We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hidden gem in the Peruvian countryside”
Review of Eco Quechua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eco Quechua Lodge
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Eco Quechua is the perfect place to retreat to if you're in need of some rest and recovery, like we were, after doing the Inca Trail. It's conveniently close to Aguas Calientes (a short train and cab journey away) and has wonderful rooms, set in a treehouse style building, complete with hot water 24/7, a fantastic restaurant and even an Andean sauna and jacuzzi, should you need to work up a bit more of a sweat.

It's also conveniently close to the nice little town of Santa Teresa and the Cocalmayo hot springs. The springs are well worth a visit as they're both cheaper and nicer than the ones in Aguas Calientes, as well as less busy.

All in all, the perfect place to enjoy the Peruvian countryside, maybe do some hiking if you're feeling energetic and if not, just relax in the quiet, chilled atmosphere of the place.

Room Tip: Try and get the room at the top of the treehouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016

We would like to thank you very much for a perfect stay in Eco Quechua Lodge!! Everything was wonderful - we felt like to be in 10 star resort - services provided, overall atmosphere, super friendly and professional staff, delicious meals... We could not get better deal! The manager plus owner of the lodge are both exceptional gentlemen, who do their best - they even provided us the most expensive and luxury suits for the same price as for the standard rooms! Moreover, all guests get a great BONUS: free tropical furits (a very nice choice) and free beverages - natural drinking water plus herbal tees and coffee (in unlimited quantity) !!! We regret the fact, that we could not prolong our stay in this lodge...Unfortunately, we had very limited time for exploration of Santa Teresa region.

Muchas Gracias !!! :)
Salud,
Michaela Maxmilian plus mi amigos
Republica Checa, Europa

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 742MichaelaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here one night before we started the hike to Aqua Calientas. We stayed in a room on the upper floor that had no window facing the river. The bathroom was also open. The bed was comfortable and mosquito net was intact. There was a great fire pit seating area where you can sit, relax and even use the wifi. You do need to take care for mesquito's. Our dinner and breakfast both were very tasty. I was even able to orders some coffee beans that were brought to us the next morning to take home. The only downside is the noisy bugs. This is my issue as I need quiet to sleep and that's impossible with the sounds of the cicadas and river.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Twyla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos C, Director Comercial at Eco Quechua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Gracias, for your kind words. It is a pleasure for us to know you had such a great time in the heart of Santa Teresa’s territory.
We also believe the people make Eco Quechua Lodge so unique! We hope to welcome you again in the immensity of Machu Picchu.
Best regards
Juan Carlos Carlotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Stayed here for one night following a trek to Choquequirao. I can see the potential but have to say we found the place in a bit of disrepair with faucet handles falling off, mosquito nets with significant tears, a telescope which was falling apart and a stair railing so unstable they were more likely to cause an accident than prevent one. We had and upstairs "open" room (3 walls). Any light on after dark was a magnet for every bug in town. The staff was pleasant and seemed to be trying but it was a bit of a relative disappointment. Hot springs were great.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mzimmerman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condorspirit, Director General at Eco Quechua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you are happy with our staff and find the hot springs great.
It is disappointing to hear Eco Quechua Lodge was not up to par, as we pride ourselves in providing a quality service in a remote, unique location. We lament the fact that you could not enjoy the same experience as the vast majority of guests.
Best wishes,
Juan Carlos


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

From day one we wished we could stay more than 3 nights! Our guide for our stay, Kiki, me us at our hotel in Cusco the say before we left. He was punctual, super lovely and very informative, explained the plan for our 4 day, 3 night trip from start to finish. We picked the option to not be transferred all the way to the lodge, but to trek the last part which was WELL worth it. It was an early start the next day and our car journey was punctuated with stops for stunning pictures and lunch which was already covered. Instead of travelling through the valley which you would be train to Macchu picchu, we did the valley and drove over the Andes, seeing much more than you would on the train. We had Kiki all to oursleves which was AMAZING but we can imagine even with a big group he wouldve been great also. We began our trek to the lodge through cloud forrest, foraging local fruits, wildlife spotting and had plenty of pause to catch our breath and take pictures. Bring along coco leaves for the altitude and get yourself a lifestraw bottle or a big water bottle.
We were picked up just outside of Saint Teresa where the lodge is which is a super lovely little town. On arriving, we were greeted by wonderful staff and a Pisco sour on the bar.

The lodge is STUNNING! Your right by the Urumbamba river, surrounded by eucalyptus trees, hummingbirds and flowers. Theres a free fruit bar, Jacuzzi, steam room and spa (reserve in advance). The breakfasts and dinners are beautiful and healthy. Our room was so wonderful and comfortable. No need to bring a mosquito net for the room.

Our second day trekking was so much fun, doing the inca trail, more foraging and coffee roasting. We met locals so grow fruits, coco and coffee. It was challenging enough to still be really enjoyable, but I would recommend some walking sticks even if your super fit. We had our first glimpse of Macchu Picchu over diner at a cloud forest cafe and were transferred back to the lodge after a long trek down for dinner.

Our third day zip lining was amazing across the valleys and rivers, and our night was spent relaxing in the natural spring of Saint Teresa until nightfall.

On our last day, we were driven to the train station to Aguas Caliantes, first class. Take some snacks with you. From the town we were transferred by bus upto Macchu piicchu. All tickets etc are covered by your stay fee and organised efficiently by the staff. Our guide for Macchu picchu was wonderful also and our visit doesn't need any explanation, its as good as it looks!

We were transferred back and our train booked to get us back to Ollantaytambo station where we were picked up and dropped back off to our hotel in Cusco. From start to finish, everything about our stay was PERFECT. A must for your peru trip and worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos C, Director Comercial at Eco Quechua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

We are delighted to hear you had a once-in-a-lifetime experience in the immensity of Machu Picchu Territory with our friendly staff.
We also believe the people make Eco Quechua so unique! We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards
Juan Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
7.9 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,913 reviews
8.5 km away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
8 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#3 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,211 reviews
8.2 km away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
693 reviews
8.1 km away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#13 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Quechua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Quechua Lodge

Address: Sauce Pampa | 13 km from Machu Picchu, Santa Teresa, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $70 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Quechua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the high jungle, it offers a lovely and tranquil getaway. Like a jungle lodge in the Amazon, some windows are open to nature so that you feel like you're part of it all (beds have mosquito netting). There's just something about this place that makes my stress melt away as soon as I arrive. Let me stretch out in a hammock with a good book and one of their awesome pisco sours and I can spends days at a time here, forgetting the outside world even exists. The entire lodge uses natural materials, including wood, rock, and bamboo, and its newest rooms feature private bathrooms. Ever dreamed of living in a grown-up's treehouse? This is that dream come true. The owners and staff couldn't be friendlier and are genuinely interested in ensuring that you have everything you need and are having the best time possible. Make your reservation includes dinner as these are bound to be some of the tastiest that you will have in Peru-lunch can also be added and breakfast is always included. Massages can be booked with advance notice and an outdoor Jacuzzi is currently in the works. The nearby Colcamayo hot springs are actually much nicer as well as hotter than those in Aguas Calientes, the town right below Machu Picchu, despite it being named after the springs. You are much better off getting your fill of the soothing waters here. Other outings that can be arranged through the lodge are zip-lining, a tour of a coffee plantation, and a hike to Llactapata, an Inca site from which you may catch a glimpse of Machu Picchu. If you're a coffee lover, the coffee plantation tour is highly recommended, mostly so that you can buy one of the world's best coffees, organic and grown here in the high jungle. To get here does require a bit of planning but don't let that keep you away. If it was any easier, there would be hordes and then you wouldn't want to go! Basically, you can either take the train or a bus. To take the train, you will need to get a ticket first to Aguas Calientes and from there to Hidroelectrica. At this point, you cannot buy tickets for the second leg until you get to Aguas Calientes so, if you are coming direct from Cusco or the Sacred Valley (recommended) be prepared to get off and have a cup of coffee until your next train leaves. From Ollantaytambo, the trip to Aguas Calientes takes about 1.5 hours and from Aguas to Hidroelectrica, about 30 minutes. The downside to taking the train is that it can be expensive and there are only a few trains per day between Aguas Calientes and Hidroelectrica. For this reason, you can't just go from the lodge to Machu Picchu and back in one day. On the other hand, if you're up for a hike, it's about a two-hour walk from Hidroelectrica to Aguas Calientes and it's a flat, easy trip. Taking the bus from Cusco is infinitely cheaper but will require a bit more investment in time. You will take the bus to Quillabamba but get off at Santa Maria. From there, you can get a shared car to Hidroelectrica and get off at the EcoQuechua Lodge. The entire trip will take between six and seven hours. Spend a couple of nights at the lodge, walk to Aguas Calientes, spend a night there, and then visit Machu Picchu first thing the next morning. You can then do the trip in reverse or take the train back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Eco Quechua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing