We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute unplugged getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Saltworks Cabins
Reviewed 12 December 2017

These cabins are cute and in a great location. We stayed in the Lookout for a 2 night "unplugged" weekend. It was one room with a queen bed, a cute round glass dining table and two comfortable chairs. The TV was small and not a huge channel selection but we weren't there to watch TV. The sunrise was beautiful over the bay and we could see it from bed. The nature trail is cute - but don't expect something out of National Geographic. Overall we had a great time and recharged. I would recommend and just may come back for a family vacation with my niece and nephews.

Room Tip: The Lookout has a great view but no direct bay access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Malorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Had a great time with my 13 year old niece was our 2nd summer.. we love walking out in the bay after a day at the beach. Cabin is decorated adorable. It has been updated very comfortable and charming. Several of the cabins have also been remolded and updated. It is very quiet on the bayside but within walking distance to the Sandbucket BBQ (very good food) restaurant and the new Scallop Republic.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bologna81162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this location 3-4 times for family trips & I recommend it - we have stayed in captains quarters in the past - this trip the bay house which was a little larger - good value - comfortable lodging - great view bay front w/boardwalk access to the bay - lots of critter exploring for the little ones - beach access down the road at Salinas Park & at St Joseph's State Park.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank mimi_x4_tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We spent several nights in the Kingfisher while working in the area. It was adequate for the 2 of us and our furry companion. I can't comment on the other cabins.
Rustic it is not. Smells musty when you open the door. It is very small. No granite/ hardwood/ tile/ stainless here - loooow-end finishes in this cabin - vinyl, pressed board, cheap paneling, but the house is structurally well-built and it is fully equipped. The AC was great and we loved the screened porches. The location is fantastic - quiet, peaceful, and serene. The dishes and flatware were good. The furniture was adequate. The Wi-Fi was good the TV was good.
The rooms are really small and the bathroom is tiny. The shower is sooooo small you pretty much have to turn the water off to lather - has to be less that 2 ft square. There is an outdoor shower that is enclosed but it is not much bigger and the floor was nasty. The grounds around our cabin were pretty shabby with trash and construction debris strewn about - and it has been there for a long time. The cabin is probably not adequate for more than 2 people, unless you have 2 small kids and not much luggage. Maybe the other cabins are better.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We stopped in to visit older relatives who were staying in one of the Old Salt Works cabins. We could not have been more disappointed for them. Their one room cabin had stairs that were in desperate need of repair-they were rickety, uneven with many nails sticking out, torn screens, bad carpeting, and appliances that did not work. Rustic and charming are not words we would use. The flora and fauna were in desperate need of a trim. The cabin next door looked like a garbage dump. And, the worst part was that they paid way too much; they could have had a nice condo in one of the spots farther up the Cape for what they paid per week. We feel the owners took advantage.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
14.3 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
288 reviews
11.1 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
32.1 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Cape San Blas Inn
Cape San Blas Inn
#1 of 5 in Port Saint Joe
337 reviews
19.7 km away
Turtle Glass at Windmark Beach
Turtle Glass at Windmark Beach
#7 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Saltworks Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Saltworks Cabins

Address: 1085 Cape San Blas Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4612
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Port Saint Joe
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Old Saltworks Cabins Hotel Port Saint Joe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing