We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking”

Sommers Dutch Family Restaurant
Ranked #339 of 1,153 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We spotted this place near the Walmart and decide to give it a try. It is a big place, very open and clean looking. They also sell home-baked goods. I had a look at the salad bar, it seemed pretty average. We ordered something called manhattan sandwiches. They came in turkey, beef or meatloaf and were what I grew up calling a hot turkey/beef sandwich with gravy. Very good, not something you find on menus now. Nice place, good prices, easy parking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank norskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Nice little spot. Hearty food. The Reuben was selfish! You can sub the salad bar for a side which looked good. Lots of baked goods for sale.

Thank knox78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We have dinner and loved it. Tasted like home cooking. We will certainly go back. Very close to I 75 and Siesta Key is nearby.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimmyVCranston_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Manager at Sommers Dutch Family Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hi Jimmy. Thank you for the great review, we are glad that you had a great experience. Our family will love to serve you again in the future.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We were here for an early supper, before the evening crowd. I noted that the menu contained many dishes similar to when the site was "Sugar & Spice," 2 or 3 owners ago, which we appreciated. The site was very clean and neat. The food was good. There was displayed for sale, all through the restaurant, pies and cookies that looked as though they were made on the premises. As we were leaving, a hard rain had just begun. As we contemplated getting very wet, a young man emerged with an umbrella and walked each of us to the car. We were surprised and thankful for that rare gesture of courtesy.

Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Manager at Sommers Dutch Family Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad that you had a great experience and yes there are some similarities between Sommers and Sugar & Spice as we both specialize on traditional Amish and Mennonite dishes. Thank you again for you feedback and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

You will not find a more friendly and helpful place as Sommers - the staff is wonderful, the food is great - absolutely everything we had was hot and was wonderful.
Our waitress was helpful in letting know about special events that the restaurant hosts. The hostess was efficient, had us seated in minutes even thought there was a line, and the rest was just a very pleasant evening meal. Doesn't get better. There was a group of men playing music the evening we were there and it was delightful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Manager at Sommers Dutch Family Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for visiting us. Our family is glad that you had a great experience. And We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sommers Dutch Family Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sommers Dutch Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing