We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lambshank is tender and tasty!”

Dutch Valley Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 1,157 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our Promise: "To give every customer top quality food with good and friendly service for very reasonable prices."
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We lunched at Dutch Valley on 41 for the first time. Pleasantly surprised with every aspect of the place that we’ve never been to in almost 30 years. Have we missed out.

We came in around 12:20 p.m. and were seated immediately at a table for 4. Our server, Angel, with light blue hair, quickly took our order and patiently asked us about what sides and salad dressing we wanted. There eclectic menu runs a vast spectrum of entrees.

My wife, Sybil ordered the brat plate with 2 large, nicely grilled brats, a bowl of red cabbage and a large serving of boiled red potatoes. I ordered the lamb shank, mashed potatoes and gravy.

Both of our entrees came with soup: Sybil had the lemon rice, and I enjoyed the split pea and ham. We also had fresh salads with blue cheese dressing.

After consuming those items, our meals came and we could barely eat a third of each portion. The bone on the lamb shank was loaded with tender, juicy, tasty lamb. The bone was too big to put in the to-go box, so Angel brought me a clear plastic bag. We give all our dog-bones to the gal who cuts Sybil’s hair.

After we nibbled at the main portion, Angel brought Sybil jello with fresh fruit and whipped cream. I enjoyed rice pudding with a heavy dash of cinnamon. I couldn’t finish mine. To recap, soup, salad, entrée and dessert for either $12.99 or $14.25! Can’t eat like that at home! We’ll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BoHo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha J, Public Relations Manager at Dutch Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we are so glad you decided to dine with us! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Tamiami was our server! She was fantastic. She made our day. Very bubbly and outgoing. The food was GREAT as well!! The pictures below does no justice. You'd definitely want to give this place a try!

Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha J, Public Relations Manager at Dutch Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you Angie and we will be sure to let your server know! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

This place has great food, nice people, excellent location. But they underestimate the flood of snowbirds and vacationers that come here. While I hate eating dinner at 5:00pm, I do so because you run the risk that they will run out of food. The usual diners seem to start eating dinner at 3:30pm or so and they pack the place. That's fine. But the restaurant doesn't plan well enough to have sufficient food for us more normal folks. Yesterday, even though we ate by 5:35pm, they ran out of Manhattan clam chowder, even though they would remain open until 9:00pm. A few weeks ago, they ran out of rice pudding, also got the last of the fried chicken at 6:45pm. I know that wasting food is likely an issue in this business, but these guys are way off. But, again, the food is great and so are the people, especially if you want to eat dinner at 4:00, not so much for the rest of us.

Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha J, Public Relations Manager at Dutch Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi Joe, Thank you so much for your feedback, we do appreciate it. We totally agree that we should never run out of food though obviously it does happen. It's not that we want this to happen but sometimes its just hard to gauge how busy you will be on a certain day. Because we make everything homemade, when we do run out, there is normally just not enough time to make more. If we could just thow something in the microwave and heat it up that would be easy, but that's not how we run our business. Hope to see you in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We were just visiting on Siesta Key for a week.
We enjoy eating breakfast out.
We don't like going to fast food unless no other choice! We'd rather pay a bit more for a nice place to sit down and be waited on.
We were delighted with Dutch Valley! It reminded us of a New York style deli atmosphere from back in the 60's. And it was fairly close to where we were staying.
Plenty of parking and seating.
Ended up eating breakfast there 6 out of 7 mornings!
We thought the breakfasts were very good and plenty to eat! Good coffee.
Service was good! Friendly, knowledgeable staff each time we went.
We would DEFINITELY recommend it.
If we ever vacation down there again, we will go back to Dutch Valley!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha J, Public Relations Manager at Dutch Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you and we're so glad you found us! Good to hear you enjoyed it enough to eat with us almost every day of your vacation! We hope you'll be back to Siesta Key and Dutch Valley soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in today. They advertise belgium waffles and that is what we had. Mine with pecans and my husband’s plain. They have a machine that turns out fresh. OJ. Yummy food and great service.

Thank aml3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha J, Guest Relations Manager at Dutch Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you for coming in and we're glad you enjoyed everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutch Valley Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dutch Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing