We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is Chitown deep dish ”

Joey D's Chicago Style Eatery & Pizzeria
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #190 of 900 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

Grow up in Chicago and eat deep dish for 40 years. Have eaten at a ton of places outside of Chicago that claimed they had Chicago pizza. This is truly that. Best deep dish outside of Illinois. Looked at the thin crust at another table and it had a ton of ingredients like I would expect from thin crust. If you want to try authentic Chitown deep dish and can’t make it there, this is the next best thing. Great job.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank jdobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2020 via mobile

Well we were a party of four and all got hot dogs. Unfortunately the hot dogs have been soaked for so long that they're no longer a red but a pink you know what a hot dog looks like when it's been sitting in water too long, and the poppy seed buns were unstemmed you know kind of like right out of the package. So the hot dogs were a big disappointment but the fries were hot and crispy couldn't tell you anything about any other foods in the store, although I did see a pizza that looked pretty good. So for my part of it Joey D's gets a 2

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank jeromes754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2020 via mobile

This is a sports bar/restaurant that offers bargain pizzas one night of the week. The pizzas are ok not fantastic. They offer limited outside seating but there is a lot of noise from the road traffic.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank paulhollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2020 via mobile

Have been a loyal Joey D customer for years.

Called today for delivery because it's storming outside. Not a hurricane mind you, but a tropical storm. In other words, nothing for Florida.

"Sorry, we're not doing delivery today."

Look, either you offer delivery or you don't. Combine this with the fact their food has been extremely hit and miss lately, and clearly the management of this location needs to be on the unemployment line. When, exactly, do you think people want delivery? When the weather is sunny and the sky clear? How about maybe when the weather is lousy and they don't want to go out. That's when.

Get your act together Joey D or get out of business. There are too many other dining options in this town to have to put up with mediocre food and lousy "when we feel like offering it" service.

Big, fat, red F for you today.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank 360Rosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2020

One of the worst pizzas I've ever had. No toppings, very little cheese, heavy sauce and chewy crust. That's two visits in a row and that does it for me.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank genejackson2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joey D's Chicago Style Eatery & Pizzeria also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Joey D's Chicago Style Eatery & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.