We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Ranked #49 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice new hotel. The property is well-maintained and clean. The staff is the best I have encountered at this type of hotel. They go the extra mile to keep the guests happy. When I arrived for my first stay they only had a king room available for my family of four, but they went to great lengths to make us comfortable in the room they had available. They offered a rollaway extra pillows, towels and blankets. Most importantly they had it in the room in thirty minutes. The second time I came back to stay at this hotel they upgraded me to a suite. Hi Exp also offers a convenient free breakfast and free shuttle service to the park. Busch Gardens is exhausting so convenience is paramount. Just down the street is a greek restaurant with great takeout. It is the perfect ending to a very tiring day.

Room Tip: If you book early you may get the suite which is great for a big family.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 301 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We picked this hotel based on the location near Busch Gardens and that they had a shuttle to it. The shuttle driver was superb and the front desk was always accommodating with any request we had. Breakfast was what you come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express but they were very organized for the influx of guests coming down at similar times. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms very clean.
My biggest complaint was the sofa that was in our room, it was sagging in the middle and incredibly uncomfortable with the front edge digging into the back of our legs. The parking lot is small with most of the parking behind the building, make sure to park by the lobby when you check in so you don't have to drag your bags across the parking lot. The outdoor pool area was great for us to hang our together and nicely maintained.
The entrance to the hotel is a bit challenging to find, we drove past it and had to circle back. It is actually easier to spot Popeye's Chicken which is right by it, it is how we had to give directions to our friends who were arriving after us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel so it is closer to where you will be parking and you...
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank bluefpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear bluefpink,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our location and the service you received. Please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations with the sofa and parking lot. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I also work for a Holiday Inn Express but in Southern Florida and had a guest recently stay with me that had stayed a few nights before with The HIE in Tampa. They unfortunately left behind a VERY expensive item that they were hoping could be returned to them in time to catch a plane back home out of the country. I contacted the hotel which all of the staff I spoke with was very accommodating and helpful. The general manager in particular Drew was exceptionally awesome. He went out of his way to go to FedEx and make sure it got sent out the day I called their hotel to overnight it to my guest. Just want to thank Drew and his staff again for all their help in assisting me with taking care of one of our mutual guest!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The proximity of this hotel to the park is very close (only a 1/2 mile), it made traveling there so convenient. The hotel's driver, Rolando, was excellent. Normally they dont pick you up between 1-4pm from the park, but the day we went it was raining very hard and he still came and got us within 5 minutes of calling (which was around 3pm). The hotel was clean, and seemed fairly new and the staff was nice and professional. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan on visiting Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

........but not much else.

We had reserved a 2 night stay for our visit to Busch Gardens, and at the last minute, added a 3'rd night on the front of our stay as we ended up arriving earlier than we originally planned.

Upon checking in, we mentioned our 2 reservations, and were told that we would have to check out after the first night (as in pack our bags, leave by 11:00 am, and then return at 4:00 pm to go through the process again); a pain, with a family of 4. After giving up trying to stay in the same room without having to leave, we went to our room.

The hotel is quite standard; decent appearance, parking, etc. The swimming pool in the parking lot is a bit of a turn off though. The room was clean and everything worked.

However, we did cut our stay after one night after experiencing a very loud air conditioner, and quite possible the worst beds we have ever experienced!

Next Tampa visit will not include this property!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear ToSquareBob1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations and if we were not able to honor your request for the same room during your stay. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.3 km away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
12.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
2.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
7.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-8729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $124 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing