We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation”
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The PalmView
new york
1 review
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting Sanibel Island for the first time,going over the bridge was like leaving all your cares behind, the Biking, seashell beaches,the wild lives, the sunsets,and the people being so friendly take your breath away,but most outstanding event was staying in the Calossa room at the palm-view Inn I loved the colors, it was spacious, clean and equip with modern amenities,from Flatscreem Televsion with all the channels, i loved theSpeakman showerhead that gives you a complete shower. The grounds are also ready for laundry,and Grilling
What a home away from home, i love it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RaindropsWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you had such a relaxing vacation and that the Palmview Inn could be part of that.
Sanibel is certainly special.
Thank you again, and we hope you visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We are nature photographers and so much in love with the Island's character, its people, its quaint small town atmosphere and the Island's emphasis on preservation awareness of its natural resources. We would not consider staying anywhere else while visiting this unique barrier island! The nature trails, the bird life and preservation efforts that Sanibel has enacted to preserve this unique coastal destination have no comparison in our book. The Palm View offers comfortable accommodations and cleanliness while remaining a stone's throw from all activities on the island. You can spend a lot more for all the frills of upscale accommodations or enjoy Palm View's humble accommodations and enjoy the island's amenities more. We have been coming regularly for over 5 years and would not consider staying anywhere else as our activities and time is spent enjoying the island and its resources vs. staying at a resort, which you will pay for, and miss out on one of the most beautiful and naturally maintained coastal destinations. The manager has been instrumental in our coming back time and time again. It is because of her making us feel as if we are family that we continue our patronage and it sets this resort apart from the rest. With biking, beach walks, shell collecting, dolphin watching and Ding Darling National Wildlife refuge within minutes of the Palm View, this centrally located small unit accommodation could not be better suited for our needs and the needs of other nature lovers would want to be out enjoying what Sanibel is truly all about!

Room Tip: If you are a family you would want the two bedroom suite. Other than that, all the other suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding the Palmview Inn and our Manager. We appreciate that you have continued to stay at the Palmview, and that our Manager has been instrumental in this.

As you have said the Islands are so special, and as Nature Lovers you really understand the character of Sanibel and Captiva Islands.

Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We loved these cozy cottages just a short 5 minute walk to the beach. The owner was there everyday and answered all our questions with very friendly suggestions.

We have found our new Sanibel home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at the Palmview Inn. We are happy our Manager was able to answer your questions, and be so helpful.
We are new owners, so we are pleased you enjoyed one of our newly decorated units.
Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The location is perfect, a short walk to the beach and a short bike ride to shops and restaurants. What I really loved was having so much space, our own little house to relax at after exploring the island. It was so clean and complete with a kitchen and living room. There is even onsite laundry offered, a grill and bikes to use for a quick trip to the store or lunch. The beds are very comfortable and super clean. We had plenty of towels and appreciated knowing that we could contact the owner if we needed anything but would not be disturbed otherwise. The owner is super friendly and down to earth. She was in and out of the common area during the day and a pleasure to talk with. I would definitely stay there again and again when I get the opportunity. The price is excellent, too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941cjy, Owner at The PalmView, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay at the Palmview Inn.
We are happy you enjoyed your accomodations, and that our Manager was so helpful to you.
We hope to see you again soon at the Palmview, and thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My family and dogs stay here a few times a year for the past 5 years. It is clean, quiet inexpensive and best of all dog friendly. It is a short walk to the beach on donax rd to a great central part of Sanibel island beach. It is never crowded. It is very close to the central business area on periwinkle drive.
It is not a fancy place, if you need a concierge, valet, help desk, pool boys or must be right on the beach then this is not the place for you. If you need a clean, comfortable dog friendly place to stay then the Palm View is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,295 reviews
0.3 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
1.9 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#4 of 5 in Sanibel Island
206 reviews
5.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,771 reviews
5.1 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Property: The PalmView
Address: 706 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6708
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price range (per night): $116 - $253
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing