We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“c'mon people, its on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Prospect, KY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“c'mon people, its on the beach!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have stayed at this location many times and am getting ready to return next month. I realize I have never written a review. Obviously I like it since I am going back again! Sharon, Jesus, Bobbi, Peggy, and their teams are great. Richard keeps the grounds wonderfully groomed... take the time to walk around the property and just observe the number of species present, the way they are properly pruned and trimmed, etc. The blooms are gorgeous and the beauty is appreciated. Heck, even the parking lot is kept very clean! The pool is small, but very clean. There are tennis courts, ping pong, and other games for folks as well as the afore-mentioned hammocks. Plenty of (provided) lounge chairs on the beach, available towels, etc. The hotel is renovating/upgrading and now has flat screen tv's and wifi (YAY). My only complaint would be the comfort of some of the mattresses I have slept on there. Hopefully the older ones have been replaced. I do wish there was a fitness center for rainy days. Otherwise, the beach is just waiting to be walked, with great sand, shells, views in either direction. Pricing is good for a beach-front location. Its easy to get around the island via the "back roads" and avoid Periwinkle Way traffic. I really love this place and cannot wait to get back and see everyone soon. They have taken very good care of me thru the years!

Room Tip: no elevator; two story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PenrynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanibelSlim, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Wow, this is preaching to the choir for me! Thanks for your review. I like your priorities: the BEACH, it takes you into another world with nature. The staff is experienced with some very long term folks, imagine coming to work here most days, not at all bad. You "get" Sanibel, love your comments!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    502
    225
    75
    68
See reviews for
438
502
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

On our road trip to florida we stopped at Sanibel Island to see the seashell beach and stayed at the Holiday Inn. First don't pay extra for a beachfront room really not that close the pool and grassy area was in between so I would stay in a cheaper room cause it is quite pricey toward the places we stayed in other beachront rooms in Florida. Over all the hotel was clean and not far to the beach. Nice pool but not heated and pool bar was okay. Next time we would stay in Ft. Meyers and drive over for shells. Kinda disappointed in the whole area .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jes317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanibelSlim, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for staying with us! Hoped you would have enjoyed the island a little more, but we appreciate your comments and giving us a chance.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My favorite thing about this hotel is that it is right on the beach! I'm from central North Carolina so it was nice to have such easy access to it. Not only that, it also has a pool right off the beach. The rooms are comfortable and the service is excellent! The food in the cafe is great and the servers are very polite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Overall my stay at this hotel was positive. The room was clean and big enough.The grounds were nicely landscaped. My only negative note was one of the front desk staff. My husband and I had some trouble finding the hotel and called the front desk to get some help. It turns out we were right next door, but there were no signs on the side of the hotel so we couldn't identify it easily. When I went to the front desk to check in, the lady at the front desk (named Claudia) was polite, but just had a snide smirkiness that I found off-putting. Other than that the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanibelSlim, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Sorry you had trouble finding us. The city of Sanibel restricts us to only one sign in the front and not very large. In fact the island does not have billboards, neon signs, or any traffic lights! Thank you for your comments and thanks for staying with us!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Rooms are dated and bathroom is small. However everything was very clean and the beds/pillows were very comfortable which cancelled out our extremley loud air conditioner. The staff was courteous. The pool was dated but clean. I thought this hotel was pricey for what it offered, but it was oceanfront which appealed to us. It was satisfactory, but I wouldn't stay here again. Courtney's is the restaurant attached to the property. They offer a breakfast for $5.95. The decor and the atmosphere is strange, but the breakfast was very good for what we paid. Our waitress was great and very kind.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvlattes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Property: Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): $235 - $554
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing