We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mainstay Suites(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
US$119
MainStaySuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape San Blas Inn(Port Saint Joe)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Inn(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Apalach Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$102
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$212
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gibson Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$126
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St George Inn(St. George Island)
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Hill Lodge(Port Saint Joe)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
16
15
3
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
15
3
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalt worksbay houseoutdoor showerthese cabinsold floridastate parkscallopsleereedlookouttvkingfishersalinaskayaklodgingbaysideac
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I enjoyed staying at the Lookout for three weeks. I had a wonderful experience while staying there. The wildlife was unbelievable on the bayside of Cape San Blas. Eagles, Bobcats, Linx , Bears I seen all of them while I was there. And the beach was just across the street besides the birds I saw over twenty dolphins. The owner and some of the visitors I met were just real friendly and kind.

Room Tip: All the cabins are nice most with a bay view.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Husband & I stayed in the Reed cabin for a week. LOVED it. Great location, was right on the bay. Cabin was much larger & cooler than the pictures made it look. Was very clean, had great lighting, ac & space heaters, a billion cable channels & fast wifi for bad weather days. All the post & pans, etc. you need. Bed was super comfortable, were more than enough towels for stay. The boardwalk into the bay was a little loose/worn, sure, but as long as you pay attention to what you're doing it's fine. Great catfishing in the bay at night, fun watching all the crabs & other bay life scuttling around in the daytime.

If you're looking for a luxury hotel or something this isn't it. If you're looking for a great, comfortable place to rest after a day at the beach, etc. that's a taste of real gulf area Florida, this is totally it. Also, the mini-museum in the office was really neat (and full of visitors guides, info, etc.) And the occasional little lizard!

Room Tip: Reed cabin is at the drive's dead end right next to the bay, is fantastic.
Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Meggan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Cape San Blas is less populated and more natural than many FL coastlines. It also is a bit less 'fancy'. For those of us who like empty beaches and lots of nature without spending tons of money, this location is perfection. We stayed several days at the Old Saltworks Cabins, and we had a great experience. Our cabin had no frills, but it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We cooked, relaxed on our porch, and slept with the windows open to hear the birds all a quick walk to the bay and a short drive to the public beaches. We even had great internet for the rainy days. It was heavenly, and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lorna5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I'm an outdoor type, rough camped throughout Canada. So, roughing it is not an issue. We picked this place because we wanted to try scalloping. When we got there and started the drive back I thought this was going to be really cool vacation. When we got inside the cabin, the floors wear soft and had a rubbery feel. It definitely needs a lot of work. The wooden path or dock leading out to the lake was shot. We tried to pull our yaks out to the bay, but they were so bad we had to walk beside it. That's when we sunk into some serious yuk. I thought oil was bubbling up between my toes. Once out in the bay it was beautiful. We drove around and also notice that the area is not friendly to visitors. Seen a car that had locals rule on their back window. I didn't feel very welcome and we will not return. Sorry for the bad review but just being honest.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We stayed for three nights in one of the saltworks cabins. It a basic cabin with minimum frills. What made it a great stay was the location And the suggestions of things to do by the owner. Andrews state park is just down the road. It is a great place to boogie board and catch some Florida sunshine. There is also a back Bay that we walked around for some amazing views of the stars! Lastly, there is history connected to this place so a great chance to include a little education into our vacation.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank tinaaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews