Bears I seen all of them while I was there. And the beach was just across the street besides the birds I saw over twenty dolphins. The owner and some of the visitors I met were just real friendly and kind.

Room Tip: All the cabins are nice most with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Husband & I stayed in the Reed cabin for a week. LOVED it. Great location, was right on the bay. Cabin was much larger & cooler than the pictures made it look. Was very clean, had great lighting, ac & space heaters, a billion cable channels & fast wifi for bad weather days. All the post & pans, etc. you need. Bed was super comfortable, were more than enough towels for stay. The boardwalk into the bay was a little loose/worn, sure, but as long as you pay attention to what you're doing it's fine. Great catfishing in the bay at night, fun watching all the crabs & other bay life scuttling around in the daytime.

If you're looking for a luxury hotel or something this isn't it. If you're looking for a great, comfortable place to rest after a day at the beach, etc. that's a taste of real gulf area Florida, this is totally it. Also, the mini-museum in the office was really neat (and full of visitors guides, info, etc.) And the occasional little lizard!

Room Tip: Reed cabin is at the drive's dead end right next to the bay, is fantastic.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meggan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Cape San Blas is less populated and more natural than many FL coastlines. It also is a bit less 'fancy'. For those of us who like empty beaches and lots of nature without spending tons of money, this location is perfection. We stayed several days at the Old Saltworks Cabins, and we had a great experience. Our cabin had no frills, but it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We cooked, relaxed on our porch, and slept with the windows open to hear the birds all a quick walk to the bay and a short drive to the public beaches. We even had great internet for the rainy days. It was heavenly, and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I'm an outdoor type, rough camped throughout Canada. So, roughing it is not an issue. We picked this place because we wanted to try scalloping. When we got there and started the drive back I thought this was going to be really cool vacation. When we got inside the cabin, the floors wear soft and had a rubbery feel. It definitely needs a lot of work. The wooden path or dock leading out to the lake was shot. We tried to pull our yaks out to the bay, but they were so bad we had to walk beside it. That's when we sunk into some serious yuk. I thought oil was bubbling up between my toes. Once out in the bay it was beautiful. We drove around and also notice that the area is not friendly to visitors. Seen a car that had locals rule on their back window. I didn't feel very welcome and we will not return. Sorry for the bad review but just being honest.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
14.3 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
289 reviews
11.1 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
32.1 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Cape San Blas Inn
Cape San Blas Inn
#1 of 5 in Port Saint Joe
337 reviews
19.7 km away
Turtle Glass at Windmark Beach
Turtle Glass at Windmark Beach
#7 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Saltworks Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Saltworks Cabins

Address: 1085 Cape San Blas Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4612
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Port Saint Joe
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Old Saltworks Cabins Hotel Port Saint Joe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing