We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The PalmView
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
US$319
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$209
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
US$225
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$239
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
75
24
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
24
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscreole gardenbeach chairspirate's coveshort walk to the beachprivate bathfree bikesmotel stylefew minutes walkfully equipped kitchenking bedfree wifia great stayliving roomrongrilledsoffice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We are nature photographers and so much in love with the Island's character, its people, its quaint small town atmosphere and the Island's emphasis on preservation awareness of its natural resources. We would not consider staying anywhere else while visiting this unique barrier island! The nature trails, the bird life and preservation efforts that Sanibel has enacted to preserve this unique coastal destination have no comparison in our book. The Palm View offers comfortable accommodations and cleanliness while remaining a stone's throw from all activities on the island. You can spend a lot more for all the frills of upscale accommodations or enjoy Palm View's humble accommodations and enjoy the island's amenities more. We have been coming regularly for over 5 years and would not consider staying anywhere else as our activities and time is spent enjoying the island and its resources vs. staying at a resort, which you will pay for, and miss out on one of the most beautiful and naturally maintained coastal destinations. The manager has been instrumental in our coming back time and time again. It is because of her making us feel as if we are family that we continue our patronage and it sets this resort apart from the rest. With biking, beach walks, shell collecting, dolphin watching and Ding Darling National Wildlife refuge within minutes of the Palm View, this centrally located small unit accommodation could not be better suited for our needs and the needs of other nature lovers would want to be out enjoying what Sanibel is truly all about!

Room Tip: If you are a family you would want the two bedroom suite. Other than that, all the other suites are large and more than accommodating!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding the Palmview Inn and our Manager. We appreciate that you have continued to stay at the Palmview, and that our Manager has been instrumental in this.

As you have said the Islands are so special, and as Nature Lovers you really understand the character of Sanibel and Captiva Islands.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We loved these cozy cottages just a short 5 minute walk to the beach. The owner was there everyday and answered all our questions with very friendly suggestions.

We have found our new Sanibel home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at the Palmview Inn. We are happy our Manager was able to answer your questions, and be so helpful.
We are new owners, so we are pleased you enjoyed one of our newly decorated units.
Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The location is perfect, a short walk to the beach and a short bike ride to shops and restaurants. What I really loved was having so much space, our own little house to relax at after exploring the island. It was so clean and complete with a kitchen and living room. There is even onsite laundry offered, a grill and bikes to use for a quick trip to the store or lunch. The beds are very comfortable and super clean. We had plenty of towels and appreciated knowing that we could contact the owner if we needed anything but would not be disturbed otherwise. The owner is super friendly and down to earth. She was in and out of the common area during the day and a pleasure to talk with. I would definitely stay there again and again when I get the opportunity. The price is excellent, too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay at the Palmview Inn.
We are happy you enjoyed your accomodations, and that our Manager was so helpful to you.
We hope to see you again soon at the Palmview, and thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My family and dogs stay here a few times a year for the past 5 years. It is clean, quiet inexpensive and best of all dog friendly. It is a short walk to the beach on donax rd to a great central part of Sanibel island beach. It is never crowded. It is very close to the central business area on periwinkle drive.
It is not a fancy place, if you need a concierge, valet, help desk, pool boys or must be right on the beach then this is not the place for you. If you need a clean, comfortable dog friendly place to stay then the Palm View is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and I stay at the Palmview whenever we go to Sanibel, which is 2-3 times/year. We have been coming here for years.

It is DOG FRIENDLY!!! We take our 3 dachshunds, and they love it. Sanibel is one of the few beaches in Florida that allows dogs on the beach. There are only a few places you can stay with dogs on Sanibel, and most of them have a 2-dog limit. The Palmview is the only place we know of that allows more than 2 dogs.

There are only 6 cottages, so it is a small resort. Over the years, we've stayed in all of them. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. If you're looking for fancy or luxurious, this is not the place. But if you want a nice and comfortable place to stay at a great price, this is an excellent value.

All rooms have a small kitchenette for use, so if you want to buy your own food and cook, even in the efficiency units, there is space. There are also grills outside and some tables and lounges.

Rooms are self-serviced, so there is no housekeeping, but this is typical for Sanibel accommodations.

There is free wi-fi as well. Also, an outdoor jacuzzi.

The Palmview provides bicycles for guest use. They are from a bike rental place, so the bikes are always well-maintained. There are lots of great biking trails on Sanibel.

Lori, the owner, is always friendly and can give advice on places to eat and things to do, as she is a resident of the island. Sometimes she brings her dog, Emmett, a golden retriever mix (with one blue eye - very cute!) who is being trained as a therapy dog.

The location is 1/4 mile (measured on my Garmin!) from the beach, so just a short, 5-minute walk.

It is clean, quiet and comfortable. A perfect place to stay with your dogs!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3RedDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews