We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Safe”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Jaybird’s Inn 3 years ago and were impressed with the value and the quality of this establishment. Absolutely not the case this time. There were people fighting in the parking lot until around 3am our first night, somebody side swiped someone’s motorcycle the next morning, and then there was a vagrant woman hanging out in the parking lot vomiting and bothering guests. The cops were there about 4 different times. It appears that the inn has allowed some people to live in the hotel. We came back to our room on Sunday at 4:30 to find our door wide open. We called out to see if anyone was inside and the cleaning person was about 4 rooms down chatting with another staff member. Anyone could have walked in and helped themselves to our belongings. Very disappointing especially since we had such a good experience in the past. We will not be going there again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank whitsky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

I apologize for the inconvenience. We strive for comfort and satisfaction for our guests during their stay. After looking into the matter, and researching your listed concerns, I did find the following. The police were called to remove an intoxicated female who was not a guest at our hotel, but was in fact a guest of a neighboring hotel. In no way do we have permanent residents living in our hotel, as you indicated. Nor do we have any record of a vehicle accident reported. I apologize for the housekeeping oversight, we have addressed the matter with our housekeeping team. I am thankful for your bringing the matter to my attention. I am hopeful that you will give us another opportunity if your travels bring you back to our nation’s oldest city.

Kind regards,
Scott Overton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

A very clean and bright property with a wonderful staff. We stayed for 4 nights and found the rates to be very affordable and the staff very accommodating. Thank you to Scott, Josh, Serena, the entire housekeeping department and Freddie for being very helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GregAndTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We stayed at the Jaybirds Inn for the Night of Lights which we did last year from around the firs few days of December. Everything was very nice during our 2016 stay. What had changed for our stay for 2017 was the restaurant was no longer opened for dinner and closed each day at 2:00 PM. So of course we were very disappointed as we had to try to arrange for a very large group to find a place to eat. Had we known in advance that dinner was no longer available we would have stayed somewhere else. I can only say that the entire group was very much disappointed and I doubt we will be staying there again for any future activities. The hotel by the way was completely booked yet the dinning facility was closed during one of the busiest times of the year. Poor Management or mis-management is what it amounts to.

Room Tip: The restaurant closes at 2:00 Pm and is not open for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaellQ370SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

We apologize for the inconvenience of our restaurant hours. With our new events venue format, we had to make some changes to our hours of operation last year. Our message may have been lost with some of our guests. We are excited with the new format hosting weddings, shows, meetings. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions, comments, or concerns.

Kind regards,
Scott Overton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Outstanding value in St. Augustine! Right in historic downtown, Within walking distance to the St. Augustine Red Train tour pick up. The room was very clean, staff very friendly. Hotel offers light breakfast (wonderful muffins)! Also Jaybirds has a restaurant that has a great breakfast and lunch. My husband and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in late, ask for a room that is not next to the housekeeping room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank spotzdunn1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We stayed there with our two boys in a suite. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed having the restaurant on-site. From the outside is looks like an old motel. I had read the reviews so was aware of the renovations. They do not disappoint. Planning to stay there again in December on our way to Cape Canaveral.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 km away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,483 reviews
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
875 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
10.1 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $123 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing