We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
US$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tarpon Tale Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
US$228
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
102
75
23
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
75
23
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom efficiencydeluxe studiobike rentalspet friendly restaurantsmom and popplace to staycorn holeover christmasfull kitchenstayed for two nightsprivate beach accesssister propertynice poolthe ritzmini fridgeprovide beach chairsduring high season
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We been coming to Anchor Inn for the past 4 years. This time we stayed in the cute cottage. Once your inside. It's horrible. Ants and roaches everywhere. Rats running around in the parking lot. The toilet wouldn't stop running. The sheets was stained. Went to the office 4 or 5 times in 2 todays, the guy at the desk did not know where the managers was. How can you run a business without the managers?? I never got to talk to the managers about my problems. They really don't care! This place is run down and nothing like it used to be. We will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay away unless you like roaches and rude people
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iluvshelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We are so sorry you had a horrible experience with us during your recent stay. While it is not an excuse for some of the issues, we did have a set of managers who quit with no notice, and have been having to staff this location with support staff from other properties, however there is always a manager who can help you, so we will address that with the gentleman at the office so he remembers that he can always call another set of managers. Again, we apologize for the issues and we are working on fixing them for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

I found this place while looking for somewhere pet friendly. The reservation process was a little stressful but it all worked out in the end. The room I got was quiet and comfortable. The mini fridge while small kept everything very cold. The shower was a little small but good water pressure and temp more than made up for that. There is a nice porch with tables and chairs to enjoy the evening air. This place is close to several places to eat and shop. They also rent bikes , I brought my own. The staff was very helpful, and there is a swimming pool but I forgot to bring a suit. I plan to stay here again. book early because all the hotels seem to fill up fast

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boxerboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for leaving us your review! We appreciate the feedback! Most of the time people only tell us when we are doing something bad, and forget that we need to know when we do something right too.

We can't wait to have you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The place is so rundown and old. Everything in the room is old and half broken. The toilet ran, we told the owner, who came and fiddled with it and told us that it was fixed, except it continued to run. The AC unit is so loud that every time it kicks off it sounded like a burst of thunder, imaging trying to sleep through that! They don't do any room cleaning service during the stay, they said that if you leave dirty towels outside they will bring you clean ones, I did that and no cleans ones were brought. The mattress was so old that a tiny movement will send a ripple through the whole thing. The scariest part was that we woke up with many many red bug bites that certainly were not there the night before. We looked it up online and they definitely look like bed bug bites. BED BUGS!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

We are sorry you had such a horrible experience with us. We are working on the cleanliness issues, we had a couple of housekeepers who weren't the greatest. We are so sorry about that. I do know that little red bites are 9 times out of 10 no see um bites..not from bed bugs. Which the no see um's on the island are especially bad during this time of year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
52
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Failed by miles to live up to expectations and hype. We had an A-frame cottage. Every expense on niceties had been spared. A saucepan with a handle just about holding on, a bottle opener too rusty to dare using, ........ list too long to detail. Dusty and dirty. Had to wash all plates etc before comfortable to use. Dingy too with poor lighting. Won't bother you with bathroom deficiencies! I know hurricane Irma was not long past, BUT!!!!! A place we will never stay in again. Cost does not match what is offered.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

We are sorry to see that you had a disappointing stay with us. We have brought on new housekeepers since your stay to help rectify the cleanliness issues you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Just the type of motel/hotel we were looking for. Please look online to view the place before you choose it has you destination. It is located on the main strip for travel on/off the island. We had a single bungalow with a very small bathroom. It a swimming pool in the center of the courtyard and cable TV, plus WiFi. They have bike rentals ($5 a day, 1st come/1st served), I suggest you use a bike to travel around the island, paid parking at the beaches. Limited parking around the island. Nature is all around you, so pay attention to the wildlife signs. Bring a good camera, walking/riding shoes. They will supply you a beach towel, be sure to bring it back. Front desk is open daily from 8am-9pm, if you have a problem overnight, you may have to wait till morning. It has a small sitting area at your door and one in the back of the bungalow that overlooks a small pond. Price was not bad at all, so book early because the island fills up quick with tourist.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Dana-Da-Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for leaving us your review. Looks like you had a lovely time on the island and were able to take advantage of the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews