We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plump juicy crispy schnitzel”

Thomas German Bakery
Ranked #8 of 25 Bakeries in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We stopped in here on our way to the Scandinavian store. My friend and I shared a chicken schnitzel. The dish was delicious. The potato salad competes with my mothers own German recipe. The schnitzel was plump, juicy and crispy all at the same time, served with a lemon slice for seasoning. The breading was perfectly seasoned. The table next to us had a Bavarian pretzel with Bratwurst and Sauerkraut which looked delicious.

When we arrived it was fairly empty but as we were leaving it had filled up. The service was good albeit I could tell they were stressed and perhaps not expecting so many people. This place is going to be popular if they continue with their high quality food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank calvinally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Hello and thank you so much for your review, we are glad you liked everything and we still try to figure out when we need more staff....its not so easy to forecast how many guest will come.
Thank you
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2016

My wife and I had lunch at Thomas' 2 days after a good review in the local paper. Consequently, the restaurant (10 tables) was busier than the staff could handle comfortably. That having been said, however, the service was as good as could be expected under the circumstances and the food (Chicken Schnitzel, Chicken Soup, Ham sandwich) was excellent. The breads alone are worth the trip (we live at the opposite end of town). We will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Hello and thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your opinion. We are sorry, we did not have enough staff that day!
Thank you
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

we had a lovely, delicious, excellent, authentic German "Bremen breakfast" feast. Service was excellent and the owner very friendly. Looking forward to our next visit. :-)

Thank HolidayUrlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hello HolidayUrlaub,

Thank you for your nice review, we look forward to see you soon again!

Best Regards
Thomas Heyne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

There is no other place in town where you can find a better bread.
I also like there breakfast-plate with different rolls cheese and meats.
My wife likes their omlettes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Manager at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hello Jose R,

we are happy you like our bread so much!!! And everything else too.

Hope we see you soon

Thomas Heyne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Great visit to Thomas German Bakery! Very excited to discover this place. Had the Brie sandwich on a delicious roll and cappuccino! Will be back!

2  Thank tagaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Thomas German Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hello Tagaroo,

we want to thank you for your nice review, our Brie sandwich is one of our bestsellers.
We are happy you liked it too.

See you soon
Thomas Heyne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas German Bakery also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Thomas German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing